Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc.
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-17-2021, 05:52 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Doug427's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 987
Has anyone installed their own roof satellite dish?

We're at the campground today and my wife is looking at at the satellite dishes around us, and wishing we had one. I was holding out waiting for Starlink so we can just stream, but it appears more and more like she doesn't want to wait. We're Dish customers at home, so for $7 a month extra that's what we'd get here in the coach.

I'm very do it yourself at home, however the RV is new to me. My 2005 coach has the old 2005 era dish on the roof, which I am told is useless. We'd be going with either a Winegard SK-1000 Trav'ler or a RF Mogul. My question is about the actual physical installation. My coach has a fiberglass roof. Am I correct in asuming that the fiberglass is an overlay over a wood roof, and the dish is simply screwed through the fiberglass and into the wood below to secure it, with Dicor sealing the screws, brackets etc? The cables concern me. My old dish, which is still in place but unused, has a power switch in the AV cabinet, and a coax cable in the cabinet as well. That's it. Do the Winegard and/or RFMogul dishes use these same cables or do I have to run any new cables? I have no idea how the cables would be run if that's needed. Any basic info on how the install is physically done would be appreciated. If needed I'd pay someone to do it, but I would of course prefer to save that money if possibe. I believe it would be fairly easy if I can use the cables that are already run. Thanks.
__________________
2005 Newmar Mountain Aire 4304 - 4 slides
2011 Jeep Liberty 4X4 towed
Doug427 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-17-2021, 05:57 PM   #2
Moderator Emeritus
 
Spk64's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 19,419
I did my own install replacing the dome with a Travler. It will require new cables, I just ran same as the old wires. Was able to access above ceiling through a speaker opening.
You will also have some roof trusses of some sort supporting the roof. Getting a few screws in this adds plenty of strength.
My installation process.
https://www.irv2.com/forums/f103/win...ll-286525.html
__________________
Steve
2002 Newmar Mountain Aire 4095
Spk64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2021, 06:08 PM   #3
Community Administrator
 
Lt Dan's Avatar


 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: DFW, Texas
Posts: 14,454
Same as Steve, I installed my Winegard Trav'ler but didn't have to run wires as I had the coach pre-wired for it. You will have to pull a new control cable but you may be able to reuse the coax. If you have a cabinet up front or somewhere you can run a direct wire from the roof that's generally the best bet. If you have to run wires over the roof, some generous globs of Dicor over the cable will lock it in place.
__________________
2017 Phaeton 40IH XSH Maroon Coral - Power Glide Chassis with IFS
Previously '15 Tiffin Allegro RED 38QRA and '06 Itasca Sunrise 35A
'16 Jeep JKU Wrangler Sahara or '08 Honda Goldwing
Lt Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2021, 06:16 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 368
Use the baseplate from your existing one for the new one, traveler will fit right on it. That's what I did. I used a 1inch hole saw bit to run the cable and power cord back filled it with dicor and the cable plate that comes with traveler covers the hole. Main bolts for traveler, dicor those. Took me about and hour to install. Works great.
bizzerbiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2021, 06:27 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 275
Just installed the Travel'r on my Tiffin 32SA, it's located in the front. The 32SA has all its A/V stuff in the closet in the bedroom. We reused the coax from the previous dish. The control cable we ran to one of the front storage cabinets over the passenger seat by using a fish tape. You'll need 120 volts AC wherever you have the control box so keep that in mind.
__________________
2016 Tiffin 32SA
Newps is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2021, 06:29 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Between Knoxville and Morristown, TN. A little place called Rutledge.
Posts: 387
Blog Entries: 1
We use a Winegard dish and found you can get local channels if you call the Dish 800 phone number and give them a temporary zip code to use for where you are staying. When you return home you can repeat the request and return the "local" stations with your home zip code.



We stayed at a job site for six months and got the local stations during our stay.
SteveNSue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2021, 07:28 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Billett Bee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Posts: 861
We have ful timed for 5 yrs and my instal has worked great for us. I have 2 king playmaker domes. I have the tpo rubber roof and absolutely did not want to drill them into the roof because the last thing i wanted to worry about was more points for a possible future leak. I bought the holder that mounts to your roof that holds down the dome and locks it in so nobody can steel it. Instead of screwing the dome holder to the roof, I took metal plumbers tape and went from under the a/c unit at mounting bolts to fantastic vent cover bolts. This metal tape with holes gave me something to bolt my dome mount to and no drilling of any new holes was done.
I then ran the 2 cables across roof and taped neatly with a small piece every 4' or so. I then ran both cables into rubber tube slide seal down the side of rv in to storage door where master cable tv connections are.
I know it sounds backwoods engineered but I assure you it looks pretty descent.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_20210305-183446.jpg
Views:	39
Size:	185.6 KB
ID:	328622   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_20210305-183516.jpg
Views:	29
Size:	183.7 KB
ID:	328624  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_20210305-183542.jpg
Views:	28
Size:	204.5 KB
ID:	328629   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_20210305-183550.jpg
Views:	36
Size:	158.1 KB
ID:	328630  

__________________
20 ram 3500 ho hd drw Laramie Cummins/aisin w/410 & auto level air suspension with max tow . BILLET silver sport ext. w/ black int. with 12" monitor with all safety features, camera , & luxuries. Full timers & building a Luxe 48fb w/ side patio.
Billett Bee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2021, 10:14 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
taylorbob1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Fallbrook, CA
Posts: 225
Iíll only add to this conversation that I DIY installed a Hybrid Travíler for DISHnet.
I used the SKA-008 roof support mounting plate.

