Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc.
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-02-2021, 11:15 AM   #1
Senior Member/RVM #90
 
MSHappyCampers's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Columbus, MS
Posts: 49,141
No sound from Dish Hopper 3

I'm going to call Dish tech support later today but wondered if any of you have had this problem.

I'm using the HDMI output from the Dish receiver to my surround sound receiver, then another HDMI cable from the surround sound receiver to the TV. I don't have any sound when viewing live or watching a recorded program.

I know the loss of sound could be in my surround sound receiver and I have to troubleshoot it. Thought I would ask if anyone has had this problem with a Hopper 3.

Thanks in advance for any comments!
__________________
Joe & Annette
Sometimes I sits and thinks, sometimes I just sits.....
2002 Monaco Windsor 40PBT, 2013 Honda CRV AWD
MSHappyCampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 12-02-2021, 11:51 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,178
I have a similar issue when the A/V receiver is not on the correct position. I belong to a forum called satellite guys, helped me a great deal, yes I have Dish.
__________________
Wally & Elta Mae
2007 Allure 470 Sunset Bay #31535
wfalch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2021, 01:38 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
bruce91's Avatar


 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Port Orange, Fl
Posts: 833
Hi Joe.

Not sure if i can help but a bit more information needed. What dish do you have? Why i ask is in March at the FMCA rally my tailgater stopped working, i had a vip211k receiver. I got a new roof mounted dish, Traviler SK-1000 and the installer told me my home Hopper3 will work with the new dish with its hybrid LNB. Moving the hopper from home to the RV i had to do a switch test as my home dish looked at sats 72 and 61.5 while the traveler looked at 110, 119 and 129. I always forgot the procedure to do that and called my local dish dealer who is a friend of mine and they always had good advice. Give them a call and tell them Bruce with the RV recommended you. satellite dish store 386-304- 9824.

If your surround receiver is displaying "STB Refsw" you have the correct input and should get sound.
__________________
Bruce Hotaling, Lori Jones & Cocker,Maggie
2009 Thor Magellan 36R 37' F53 w/5 star tune
Toad 2010 Ford Ranger W/Rampage lift for the Harley
and 2012 Ford Fusion hybrid
bruce91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2021, 01:50 PM   #4
Community Administrator
 
Lt Dan's Avatar


 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: DFW, Texas
Posts: 12,337
Do you not have sound from the surround sound system or the TV? Try running a HDMI cable direct from the satellite receiver to the TV to see if you have sound then. If you do, then the problem is with the surround sound and Dish can't help you. A female to female HDMI connector will allow you to bypass the surround sound if you can't run a cable from the receiver to the TV. I don't know if the surround sound has HDMI output, or just input so you may be trying to run through it from two input connections.
__________________
2017 Phaeton 40IH XSH Maroon Coral - Power Glide Chassis with IFS
Previously '15 Tiffin Allegro RED 38QRA and '06 Itasca Sunrise 35A
'16 Jeep JKU Wrangler Sahara or '08 Honda Goldwing
Lt Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2021, 02:41 PM   #5
Senior Member/RVM #90
 
MSHappyCampers's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Columbus, MS
Posts: 49,141
Quote:
Originally Posted by bruce91 View Post
Hi Joe.

Not sure if i can help but a bit more information needed. What dish do you have? Why i ask is in March at the FMCA rally my tailgater stopped working, i had a vip211k receiver. I got a new roof mounted dish, Traviler SK-1000 and the installer told me my home Hopper3 will work with the new dish with its hybrid LNB. Moving the hopper from home to the RV i had to do a switch test as my home dish looked at sats 72 and 61.5 while the traveler looked at 110, 119 and 129. I always forgot the procedure to do that and called my local dish dealer who is a friend of mine and they always had good advice. Give them a call and tell them Bruce with the RV recommended you. satellite dish store 386-304- 9824.

If your surround receiver is displaying "STB Refsw" you have the correct input and should get sound.
Thanks for the reply Bruce! Since the video also goes through the A/V receiver and is OK, then the throughput would have to be OK.
__________________
Joe & Annette
Sometimes I sits and thinks, sometimes I just sits.....
2002 Monaco Windsor 40PBT, 2013 Honda CRV AWD
MSHappyCampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2021, 03:15 PM   #6
Senior Member/RVM #90
 
