RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc.
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-26-2020, 01:58 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Brandon, FL and Franklinville, NY
Posts: 103
Roku to RV TVs

Any one have ideas on how to connect my Roku to the outside TV in my Excursion 33D. Canít see how to get to the HDMI inputs. Thought maybe I could convert somehow to a RF signal to connect through coax input above next to the antenna switch on the control panel above the entry door.
hdfxrs is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-26-2020, 03:52 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Buxton, North Dakota
Posts: 3,819
You can use a ROKY Express if the selector box has a modulator or you can add a modulator to a ROKU EXpress

ROKU Express
__________________
2003 Winnebago Adventurer 38G F53/ V10 605 watts of Solar
1999 Winnebago Brave 35C F53V10 Handicap Equipped
1999 Jeep Cherokee, 1991 Jeep Wrangler Renegade and 2018 Chevrolet Equinox Diesel
John Hilley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2020, 03:03 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Brandon, FL and Franklinville, NY
Posts: 103
Roku not available

Roku Express doesnít seem to be available any more.
hdfxrs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2020, 03:46 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
lllkrob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2,705
Does your DVD player work on the outside TV? If so, then find where the DVD player hooks into the HDMI splittter for the TV's and substitute the ROKU in it's place.
__________________
2013 Tiffin Phaeton 40QBH
2016 Chevrolet Equinox LTZ AWD V6
lllkrob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2020, 06:41 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Brandon, FL and Franklinville, NY
Posts: 103
DVD

Quote:
Originally Posted by lllkrob View Post
Does your DVD player work on the outside TV? If so, then find where the DVD player hooks into the HDMI splittter for the TV's and substitute the ROKU in it's place.
The DVD player only works with the main TV. I thought it might be connected to the other TVs and I tried hooking up to the various connections in the DVD cabinet and the bedroom cabinet.
hdfxrs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2020, 06:53 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 727
We just hooked up the ROKO to our TV about a month ago. I had to take the TV off the mount and plugged the ROKO stick into the HDMI3 slot.
We do not have a smart TV and we have added a second ROKO on the outside TV on the side patio, had to take it off the mount to get it installed. I also used the same slot the HDMI 3.
__________________
2018 Road Warrior 427
2017 Ram 3500 w/Aisin w/ 4:10 rearend
2016 E-Z-Go Golf Cart 2 Dachshunds DJ (Rainbow Bridge 9-12-2019) & Joey
hamm2018 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2020, 06:59 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Brandon, FL and Franklinville, NY
Posts: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by hamm2018 View Post
We just hooked up the ROKO to our TV about a month ago. I had to take the TV off the mount and plugged the ROKO stick into the HDMI3 slot.
We do not have a smart TV and we have added a second ROKO on the outside TV on the side patio, had to take it off the mount to get it installed. I also used the same slot the HDMI 3.
Thatís what I will probably need to do. Not sure how to get to the HDMI inputs. Didnít see any access when we had the couch removed for new upholstery. I assume the tv can be removed from the front? I see some screws on the metal panels on each side.
hdfxrs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2020, 07:38 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
xrated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: "Murvil", TN
Posts: 1,175
If you don't want to bother running wires, lots of options (I've never used any of them) for wirelessly transmitting the HDMI signal to a receiver. You then plug a cord into the receiver and then into your TV. Here is a link for some...

https://www.bestadvisor.com/wireless...EaAi8MEALw_wcB
__________________
2016 F350 Crew Cab Dually Diesel King Ranch 4x4
2018 Grand Design Momentum 394M Toy Hauler
Excessive Payload Capacity is a Wonderful Thing!
xrated is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2020, 07:45 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 727
Quote:
Originally Posted by hdfxrs View Post
Thatís what I will probably need to do. Not sure how to get to the HDMI inputs. Didnít see any access when we had the couch removed for new upholstery. I assume the tv can be removed from the front? I see some screws on the metal panels on each side.
Wife purchased our ROKO from Amazon for around $30. The receiver unit I just attached using Velcro and placed it so it can get the signal easily.
On our TV it is hard to get to the mounting screws so I removed the whole backing/mounting board. I then flipped the TV over installed the ROKO and put the mounting board back up.
__________________
2018 Road Warrior 427
2017 Ram 3500 w/Aisin w/ 4:10 rearend
2016 E-Z-Go Golf Cart 2 Dachshunds DJ (Rainbow Bridge 9-12-2019) & Joey
hamm2018 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2020, 07:39 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Brandon, FL and Franklinville, NY
Posts: 103
I assume you did this from the outside. How many screws?
hdfxrs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2020, 09:43 AM   #11
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: MI
Posts: 23
There is a good chance the TV is mounted with a quick release of some type. Many mounts will have a plate that bolts to the TV that then hangs on a rail mounted to the structure with spring loaded clips to lock things in. Here is an example: You might need to slip a cell phone in video recording mode behind it if you can't see back there.


Once you figure it out you might want to drop some HDMI cables from the other inputs in case you want to connect something in the future. Maybe a USB cable too if you want to plug in a camera or something.



I've had some issues with the USB ports on the TV not being powerful enough to power a Roku stick, so you might want to put a 120 volt USB adapter back there too.
tom92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2020, 09:50 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 727
Quote:
Originally Posted by hdfxrs View Post
I assume you did this from the outside. How many screws?
Inside TV had 4 screws, one in each corner. Outside TV had 6 screws. There was 1 in each corner, and 1 in the center both top and bottom.
But keep in mind each unit could be different.
__________________
2018 Road Warrior 427
2017 Ram 3500 w/Aisin w/ 4:10 rearend
2016 E-Z-Go Golf Cart 2 Dachshunds DJ (Rainbow Bridge 9-12-2019) & Joey
hamm2018 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2020, 08:09 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Prescott, Arizona
Posts: 2,597
Blog Entries: 6
mounted my roku stick via a short HDMI extension cord from back to front of the TV, so the remote can communicate with the roku stick.
__________________
'04 Newmar MADP, 1100w of solar, towing a jeep wrangler
ByeTheWay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2020, 11:35 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
Xjaywalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Pearce, AZ 85625
Posts: 289
Quote:
Originally Posted by hamm2018 View Post
We just hooked up the ROKO to our TV about a month ago. I had to take the TV off the mount and plugged the ROKO stick into the HDMI3 slot.
We do not have a smart TV and we have added a second ROKO on the outside TV on the side patio, had to take it off the mount to get it installed. I also used the same slot the HDMI 3.
Thought you needed a Smart TV for the Roku to work. Does this mean you only get Roku programs (and OTA channels) ????
__________________
X-Jaywalker
Pearce, AZ
Xjaywalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Are 2016 Tiffin Phaeton TVs, "Smart TVs"? dmcquinn Tiffin Owner's Forum 15 04-19-2016 10:58 AM
Smart TV or Not? blue ray or Roku 2 ? rvgrammady Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 1 11-16-2012 05:25 PM
Roku??? RVHealthy Hobbies, Passions & Pastimes 2 07-19-2012 11:23 AM
Roku tv Boomer Express Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 22 12-04-2011 05:35 PM
Roku XD/S Internet Streaming Device DriVer Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 13 01-06-2011 09:28 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.