RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc.
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-16-2020, 05:12 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 16
Do most RVs have port for hardwire internet?

I am a prospective RV owner and my plan is to live in it and remain stationary. I hope to find a private lot someone is renting. I would like to have an ISP come run a line out so I can have hardwired internet.


My question is do most RVs come with an external outlet to plug the coaxial cable into like the ISP plugs into at your house?


I am eyeing a 2015 sandpiper. I asked the owner and he is going to check but he isn't aware that there is a port for it.
MntnRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-16-2020, 05:27 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
A32Deuce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2,565
Along time ago they had a phone plug. I haven't seen one on any unit I looked at at RV Shows.
A32Deuce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2020, 05:28 PM   #3
YC1
Senior Member
 
YC1's Avatar


 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 8,428
Build a box outside to contain the ISP box and coax as well as your router. Just a thought.
__________________
Myron & Deborah
08 HR Endeavor 40 SKQ
2016 Ford F150 Limited V6 with Ready Brake
Aluminator tow bar, Demco base plate
YC1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2020, 06:12 PM   #4
Community Moderator
 
Spdracr39's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Central, Arkansas
Posts: 7,834
Your cable tv coax will work fine for that type of service. Almost all RV's are wired for cable. You might have a problem with the antenna booster when it is turned on however. A 2015 probably doesn't have prewired phone lines so DSL would be an issue. I know of no ISP's that provide residential service over an ethernet port unless maybe your living in a condo or apartment building.
__________________
2004 Beaver Monterey Laguna IV
Cummins ISC 350HP Allison 3000 6 speed
2020 Chevy Equinox Premier 2.0t 9 speed AWD
https://enjoying-life.net
Spdracr39 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2020, 07:21 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
docj's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 7,089
Quote:
Originally Posted by YC1 View Post
Build a box outside to contain the ISP box and coax as well as your router. Just a thought.
If you do that you can buy flat Ethernet ribbon cable that you can easily pass through a window.
__________________
Joel (AKA docj)--
RV Technology Specialist
Campground Reviews administrator
2000 40' Beaver Patriot Thunder Princeton CAT C-12
docj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2020, 11:25 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by spdracr39 View Post
Your cable tv coax will work fine for that type of service. Almost all RV's are wired for cable. You might have a problem with the antenna booster when it is turned on however. A 2015 probably doesn't have prewired phone lines so DSL would be an issue. I know of no ISP's that provide residential service over an ethernet port unless maybe your living in a condo or apartment building.

The box outside idea sounds as good as anything. What do you mean no ISP's that provide "residential" service? I'm not understanding you. I just want to pay to have a line run out on a piece of property if that is possible.

EDIT: But if most RVs come with a cable tv coax and I connect the coax to I can have the modem inside out of the heat and humidity.
MntnRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2020, 03:39 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
danhannah's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Washington State
Posts: 510
A lot of rigs have one coax in for cable TV and a separate coax for "satellite in" direct to a cabinet for the satellite equipment.

The satellite coax in would be my choice, as it is not split to go to various TVs and might give a faster internet.
__________________
_______________________
2014 Itasca 27n
danhannah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2020, 05:07 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
BillJinOR's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2,308
Do most RVs have port for hardwire internet?

If your not moving it , itís just a house. Drill a hole and run the cable inside just like you would if you had a ďrealĒ house ...... Outside rv connections are designed for those who are using it as a rv and disconnecting and reconnecting frequently. The cable tv coax that all / most rvís have might work but it is complicated by the tv antenna /splitter etc that May be involved. Just drill a hole and seal it up.
__________________
2003 Beaver Marquis
2002 Ford Escape toad '20 Terrain
2016 CargoMate Trailer
BillJinOR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2020, 09:29 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
GypsyR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Upstate SC
Posts: 953
I have cable TV and internet in my actual house share the same coax with zero issues. So if it were me I would just use the existing cable connector. No need to drill any holes. Then go in and locate where you want to put your splitter for the cable modem. On mine that would be right where the cable goes to the antenna booster/splitter.
Then you have to decide if you wanted to run any RJ45 cable from there or just go with some wifi. What I would do. Hard wire is always faster but I don't think it would be worth the pain unless you're a hardcore online gamer or something.
GypsyR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2020, 02:58 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Buxton, North Dakota
Posts: 3,840
It sounds like you are planning on having a lot in a rural location. Depending on where you are that would be DSL or Fiber rather than coax cable. You might have to use a fixed wireless or cellular provider. The provide usually provides a WiFi router. This could be mounted with the providers termination and be wireless to RV.
__________________
2003 Winnebago Adventurer 38G F53/ V10 605 watts of Solar
1999 Winnebago Brave 35C F53V10 Handicap Equipped
1999 Jeep Cherokee, 1991 Jeep Wrangler Renegade and 2018 Chevrolet Equinox Diesel
John Hilley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2020, 09:15 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Metamora, MI
Posts: 4,474
The conversation will be guided by what type of cable the ISP uses.

DSL: Phone line
Cable TV / Internet: Coax cable
Satellite: Sat dish
Wifi: Wifi access point

It is relatively easy to string a Category 6 (ethernet) cable down the length of the basement and pop up through the floor to a wall jack using surface mounted cable track. If you are going to run one wire, run several as the wire cost is trivial compared to the labor. Run them to the dash area, to the TV(s), to the working desk, to the master bedroom.

The Cable modem / DSL modem / router / network switch can be located in the electric bay running off of 12 volts (with the appropriate voltage adapter and plug). That can be WiFi and or Cat 6 from there. I have all of these electronics mounted on the wall of the bedroom closet to keep all the cupboards clear for other stuff and to allow the equipment ventilation and cooling.

I say wire to the 12 volt system so the network can run when you are on the road as well. Not meaning the cable connection to the ISP certainly. When on the road, you can network in a cellular Internet source (your smartphone in hotspot mode as one example) for Mobile Internet for the whole network. The 12 volt system also acts as a huge UPS for power outages.
__________________
2002 Newmar Mountain Aire Limited 4370 w/ Spartan K2 and Cummins 500hp
ASE Master Certified (a long.....time ago...)
Dav L is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
internet, rvs



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why do most RVs never have a modern looking interior? cktyu iRV2.com General Discussion 159 09-03-2018 07:15 AM
How can I most easily distinguish "weekender" vs. snowbird/fulltimer RVs? PaulAllen 5th Wheel Discussion 2 10-02-2013 05:51 PM
Inverter Hardwire Install Icfan2221 Toy Haulers Discussion 3 09-12-2012 12:15 AM
Change "portable" Progressive 50 amp EMS to "hardwire"? FrontRangeRVer RV Systems & Appliances 8 06-12-2008 05:39 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.