With my non-Newmar, lower-end RV with TPO roof, the mounting plate gives the entire unit a more secure & solid feel.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	19CFF51B-0A3B-49B8-B04E-5ECDAEA9E25D.jpg
Views:	22
Size:	357.6 KB
ID:	328646   Click image for larger version

Name:	BE61AA51-781C-4A52-BBEC-6EAB56311E7E.jpg
Views:	23
Size:	310.3 KB
ID:	328647  

__________________
'17 Thor Vegas - 24.1
taylorbob1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2022, 02:07 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Posts: 8
I will have to replace a Direct TV Winegard antenna on the roof of RV and was wondering if there are any happy owners of the Winegard Playmaker dish setup with a Wally receiver?
Derr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2022, 09:09 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
bhammond1980's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 374
I have added the travler to both motorhomes we've had. The first had a fiberglass roof so I opted to buy the steel mounting plate offered as an option. I ran all new coax cables and rerouted the entry over the entertainment equipment cabinet. I also replaced the tv's, surround system, blu ray and of course the dish receiver. It isn't complicated but does take time to do a neat job. Attached are a few shots
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20190113_172810757.jpg
Views:	9
Size:	219.5 KB
ID:	367391   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20190113_172814559.jpg
Views:	8
Size:	188.5 KB
ID:	367392  

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20190113_172754740.jpg
Views:	8
Size:	216.1 KB
ID:	367393   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20190127_142717633 (1).jpg
Views:	8
Size:	257.2 KB
ID:	367394  

__________________
bhammond1980
2007 Haulmark 3301ds
2019 Ram 1500
bhammond1980 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2022, 08:34 AM   #11
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Posts: 8
Changing a direct tv dish to a dish network-DIY

Well I took the plunge and bought the Winegard PL8035R Dish Playmaker, and the Wally receiver.
Since I am old and arthritic it took me a couple of hours to take the direct tv off the roof. It was pretty light and I have the help of a forklift (I don't do ladders well).
As for the cables, I did remove a ceiling speaker, and that gave me access to space between ceiling and roof.
I have a metal roof and I just used residential roof screws with plenty of Dicor to secure the Winegard dome. Dome is pretty thin, and the 2 cables went through a 1 1/4 hole just ahead of the dome. A cable plate and Dicor sealed that.
I went around the roof and sealed all the holes from the direct tv dome.
It rained hard the next day and there were no leaks.
So if an old guy that is hampered by Arthritis can do it, most anybody can.
Derr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2022, 03:03 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Rob_M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,589
Has anyone installed their own roof satellite dish?

I have a working Dish Winegard Travler 1000 setup on my Class A that needs a new home.
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_4873.JPG
Views:	5
Size:	180.9 KB
ID:	367450
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_4874.JPG
Views:	5
Size:	109.3 KB
ID:	367451
__________________
Rob & Laura
2002 American Tradition 40', 431hp Banks PowerPack
Mid-South TX
Rob_M is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2022, 06:28 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Bigd9's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: The Bluegrass State
Posts: 8,046
We like to camp where there are plenty of trees, so a roof mounted dish is not good for us. I use a Winegard Pathway X2 plus over 100 feet of cable and we can usually find a hole to be able to see those satellites that are 55,000 miles up there.
__________________
Good Luck, Be Safe and Above All, Don't Forget To Have Fun
Pete
Central Kentucky
2006 Fleetwood Discovery 35H, 2014 Honda CR-V, M&G Engineering Braking System
Bigd9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dish, install, led, roof, satellite



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Has anyone built their own water softener??? dpinvidic MH-General Discussions & Problems 5 02-01-2015 04:19 PM
Bounder: Has anyone changed their own shocks in your Bounder? drakethib Fleetwood Owner's Forum 5 08-23-2014 08:31 PM
Anyone own their own rv spot Pellerotto iRV2.com General Discussion 14 05-18-2013 08:34 AM
Anyone Install a Motosat Sat Dish On Their Own? TechWriter Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 7 10-08-2010 03:48 PM
Has anyone ever made their own basement storage slides? GTHill MH-General Discussions & Problems 16 11-11-2009 09:02 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.