Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc.
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 11-05-2010, 04:52 PM   #1

Fleetwood Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
How I Recovered my Lost Droid Phone

Let me set the stage: I’m a cop in Los Angeles. My partner & I stop at a downtown Denny’s for breakfast. My Droid phone somehow slides off of my belt as I’m exiting the car to go inside Denny’s, and falls to the pavement. The downtown traffic is loud, so I don’t hear it fall. After breakfast I drive back to the station to do some paperwork, when I realize that my phone is missing.

I remembered that I installed an app on my phone called "Where’s My Droid" that helps locate lost or stolen phones. With my partner’s phone, I sent a text to my Droid, with the words "GPS my Droid". I receive back an automated text message from my phone with the GPS coordinates of my phone’s location. I Google the coordinates and locate my phone on a residential street about 6 miles from where I last saw it. My partner & I jump in our patrol car and head to the street that was sent back by my phone. I have an officer working the station desk, text "GPS my Droid" to my phone several more times while we were en route, in case the phone and the person now in possession of it go mobile.