Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc.
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-24-2015, 06:57 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 2
Kvh Trackvison l3

How do I find out what version of software to update my satelite with I just bought this 2003 Holliday about 6 weeks ago and don't know much about it.Thanks I forgot to put its a Kvh trackvision l3
Elvinwj is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-24-2015, 08:23 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
lllkrob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,312
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elvinwj View Post
How do I find out what version of software to update my satelite with I just bought this 2003 Holliday about 6 weeks ago and don't know much about it.Thanks I forgot to put its a Kvh trackvision l3

I think you need to go up on the roof and check the version again. The I3 is a marine antenna unit and wasn't produced till a couple of years ago.
__________________
2013 Tiffin Phaeton 40QBH
2016 Chevrolet Equinox LTZ AWD V6
lllkrob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2015, 08:29 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 103
Send an email to kvh manufacturer (research via the Internet) and they'll respond-at least they did for me. You' ll need to give them the serial #. # can be obtained from the unit's records, the kvh itself or the Rv manufacturer's customer service. Good luck!
glemo81540 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2015, 08:45 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 2
When you you get on the maintenance port and hook up is said Kvh trackvision L3 rev g -version 216 on the data that comes up
Elvinwj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2015, 09:22 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
texnet's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Granbury, Texas
Posts: 1,394
Check out this thread.. it should answer most, if not all of your questions about the firmware...

http://www.irv2.com/forums/f53/kvh-t...sl-114135.html
__________________
Ronnie (WD5GIC) & Jan (WD5IHU)
2003 Monaco Dynasty Countess 42' w/tag, 2012 Ford Flex
https://www.ronniesphotos.com

texnet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2015, 06:06 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 248
Do yourself a favor and dump the old KVH. No tech support available for models that old. It is outdated technology. e.g a single LNB that has to switch between 3 birds if you are on Dish vs. a 3 LNB dish that is seeing all 3 birds at once. Updating the firmware requires some technical skill but not undoable for a lay person. Did it once and it bought me a few months. Good luck on finding a tech to do it.


The KVH on my '07 lasted about three years. After lots of frustration, I replaced it with a Winegard Travler. Couldn't be happier.
__________________
2016 Winnebago Journey 40R - 2012 Jeep Rubicon
2 Arctic Cats, 3 Shelties, 4 cats
Bottle of Jack Daniels & wife
BVThunder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2015, 06:36 PM   #7
Member
 
Jesse93312's Avatar
 
National RV Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 41
I had r6 model emailed the tech support and their reply was that was an older model and either I can spend money on it or by their new version. I just went ahead and tossed it, replaced it with mini max couldn't pass up the deal on it. Good luck!!
Jesse93312 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2015, 07:00 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
DtBt's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Saint Leonard,MD
Posts: 749
Winegard Travel'r is the best way to go but the L3 should work OK for Directv SD only pointing at 101. Dish's programming is spread among different sats so a single lnb is frustrating. Get the firmware wizard from KVH and update the controller and RF board if necessary. You obviously have figured out how to access the maintenance port.
__________________
2005 Safari Panther Diamond IV Cat C13
2013 Avalanche Toad
DtBt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2015, 03:40 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
mikelm48's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Grapevine, TX
Posts: 1,055
Are you using Dish or DirecTV?
__________________
Mike
2021 Coachmen Spirit 2557RB
2018 Ford F-150 3.5L Ecoboost w/Max Tow, Eaz-Lift R3 hitch
mikelm48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
KVH TracStar R6 issues dukenrock Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 6 07-16-2014 03:09 PM
KVH no longer supports Dish on R-4 and R-5 Jeep trekker Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 9 04-29-2014 08:26 AM
Whats needed to get Dish 129 on KVH R5SL glemo81540 Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 4 03-02-2014 03:37 PM
Will KVH L3 work with new Directv signals? RustyTools Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 12 02-09-2014 05:03 AM
KVH help. Anyone? HicksRA Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 8 07-29-2013 12:40 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.