RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc.
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-17-2020, 08:10 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Boilervol's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 236
Fooling Dish on your location

I just converted our traveler to Dish from DTV with a hopper 3. My question is locals. I used DNS out of New York with DTV. Changing locals using the Dish App is easy unless you want to select a different market that has locals in HD. Iíve read the spot beam radius is 300 miles. Today Iím parked in Pigeon Forge,TN and getting Knoxville locals in SD. The Tri-Cities have locals in HD on the WA.
Is there a way to specify say Johnson City, TN vs getting Knoxville locals. My location is well within the spot beam for Johnson City.

I also read Dish has DNS out of LA but the three hour difference is not optimal.

Thanks
__________________
Bill & Mary
2019 Newmar DS 4369
2019 Jeep Cherokee Overland
Boilervol is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-17-2020, 10:07 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
B52Rnav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 264
My experience is that Dish determines your locals based on your GPS location (using MyDish app). At one point you could fudge a little my entering a zip code. You could try using a 'fake GPS' app to tweak your locals. Based on your real location lookup what spot beams are available in your real location, then tweak with fake GPS.
B52Rnav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2020, 10:11 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
traveldawg's Avatar


 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Grand Design Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Titusville, FL
Posts: 572
Can't you just call Dish and ask the to provide your locals from Johnson City and give them that zip code if you call them rather than use the app? It's not like they know your zip code if you call them.
__________________
2018 F350, 2019 Grand Design 310GKR
KE4DMG
traveldawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2020, 10:16 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
lllkrob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2,714
Forget the DISH app. Set up an online MyDISH account if you already don't have one. The go to support and contact DISH technical chat and give them a address in the locals area you want and ask them to change your SERVICE address and local stations. Chat has no way to know where you really are. I do this when I don't like the locals in a location but close by has the locals I want.
__________________
2013 Tiffin Phaeton 40QBH
2016 Chevrolet Equinox LTZ AWD V6
lllkrob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2020, 10:39 AM   #5
Member
 
taylorbob1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Fallbrook, CA
Posts: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by lllkrob View Post
Forget the DISH app. Set up an online MyDISH account if you already don't have one. The go to support and contact DISH technical chat and give them a address in the locals area you want and ask them to change your SERVICE address and local stations. Chat has no way to know where you really are. I do this when I don't like the locals in a location but close by has the locals I want.
good info
i did not know that.
Thank you.
__________________
'17 Thor Vegas - 24.1
taylorbob1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2020, 11:07 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
LynnD's Avatar


 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Johnstown PA
Posts: 618
We usually set it up for our home location and it stays with that for the remainder of the season.
__________________
Lynn & Andy Dudish
2005 Winnebago Adventurer
Towing 2014 Jeep Wrangler
On the Road with 11 Rescued Cats
LynnD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2020, 11:14 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Bigd9's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: The Bluegrass State
Posts: 6,403
It can get more complicated as Dish satellites can broadcast local station footprints in varying shapes and sizes. Some may be 300 mile circle, but others could be hotdog shaped or football shaped areas.

Also when in the Eastern side of this beautiful country, Dish will use the Eastern Arc to broadcast HD content in some markets. My portable Winegard X2 is capable of getting both the western and eastern arcs.

As said, I use the Dish Chat function to get them to change my locals as we travel.
__________________
Good Luck, Be Safe and Above All, Don't Forget To Have Fun
Pete
Central Kentucky
2006 Fleetwood Discovery 35H, 2014 Honda CR-V, M&G Engineering Braking System
Bigd9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2020, 12:06 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 198
Same here contact Dish chat and give them an address.

You cannot give "any" address within 300 miles and hope to get locals however; I have gotten locals within 100 miles of a major city.