MSHappyCampers's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Columbus, MS
Posts: 49,141
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lt Dan View Post
Do you not have sound from the surround sound system or the TV? Try running a HDMI cable direct from the satellite receiver to the TV to see if you have sound then. If you do, then the problem is with the surround sound and Dish can't help you. A female to female HDMI connector will allow you to bypass the surround sound if you can't run a cable from the receiver to the TV. I don't know if the surround sound has HDMI output, or just input so you may be trying to run through it from two input connections.
I ran an HDMI cable direct from the Dish receiver to the TV and I get sound! Then I put everything back to normal and kept checking connections and suddenly the sound came back on! Right now it's OK, and I'm not touching anything!
__________________
Joe & Annette
Sometimes I sits and thinks, sometimes I just sits.....
2002 Monaco Windsor 40PBT, 2013 Honda CRV AWD
MSHappyCampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2021, 08:49 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
powercat_ras's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Solo Rvers Club
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 1,625
Things to try ...

Try pushing the RESET button on the Hopper (it's behind the door on front) , this may reset something inside of it that caused the audio problem. This will also cause the HDMI to re-sync between the Hopper and what the other end of the HDMI is hooked to.

HDMI has anti-copy handshaking and sometimes if picture or sound goes out it can be fixed by hard reset or power on / off on devices on one or both ends of the HDMI.

Go to Settings -> Audio and try turning Dolby Audio OFF. Sometimes when I have had that problem toggling it to OFF will clear it. Sometimes I can toggle it back to ON and audio still works and theoretically you get better sound with it ON if you have a compatible TV, Receiver, or Sound Bar.

Go to Settings -> Secondary Audio and make sure it's set to English. Not much chance this will change anything.
__________________
Randy - Manhattan, Kansas
2015 Vista 27N
2020 Ford Escape Hybrid
powercat_ras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2021, 09:31 AM   #8
Senior Member/RVM #90
 
MSHappyCampers's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Columbus, MS
Posts: 49,141
Quote:
Originally Posted by powercat_ras View Post
Things to try ...

Try pushing the RESET button on the Hopper (it's behind the door on front) , this may reset something inside of it that caused the audio problem. This will also cause the HDMI to re-sync between the Hopper and what the other end of the HDMI is hooked to.

HDMI has anti-copy handshaking and sometimes if picture or sound goes out it can be fixed by hard reset or power on / off on devices on one or both ends of the HDMI.

Go to Settings -> Audio and try turning Dolby Audio OFF. Sometimes when I have had that problem toggling it to OFF will clear it. Sometimes I can toggle it back to ON and audio still works and theoretically you get better sound with it ON if you have a compatible TV, Receiver, or Sound Bar.

Go to Settings -> Secondary Audio and make sure it's set to English. Not much chance this will change anything.
Thanks Randy! Right now I'm good, but I'll keep your suggestions in case I have further problems!
__________________
Joe & Annette
Sometimes I sits and thinks, sometimes I just sits.....
2002 Monaco Windsor 40PBT, 2013 Honda CRV AWD
MSHappyCampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2021, 10:38 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,178
Thats great and if anyone has some tips for me on Dish I will appreciate it.
__________________
Wally & Elta Mae
2007 Allure 470 Sunset Bay #31535
wfalch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2021, 10:51 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
F4Gary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Grapevine, Tx
Posts: 4,176
Sounds like you fixed it, but if not you could try HDMI from the Dish to the TV and then an optical cable to the receiver. That's what I do at home and in the motorhome.
__________________
2004 Fleetwood Southwind 32VS W20
ReadyBrute Elite towing a 2017 Ford Edge Sport
F4Gary is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2021, 10:53 AM   #11
Senior Member/RVM #90
 
MSHappyCampers's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Columbus, MS
Posts: 49,141
Quote:
Originally Posted by F4Gary View Post
Sounds like you fixed it, but if not you could try HDMI from the Dish to the TV and then an optical cable to the receiver. That's what I do at home and in the motorhome.
Thanks! I'll keep that option in mind!
__________________
Joe & Annette
Sometimes I sits and thinks, sometimes I just sits.....
2002 Monaco Windsor 40PBT, 2013 Honda CRV AWD
MSHappyCampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dish



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading from Hopper 2 to Hopper 3 Dark Sky Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 11 08-23-2019 10:48 AM
Anyone using Hopper 3 and Hopper Duo on same account? TexasTom Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 13 03-21-2019 12:53 PM
Orginal Hopper or Hopper 2 CWSWine Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 9 02-07-2019 03:42 PM
how to replace a hopper 2 and 1 joey with a hopper 3 and 1 joey bigdgr Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 11 03-03-2018 01:15 PM
Hopper + Hopper or Hopper + Joey??? Rockysvet Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 2 05-16-2014 02:32 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.