Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc.
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-08-2021, 02:44 PM   #1
Member
 
rdalemercer's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 71
RG-6 max length? DISH

So..... I'm going to be in a heavily "tree'd" area that my Trav'ler will not be able to punch through. Got that.
Alternative is to buy a fixed dish (like on a house - Western Arc / hybrid / triple LNB / 1000.2) and run a 150'~180 foot long RG-6 (solid copper /quad shielded) cable into my RV to my existing receiver (Hopper 3).
Has anyone actually experienced a similar setup?
Any advice? Cautions? Kudo's?
rdalemercer is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-08-2021, 03:11 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,157
There is a product called RG11, zero loss. Comes in precut lengths we have purchased a 75' piece.
__________________
Wally & Elta Mae
2007 Allure 470 Sunset Bay #31535
wfalch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2021, 04:09 PM   #3
Member
 
rdalemercer's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by wfalch View Post
There is a product called RG11, zero loss. Comes in precut lengths we have purchased a 75' piece.
Thanks wfalch.
Did the RG11 come with the correct connectors (type F?)
I'm guessing that I'll need a barrel connector if I can't find it in a 200 foot length.
__________________
R. Dale and Cheryl Mercer
2019 Tiffin Phaeton 40IH
rdalemercer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2021, 05:08 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by wfalch View Post
There is a product called RG11, zero loss.



Of course there's loss. RG-11 loses about 6.5 db per 100 feet at 960 MHz so at the satellite freqs probably closer to 9-10 db.
For the OP a couple hundred feet of RG-6 won't be a problem.
__________________
2016 Tiffin 32SA
Newps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2021, 05:13 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,157
yes it comes from the factory with F connectors
__________________
Wally & Elta Mae
2007 Allure 470 Sunset Bay #31535
wfalch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2021, 05:23 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,157
https://www.amazon.com/CIMPLE-CO-Def.../dp/B07DVY1ZBJ

Google RG11vsRG6
__________________
Wally & Elta Mae
2007 Allure 470 Sunset Bay #31535
wfalch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2021, 09:56 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Doug427's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 842
RG11 is 3/4" diameter, if what I read on the 'net is accurate.



https://finddiffer.com/rg6-versus-rg...he-difference/



Darn, that has to be hard to work with. I'm guessing it must be very stiff and heavy.
__________________
2005 Newmar Mountain Aire 4304 - 4 slides
2011 Jeep Liberty 4X4 towed
Doug427 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2021, 06:14 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,117
I would try it with RG6. On my S&B I have at least 120' with no problems.
az99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2021, 06:29 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
fcbbob15's Avatar


 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Las Vegas NV.
Posts: 518
I have 150 feet of rg6 on my g2 and it works well. I think the biggest issue is signal strength and in my case voltage loss on my 12 volt supply to the dish.
__________________
Robert, Sami and our driver Zink the puppy dog, co-driver Jax the puppy dog and the boss Katie.
2017 Winnebago Vista LX 35F. 5 Star Tune, Hellwig sway bars, Super Steer Trac Bar, 1600 Watt Solar, ARP, Spare tire carrier, 2020 Jeep Wrangler, Ready Brute Elite.
fcbbob15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2021, 02:58 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
ernieh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,547
FWIW, My local cable provider (Spectrum) uses RG11 for their drops. It's not easy to store because it's very stiff.
__________________
ernieh
2019 Phaeton 37BH
ernieh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2021, 04:11 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,157
Yes its heavy and stiff. I resorted to using it because I could not see the forest for the trees and once it was installed it stayed there.
__________________
Wally & Elta Mae
2007 Allure 470 Sunset Bay #31535
wfalch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2021, 09:04 PM   #12
Member
 
rdalemercer's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 71
Thanks for all of the input.
I originally wanted a G3 but was told that the rg6 couldn't handle the power drop due to line length of 180'.....so I switched to looking at the 1000.2 fixed dish.
I still need to sort out getting the cable into my coach and connected to my Hopper 3.....which "seems" simple enough once I know the elevation, skew and azimuth (all available on dish.com).
__________________
R. Dale and Cheryl Mercer
2019 Tiffin Phaeton 40IH
rdalemercer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2021, 09:03 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,157
You are aware that the Hooper 3 requires a HDP42 switch.
__________________
Wally & Elta Mae
2007 Allure 470 Sunset Bay #31535
wfalch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2021, 09:22 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
wingnut60's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Wherever we are
Posts: 4,145
Not all of them--my H3 does not use/need one. Believe it to be a 'hybrid' H3?
__________________
'16 40QBH Phaeton
'15 38RSSA Mobile Suites--traded
'05 36TK3 Mobile Suites--retired but not forgotten
wingnut60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dish



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ME-ARC "Max Charge Amps" vs "Max Charge Rate" tankcj RV Systems & Appliances 2 01-21-2020 11:27 AM
Motorhome length versus campgrounds max length hstansel Class A Motorhome Discussions 10 05-20-2016 07:36 PM
Speed going up grades: max HP vs. max torque RTegarini Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum 19 01-16-2016 10:16 PM
Tire Pressure (Max or not to Max) Experts? Always-RVing iRV2.com General Discussion 32 09-30-2009 09:46 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.