RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc.
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-15-2020, 04:36 PM   #29
Senior Member
 
docj's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 7,077
Quote:
Originally Posted by SLOweather View Post

So, what are my best options for using ATT and Google Fi with WiFi Ranger products in our moho?


Is there a WF R bonding router that has 2 WAN Ethernet ports? I would like to keep at least one ZTE router in operation for the POTS jack phone backup. We have Verizon cell phones and sometimes camp where there is ATT but no Verizon cell service. With the Google Fi SIM, and MF279, I also have voice service. (I have a G Fi data-only SIM as well, but haven't tried it yet.
All WiFiRanger indoor routers have 5 Ethernet ports plus a USB port. I have my Verizon 7730L Jetpack connected to my Spruce router via USB and my OTR MF279 connected by Ethernet.

If I haven't answered one of your questions, please feel free to clarify and ask it again.

Joel (AKA docj)
__________________
Joel (AKA docj)--
RV Technology Specialist
Campground Reviews administrator
2000 40' Beaver Patriot Thunder Princeton CAT C-12
docj is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 02-15-2020, 06:33 PM   #30
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 513
Quote:
Originally Posted by docj View Post

If I haven't answered one of your questions, please feel free to clarify and ask it again.

Joel (AKA docj)

I should have been clearer. Sorry.


I have 2 ZTE MF279 cell routers. Each has WiFi and a single LAN jack.


How do I use them with one of the load balancing routers?


On the Poplar, I see 4 LAN jacks and one WAN jack.


Is there a load balancing router with 2 WAN jacks, or am I limited to one router plugged in to the WAN jack, and the other connected via WiFi?


Or, as I believe I read above, do I need to put one of my SIMs in your router, and connect one router to the WAN jack?
__________________
2014 Itasca Sunstar 31KE
1988 Itasca Suncruiser 31RQ
1968 Travco 21'
SLOweather is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2020, 09:41 AM   #31
Senior Member
 
docj's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 7,077
Quote:
Originally Posted by SLOweather View Post
I should have been clearer. Sorry.


I have 2 ZTE MF279 cell routers. Each has WiFi and a single LAN jack.


How do I use them with one of the load balancing routers?


On the Poplar, I see 4 LAN jacks and one WAN jack.


Is there a load balancing router with 2 WAN jacks, or am I limited to one router plugged in to the WAN jack, and the other connected via WiFi?
Although the Ethernet ports are color coded as WAN and LAN, any of them can be used to connect an internet source. On the Setup tab of the Ranger's control panel you can define which port is being used for the connection. So there's nothing preventing you from using both of your MF279 routers.


Quote:
Or, as I believe I read above, do I need to put one of my SIMs in your router, and connect one router to the WAN jack?
Putting a SIM directly in the router is simply an option to be used or not at your choice. The decision to use the SIM or not would probably largely depend on whether the Ranger's modem is better than the modem in your hotspot. Whereas the Poplar router has a CAT4 modem, Aspen, I believe will have a CAT6 (or better) available. I don't know what class modem is in the MF279.

I hope this answers your questions.

Joel
__________________
Joel (AKA docj)--
RV Technology Specialist
Campground Reviews administrator
2000 40' Beaver Patriot Thunder Princeton CAT C-12
docj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2020, 08:17 AM   #32
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 4
Thanks docj for the load balancing information! I have a question for you.

I have a DRV Mobile Suites with a Sky3 mounted on the roof. Unfortunately DRV did not run a full Ethernet cable to power the unit, only a 12v pair wired to a RJ45 plug on the Sky3. My point is there is not currently a router or even the ability to add a router via a network cable to the Sky3 without re-wiring.

After reading your load balancing information and the thread on the Visible data plan, Im wondering if I could use the Spruce router to connect to the Sky3 via WiFi and to a dedicated Visible phone using a usb connection to provide a load balanced WiFi network via the Spruce? I suppose I could connect the Spruce directly to any campground WiFi, but was thinking the Sky3 would have better range being mounted on the roof.

Im thinking this configuration would allow me to use campground WiFi and/or visible data for my devices using a common WiFi SSID broadcast by the Spruce.

Thanks,
Alan
adwtex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2020, 09:42 AM   #33
Senior Member
 
docj's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 7,077
Quote:
Originally Posted by adwtex View Post
My point is there is not currently a router or even the ability to add a router via a network cable to the Sky3 without re-wiring.
Hi Alan:

Let's first address the fact that your Sky3 is, most definitely, a complete router in its own right. The way it's configured, it doesn't have the ability for devices to be hard-wired to it and it is limited to operating on only the 2.4 GHz band. But, nonetheless, it is a router and can run the same WiFiRanger software as do all our newer devices.

