RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc.
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-19-2018, 01:44 PM   #1
JC2
Senior Member
 
JC2's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Mo/Texas
Posts: 3,497
Internet Connection Error Message(s)

My internet provider/equipment:
Time Warner/Spectrum-Technicolor modem/router combo, Windows 10 Pro, all software and drivers were/still kept updated, Ethernet cable replaced.

Late last summer/early fall about 4-6 weeks pryor to leaving for our winter spot, I started having the following error messages show on the Dell 17 inch laptop screen using both Ethernet and wifi connections.
1. (90% of the time)"Your not connected to a network"(would usually self correct within 3-5 seconds if not would hit the F5-refresh key.
2. (8% of the time)"Can't reach this page"(would usually self correct as above)
3. (2% of the time) "XXX.com website not responding"(would also self correct as above.

Called Time Warner/Spectrum and they sent a so called tech out who couldn't find anything wrong.

Left for the winter in Oct and used a Verizon Jetpack with the same laptop for internet and did not receive these messages. Arrived home several weeks ago, reconnected to the Technicolor modem/router combo and the same error message started within 3-4 hours.

Called Time Warner/Spectrum and they again sent a "tech" out. He reportedly replaced several outside/inside cable connection. Within 1-2 hrs after leaving, error messages started again.

I connected to the Jetpack several days ago and have "not" had one error message.

Thoughts anyone............
__________________
2010 Newmar Dutch Aire DP 4304-Cummins ISL 425hp-Spartan MM Chassis-2013 Chev Equinox AWD-Ready Brute Elite Towing System-FMCA 402879-SKP 120487
JC2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-19-2018, 04:57 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 1,398
Name of supplier says it all. You've got Time/Warner which means you have Time to Waste. Tell them to replace the modem if they haven't done that.
__________________
Gary 2021 NH Majestic on order
Ram 5500 with Bodywerx bed
Box Elder, SD and the road
ghaynes754 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2018, 01:09 PM   #3
Senior Member




 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 526
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by JC2 View Post
My internet provider/equipment:
Time Warner/Spectrum-Technicolor modem/router combo, Windows 10 Pro, all software and drivers were/still kept updated, Ethernet cable replaced.

Late last summer/early fall about 4-6 weeks pryor to leaving for our winter spot, I started having the following error messages show on the Dell 17 inch laptop screen using both Ethernet and wifi connections.
1. (90% of the time)"Your not connected to a network"(would usually self correct within 3-5 seconds if not would hit the F5-refresh key.
2. (8% of the time)"Can't reach this page"(would usually self correct as above)
3. (2% of the time) "XXX.com website not responding"(would also self correct as above.

Called Time Warner/Spectrum and they sent a so called tech out who couldn't find anything wrong.

Left for the winter in Oct and used a Verizon Jetpack with the same laptop for internet and did not receive these messages. Arrived home several weeks ago, reconnected to the Technicolor modem/router combo and the same error message started within 3-4 hours.

Called Time Warner/Spectrum and they again sent a "tech" out. He reportedly replaced several outside/inside cable connection. Within 1-2 hrs after leaving, error messages started again.

I connected to the Jetpack several days ago and have "not" had one error message.

Thoughts anyone............


One possible cause for this is the DNS Server not being available for a few seconds. I had this issue with a previous ISP, so I changed all my DNS Server addresses Google DNS Servers. No more issues since that change.

I have a Mac, so I can't help with how you change you DNS Server addresses, on a Windows laptop, but it is part of your network settings...

I believe google DNS Address is 8.8.8.8

Good Luck!
__________________
2020 Entegra Anthem 44W
2012 Entegra Anthem 42RBQ - Sold
2005 Beaver Monterey - Sold
2016 Jeep Cherokee
Dr. Q is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
internet



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Streaming live TV over internet - providers that offer internet-only subscriptions? FlyFishn Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 9 05-23-2017 08:07 PM
www.irv2.com gets me Error establishing a database connection Hit_the_Rhod Forum 101 | Announcements | Member Forum Concerns 12 06-24-2015 04:08 PM
Human error, Not RV error Sumar Damon 14 08-18-2007 05:02 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.