Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc.
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-11-2021, 04:53 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
71_340's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 25
Dish TV Question

We have DirecTV right now but are scheduled to switch to Dish Network on 22 September when a tech come out and installs everything.

I just bought a used Winegard Playmaker and a Wally receiver. Today I mounted the Playmaker on the roof, ran the coax cable inside and plugged everything in. It took about 10 minutes for the Wally to run its diagnostics and for the satellite dish to lock on to the satellites.

I think my installation was a success because I can get a "Hopper 3" Infomercial channel, a guide for on-demand shows and it shows that the Wally acquired satellites 110 and 129 (if I remember correctly).

My question is, once the technician comes out and my subscription is active, all I have to do call Dish and add the Wally to my account and it works? Or do I need to get a new card for the Wally?

Thanks
__________________
One of the "Quiet Professionals"
2020 Thor ACE 30.3
71_340 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-11-2021, 05:07 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
wingnut60's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Wherever we are
Posts: 4,139
Don't know all the details about getting signed up with Dish, but did you not get any reception for sat 119?
__________________
'16 40QBH Phaeton
'15 38RSSA Mobile Suites--traded
'05 36TK3 Mobile Suites--retired but not forgotten
wingnut60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2021, 05:34 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
brobox's Avatar
 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: SW FL
Posts: 26,155
You have it working, you don't need the tech. Call DISH and activate the Wally and your good to go. They will ask for the receiver number which is on the bar code, or it will be on screen. Download the MyDISH app and you can activate and deactivate the Wally when you get home without having to call DISH.
__________________
Chuck in SW FL
Digital 2021 Cornerstone "B"
A "Digital" 2019 Cornerstone "B" Traded
A "Classic" 2014 Anthem 42 RBQ---Sold
brobox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2021, 05:59 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
71_340's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by wingnut60 View Post
Don't know all the details about getting signed up with Dish, but did you not get any reception for sat 119?
It only shows two satellites acquired. From what I understand the Playmaker is capable of acquiring for channels (61.5, 110, 119 and 129) if used with a Wally.

I guess it depends where you are located determines which satellites are available. Anyway, the informercial is crystal clear.
__________________
One of the "Quiet Professionals"
2020 Thor ACE 30.3
71_340 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2021, 06:01 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
71_340's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by brobox View Post
You have it working, you don't need the tech. Call DISH and activate the Wally and your good to go. They will ask for the receiver number which is on the bar code, or it will be on screen. Download the MyDISH app and you can activate and deactivate the Wally when you get home without having to call DISH.
Thank you. That was what I was hoping for, unfortunately I have to wait to activate until the 22nd when we switch.
__________________
One of the "Quiet Professionals"
2020 Thor ACE 30.3
71_340 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2021, 06:06 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 28,606
Quote:
Originally Posted by brobox View Post
You have it working, you don't need the tech. Call DISH and activate the Wally and your good to go. They will ask for the receiver number which is on the bar code, or it will be on screen. Download the MyDISH app and you can activate and deactivate the Wally when you get home without having to call DISH.
Last I knew, only the Dish Outdoors plan allowed receiver activation from the app.
twinboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2021, 06:07 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 28,606
My system needs to locks onto 3 satellites to get all channels.
twinboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2021, 06:42 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,148
Hit home 3 times, go to Dish and test. They should all be unlocked. How do I know this? Satellite Guys web. I am a new users, August 1st. I will try and help, do not have a Wally, which is my name.
__________________
Wally & Elta Mae
2007 Allure 470 Sunset Bay #31535
wfalch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2021, 08:15 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Posts: 54
We switched to dish a few years ago. It installed put a box in the living room and the bed room. He then had me remove the dish box that I put in the MH so he could get the see # and he got the number off the card. The box in the MH is $7 a month.
__________________
2004 Winnebago Adventurer - W22
2013 Hyundai Elantra coupe - toad
2010 Ford Ranger - toad
K Charles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2021, 10:28 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
71_340's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 25
Thank you for all the answers. I will update in a couple of weeks once my Dish service is activated and the Wally is added to my account.

Right now they only charge $5.00 for the Wally if you have home service, at that price I will not even bother to disconnect the service.
__________________
One of the "Quiet Professionals"
2020 Thor ACE 30.3
71_340 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2021, 08:42 PM   #11
Junior Member
 
71_340's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 25
I had my Dish home installation moved up to today. Once everything was working at home and everything showed up in my account I called Dish and had them add the Wally. All they needed was the serial number and the number of the smart card and was told everything should work now.

Waited a little and went to the RV and turned on the Wally and TV, took about 10 minutes before I had all my subscribed channels available, the Wally time updated and I had the complete channel guide. I also installed a HDMI switcher so I can watch TV either in the bedroom or in the front.

We are happy campers now.
__________________
One of the "Quiet Professionals"
2020 Thor ACE 30.3
71_340 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dish



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD Dish Network DVR not working with Kingdome in-motion satellite dish ? Harry B Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 14 05-02-2014 08:38 AM
Converting Motosat HD dish from Dish Network to Direct TV glennb100 Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 2 03-22-2011 12:51 PM
Switching between Roof Top Dish and Tripod Dish? Zbugsii Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 5 02-15-2009 02:10 PM
New Dish for Dish Network? HELP! SewBzzzy Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 6 06-10-2008 03:10 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.