As for what you have proposed, it would work quite well. You could tether a Visible phone to the Spruce router and connect the Sky3 to the Spruce using the Spruce's 2.4 GHz WiFi. As you commented, using the Sky3 to connect to a park's wifi should ensure a strong connection.

If you haven't kept the firmware in your Sky3 updated, I would suggest updating it to the latest available version. The Spruce runs a version that is slightly more advanced but which is not yet available in a version suitable for the Sky3. But for what you are proposing to do, the available version of the firmware should be fine but do be sure to check to see if it is running the latest version available for it.

If you have any additional questions, feel free to ask. Thanks for being a WiFiRanger customer.

Joel (AKA docj)
__________________
Joel (AKA docj)--
RV Technology Specialist
Campground Reviews administrator
2000 40' Beaver Patriot Thunder Princeton CAT C-12
docj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2020, 07:59 PM   #34
Senior Member
 
brandss's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Frankfort, KY
Posts: 1,344
Joel, life got in the way so I wasn't able to place my order for the Converge setup, but, ready to now. I am planning to order the Denali along with the spruce router. I have come up with a couple more questions if you don't mind.

Does this setup allow load balancing for more than two cellular plans? I currently have hotspots with ATT and Verizon, and may add a Sprint/Tmobile to the mix. Also, one of the videos I watched talked about an upgrade to a cat 6 modem for ~$70. Is this option available or will be in the future.

Thanks again for answering all of the questions and being so patient.
__________________
Scott and Deanna Brandstetter
2014 Tiffin Allegro Bus 45LP
Domicile and current home, Jacksonville, FL
brandss is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2020, 08:06 PM   #35
Senior Member
 
docj's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 7,077
Quote:
Originally Posted by brandss View Post
Joel, life got in the way so I wasn't able to place my order for the Converge setup, but, ready to now. I am planning to order the Denali along with the spruce router. I have come up with a couple more questions if you don't mind.

Does this setup allow load balancing for more than two cellular plans? I currently have hotspots with ATT and Verizon, and may add a Sprint/Tmobile to the mix. Also, one of the videos I watched talked about an upgrade to a cat 6 modem for ~$70. Is this option available or will be in the future.

Thanks again for answering all of the questions and being so patient.
Hi Scott:

You can use Load Balancing for as many sources as you would like. Currently, I use two hotspots, one Verizon and one AT&T. Several times I've added the RV park's WiFi as a third source. If all sources are reasonably stable this works. However, if one connection is much less stable than the others it does tend to destabilize the Load Balancing.

AFAIK you ought to be able to upgrade your Denali to a CAT6 modem when you order it. I would definitely recommend doing that.

If you have other questions, feel free to ask them

Joel (AKA docj)
__________________
Joel (AKA docj)--
RV Technology Specialist
Campground Reviews administrator
2000 40' Beaver Patriot Thunder Princeton CAT C-12
docj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2020, 07:21 PM   #36
Senior Member
 
brandss's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Frankfort, KY
Posts: 1,344
Thanks Joel again for the help. I spoke with Wifi Ranger today and placed my order. Got the Denali and Spruce router. Asked about the upgrade to CAT 6 but it wasn't available yet but said I can easily upgrade my setup when it is available.

I hope to have it by this weekend so I can install and give it a go. One thing the person told me was to install the Denali 24 inches from any other antennas to prevent interference. I got the 15 foot cord for the roof and it should be plenty. I think I am going to put it on a platform to raise it above the side rails on our coach. I can't wait to eliminate the buffering and searching for the best signal
__________________
Scott and Deanna Brandstetter
2014 Tiffin Allegro Bus 45LP
Domicile and current home, Jacksonville, FL
brandss is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
internet



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Introducing UltraRVproducts.com Providing Robust Support for On-Line Workhorse Parts DriVer RV Industry Press 1 07-01-2014 02:38 PM
Providing a Link golden Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 2 01-17-2011 01:54 PM
My Coach Providing Water To The CG! GaryKD iRV2.com General Discussion 11 07-22-2008 07:00 AM
Damon, Workhorse Providing Coach To RVIA DriVer RV Industry Press 10 06-12-2007 04:44 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.