Example: NE MS locals are not very good (5 stations) so I use a campground address in Memphis TN 71 air miles away.
__________________
Garry
garry1p is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2020, 01:44 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3,420
CONUS

CONUS locals are good anywhere:

__________________
2001 Mountain Aire DP 4095 & 2008 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon
DISH TV for RVs
America - Where We Make Stupid a Science!
TechWriter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2020, 03:46 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Boilervol's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 236
Thanks for all the great info everyone. It appears the only national WA conus feed in HD is Sacramento. Iíve looked at using the EA feeds but the Traveler is limited to one bird at a time. If we want HD all the time ďeasilyĒ it looks like the west coast is the only option. We can use prime time recording to solve the time issue and DNS to get HD networks all the time.

I guess I could carry a tripod dish for the eastern feeds but that kind of defeats the purpose of the traveler.
__________________
Bill & Mary
2019 Newmar DS 4369
2019 Jeep Cherokee Overland
Boilervol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2020, 03:54 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
MRUSA14's Avatar
 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 6,914
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boilervol View Post
Thanks for all the great info everyone. It appears the only national WA conus feed in HD is Sacramento. Iíve looked at using the EA feeds but the Traveler is limited to one bird at a time. If we want HD all the time ďeasilyĒ it looks like the west coast is the only option. We can use prime time recording to solve the time issue and DNS to get HD networks all the time.

I guess I could carry a tripod dish for the eastern feeds but that kind of defeats the purpose of the traveler.
Which is one reason why I am sticking with DirecTV. All HD everywhere.
__________________
Marc and Jill, Wellington FL
2013 Entegra Anthem 44SL
2018 Lincoln MKX
MRUSA14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2020, 06:03 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3,420
Quote:
Originally Posted by MRUSA14 View Post
Which is one reason why I am sticking with DirecTV. All HD everywhere.
I don't think you understand. With DISH in an RV, as you travel from one place to another, you can contact DISH to have them change your local TV stations to where you're currently camped. This is an on-demand service. You can change DISH locals as much as you want.

This thread is talking about ways to stick with a single local TV station instead of changing. Those CONUS ("Continental US") locals I posted above are available everywhere in the US. For example, you could use a fake address to get Sacramento, CA HD locals everywhere you travel. Convenient, but all your programming would be Pacific Daylight Time.

So getting HD everywhere with DISH isn't a problem.

Finally, as I recall, DirecTV only lets you change your local TV stations a few times at most. So much of the time with DirecTV you're probably not going to get ANY local TV stations, much less HD ones.
__________________
2001 Mountain Aire DP 4095 & 2008 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon
DISH TV for RVs
America - Where We Make Stupid a Science!
TechWriter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2020, 07:33 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,151
Quote:
Originally Posted by lllkrob View Post
Forget the DISH app. Set up an online MyDISH account if you already don't have one. The go to support and contact DISH technical chat and give them a address in the locals area you want and ask them to change your SERVICE address and local stations. Chat has no way to know where you really are. I do this when I don't like the locals in a location but close by has the locals I want.
Thatís what I do as well. Never had any issues.
__________________
2014 Southwind 32VS
2013 Nissan Xterra PRO-4X
PbdBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2020, 08:11 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Boilervol's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 236
I saw on another post that Billings MT on 129 is conus and HD. This maybe an error as tech writer shows Billings as 119 SD
__________________
Bill & Mary
2019 Newmar DS 4369
2019 Jeep Cherokee Overland
Boilervol is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cat, dish



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ran across a deal on a Moryde pinbox, is it worth fooling with? 37driver 5th Wheel Discussion 13 09-12-2019 07:56 AM
Am I fooling myself? Wannabe worried about Class B age restriction AntiGrndhog Vintage RV's 5 05-08-2018 06:21 AM
Can you use your home Dish Wally in your RV Skip3370 Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 9 08-03-2017 06:33 AM
Location, Location, Location! Endeavor2BnC Excel Owner's Forum 34 03-11-2009 07:58 PM
Location, Location, Location - Low Spot Drain - Battery mickey53usa Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 2 11-06-2006 10:06 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.