RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc.
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-26-2018, 09:59 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
bigdgr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Polk City, FL
Posts: 17
how to replace a hopper 2 and 1 joey with a hopper 3 and 1 joey

I installed a hopper 2 and 1 joey in my motorhome with a dish traveler. I ran 2 lines from the antenna to the solo node and it worked great. Now I want to use my new hopper 3 and joey setup with the DPH switch. Do I need to run an extra line from the antenna to the switch ? Also do I need to change the solo node ?
bigdgr is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 02-26-2018, 12:21 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3,419
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigdgr View Post
I installed a hopper 2 and 1 joey in my motorhome with a dish traveler. I ran 2 lines from the antenna to the solo node and it worked great. Now I want to use my new hopper 3 and joey setup with the DPH switch. Do I need to run an extra line from the antenna to the switch ? Also do I need to change the solo node ?
You'll have to run all three coax cables from the Travler into your RV.

You'll need a DPH42 switch and a Hybrid Solo Hub. The Hub replaces the Solo Node.

Then you connect everything like this.
__________________
2001 Mountain Aire DP 4095 & 2008 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon
DISH TV for RVs
America - Where We Make Stupid a Science!
TechWriter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2018, 08:49 AM   #3
Junior Member
 
bigdgr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Polk City, FL
Posts: 17
ordered hub

Thanks techwriter. I have the DPH42 switch and just ordered the hybrid solo hub. What is your opinion on the OTA 212553/212131 adapter? The reviews say it builds up a LOT of heat and fails quickly! What's your take on it ? Thanks in advance for your help.
bigdgr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2018, 10:27 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Winnebago Owners Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 987
Sounds like you have the Winegard Traveler. We have that system and the only thing I will add to techwriters post is that I have to keep the hopper 3 and the DPH42 switch both unpowered while the sat dish is seeking the three sats. Once all three are showing locked on the winegard display I plug both the hopper and the DPH42 in and a few minutes later have TV.

With the hopper 2 I did not have to do this. I then hook up the joey in the bedroom after the hopper is done booting up. I have used the OTA adaptor several times now without incident. I do keep the cabinet doors open and put extra vents in the back of the cabinets to facilitate ventilation. Enjoy!
__________________
2014 Itasca Sunova 33C, 2019 Jeep Cherokee Lattitude Plus toad, Demco tow bar, SMI braking system. 20 yr USAF ret.
georgelesley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2018, 11:50 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3,419
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigdgr View Post
What is your opinion on the OTA 212553/212131 adapter? The reviews say it builds up a LOT of heat and fails quickly! What's your take on it ?
I think that's the dual-tuner OTA adapter. I've heard mixed reviews. Here's what DishDepot offers -- I'd ask them about it first.
__________________
2001 Mountain Aire DP 4095 & 2008 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon
DISH TV for RVs
America - Where We Make Stupid a Science!
TechWriter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2018, 11:52 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3,419
Quote:
Originally Posted by georgelesley View Post
I have to keep the hopper 3 and the DPH42 switch both unpowered while the sat dish is seeking the three sats. Once all three are showing locked on the winegard display I plug both the hopper and the DPH42 in and a few minutes later have TV.
I haven't had that issue. However, I usually have to restart my Hopper 3 as at first it never seems to acquire sat 110. C'est la vie.
__________________
2001 Mountain Aire DP 4095 & 2008 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon
DISH TV for RVs
America - Where We Make Stupid a Science!
TechWriter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2018, 12:02 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Winnebago Owners Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 987
Quote:
Originally Posted by TechWriter View Post
I think that's the dual-tuner OTA adapter. I've heard mixed reviews. Here's what DishDepot offers -- I'd ask them about it first.
I got mine from dishdepot.
__________________
2014 Itasca Sunova 33C, 2019 Jeep Cherokee Lattitude Plus toad, Demco tow bar, SMI braking system. 20 yr USAF ret.
georgelesley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2018, 05:57 AM   #8
Junior Member
 
bigdgr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Polk City, FL
Posts: 17
Smile ordered OTA

Thanks for the info Techwriter and George. I'll update after I install and test everything. I hope I don't have to unplug the sat receivers but we'll see. We won't start using the system until May when we head to North Dakota for the summer. I am probably going to install a small cooling fan in my compartment to help keep temps down. I'm thinking 4 or 6" would be enough. Any comments will be appreciated. BTW; Love the hopper 3 !!!!!
bigdgr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2018, 10:23 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3,419
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigdgr View Post
I am probably going to install a small cooling fan in my compartment to help keep temps down.
A very good idea. Check out Coolerguys.com . . .

I use thermal-controlled fans so they're not constantly running:
__________________
2001 Mountain Aire DP 4095 & 2008 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon
DISH TV for RVs
America - Where We Make Stupid a Science!
TechWriter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2018, 06:09 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,055
Quote:
Originally Posted by TechWriter View Post

Then you connect everything like this.
If you use a wireless Joey you don't need the solo hub, do you ?
az99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2018, 08:05 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3,419
Quote:
Originally Posted by az99 View Post
If you use a wireless Joey you don't need the solo hub, do you ?
Nope
__________________
2001 Mountain Aire DP 4095 & 2008 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon
DISH TV for RVs
America - Where We Make Stupid a Science!
TechWriter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2018, 12:15 PM   #12
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 26
Ideas on where to put the DPH42 Switch for Hopper 3

Hello all, DW and I just started full timing after retirement last week. We picked up a used 2015 Open Range 427BHS. It came with a Winegard Trav'ler for DishTV already installed. I'm looking for ideas on where I can put a DPH42 Switch so that I can use a Hopper 3. It looks like each cable coming off the base of the Trav'ler goes to and individual tv. Any ideas on how I can tackle this would be appreciated.

TJ
TJ911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ace, replace



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dish Hopper and Joey in newer Journey/Tour BVThunder Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 5 10-10-2017 05:22 AM
Dish Hopper/Joey system with a Winegard Traveler FreshAir Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 11 08-30-2017 11:03 AM
Hopper and Wireless Joey LABergo Newmar Owner's Forum 3 05-30-2017 04:59 AM
Hopper + Hopper or Hopper + Joey??? Rockysvet Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 2 05-16-2014 01:32 PM
2006 Newmar Kountry Star - Hopper and 2 joey's AirManFL Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 11 07-18-2013 06:56 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.