Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc.
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-31-2023, 06:23 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2021
Posts: 146
Starlink cable routing ?

I am curious as to how Starlink users are getting the cable from the router inside the RV to the antenna outside ? I am currently closing it in the bottom corner of the cab door (class c) and it doesn't seem to be harming the cable, still slides in or out with some resistance, but surely there's a better way. I would like someway to seal out bugs and still be easy to deploy and stow as we move often.
Another question would be how are you stowing your dish or antenna, I'm currently using the box it came in but the recycled cardboard isn't going to last.
Thanks in advance
rtaggio is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-31-2023, 07:54 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Posts: 1,186
It's just a standard shielded cat6 cable so you can just cut the cable ans install rj45 keystone and tip. This way you could just plug the starlink into the side of your RV. Worst case you can buy a replacement cable. They also make a backpack.

I mounted mine permanently on the roof and use it while driving, works great. Plan on ordering a cable and backpack so I can just hop up on my roof. Unscrew my mount and grab the dish for when I use it for my boat.
__________________
"Shorty" 2008 Prevost XL2 40ft, Detroit S60, 20K genset,dual 5k Victron Quattros, 20Kw LiPO,1800w solar and just getting started
Captain8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2023, 08:01 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
SeeTheUSA's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,437
Quote:
Originally Posted by rtaggio View Post
. Snipped .
Another question would be how are you stowing your dish or antenna, I'm currently using the box it came in but the recycled cardboard isn't going to last.
Thanks in advance
Take a look, this worked nicely for me!

__________________
Warren and Debbie, Deep in The Heart of Texas
2018 Winnebago View 24D
2014 Tiffin Breeze 32BR, 2012 Winnebago Navion 24G, 2006 Winnebago View 23H
SeeTheUSA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2023, 01:17 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
BrokeDown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Fort Myers, FL
Posts: 600
Quote:
Originally Posted by rtaggio View Post
I am curious as to how Starlink users are getting the cable from the router inside the RV to the antenna outside ?

Another question would be how are you stowing your dish or antenna,
I bought a flag pole from Camping World and the pole mount from Starlink. I have a flag pole mount on my ladder. I run the cable in the kitchen slide.

When traveling from place to place, I put the Starlink antenna on the back seat of my truck along with the wire. I put the flag pole in the bed of the truck.
When we are done with our summer travel, I use the Husky box mentioned in this thread. I store the Husky box and flag pole in the garage of the RV.
There are a lot of videos that show how to cut the plastic surround that came with the Starlink.

-B
__________________
Full time RVer since 4/2016. Newmar Mountain Aire 4523 - Jeep Rubicon - Harley FLTCR - 2022 F450 Platinum, 2022 Momentum 351MS-R with Curt Flex Air hitch and MORryde IS - Also considering a Polaris General 4 Seater and a Can Am Spyder RT
BrokeDown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2023, 02:48 PM   #5
Member
 
jonahex2099's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Bothell, WA
Posts: 68
I'm in the process of modifying the cable and adding an external rj45 jack (and cover).

Did the cable last night and tested end to end connection and works, no degradation on speed, etc.

Tonight I'm installing the external and internal RJ45 jacks. Our Passport has a storage compartment in the slide out that is conveniently behind the entertainment center in the cabin. Once done I'm going to permanently mount the router to the wall behind the TV.

The storage bay is also almost center mass to the rest of the trailer, so I can mount the flagpole either end of the camper.

I store mine using the shipping box packing and a 17 gallon storage bin from Lowes (yellow top). The packaging fits perfectly in the bin with no modification.
__________________
TT: 2022 Keystone Passport GT 2704RKWE
TV: 2024 Chevy Silverado 3500 LTZ 6.6L (Gas)
jonahex2099 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2023, 07:42 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2021
Posts: 146
Thanks for the tips, I'm not sold on getting the cable from inside to outside, but like the storage ideas.

My MH does not have slides which I forgot to mention in the original post.
rtaggio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2023, 04:12 PM   #7
Member
 
pappcam's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 32
My front pass through storage has a spot to route the waterline into when hooked up so the Starlink cable goes there as well. There's a power outlet on my panel with the rest of the connections so the router just sits in the front storage. WiFi is good all through the trailer as well as outside where we hang out.
__________________
2023 Grand Design Imagine 2970RL
2023 F-350 7.3 Crew Cab
pappcam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2023, 06:43 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
KenZ71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Back Woods of NC
Posts: 1,200
My understanding is Starlink creates a Wi-Fi hotspot so why not run the Ethernet up along the fresh water hose then put the hotspot in side one of the bays near a plug?
__________________
2012 Newmar King Aire w/ Roadmaster Falcon 2 Tow Bar
2020 Cherokee Trailhawk w/ Blue Ox Base Plate
2005 Tiffin Phaeton - was a good start but too short
KenZ71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2023, 12:01 AM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2022
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by KenZ71 View Post
My understanding is Starlink creates a Wi-Fi hotspot so why not run the Ethernet up along the fresh water hose then put the hotspot in side one of the bays near a plug?
It does. You need a special adapter to get an Ethernet outlet from the AP.

I have a ladder & Flagpole Buddy on the side at the back. Currently running g the stock cable in through the water access port. Unplugged the built in vacuum & plugged the router into that. Need to get an extra outlet in the basement pass through and/or a 12v outlet for my eventual custom router/AP & POE injector mod.
Phallon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2023, 08:11 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
DKRITTER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Haslet, Texas
Posts: 1,069
We started out with the Dishy on the ground but I didn't like that because it was easily accessable. A dog could walk by and mark it, a kid on a bike not paying attention could hit it and someone could cut the cable and take off with it. We bought a kit to mount it to a flag pole attached to the ladder on our MH. Like this much better.

Running the cable took a little thought, I brought the cable in where our power cable comes in, this way I could utilize the notch in the floor. Then across the basement to where we have a power source. The white router sits on the basement floor putting out a Wi-Fi signal. We also bought the ethernet adapter and ran a Cat-6 cable to our PepLink. (much better)

As far as storing it, we looked around the house for something, I took the bottom out of the original box to see if it would fit into something. I found a black with the yellow lid tubs (Home Depot/Costco) with the attached double fold lid it was perfect, just moved the formed pieces from the original box, no cutting, easy peasy.

I'm not positive but I think this is the box we used: https://www.homedepot.com/p/HDX-17-G...6151/304822509
__________________
2013 Newmar Dutch Star 4318
2022 RAM 1500 4X4
DKRITTER is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2023, 09:27 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Posts: 1,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by DKRITTER View Post
We started out with the Dishy on the ground but I didn't like that because it was easily accessable. A dog could walk by and mark it, a kid on a bike not paying attention could hit it and someone could cut the cable and take off with it. We bought a kit to mount it to a flag pole attached to the ladder on our MH. Like this much better.

Running the cable took a little thought, I brought the cable in where our power cable comes in, this way I could utilize the notch in the floor. Then across the basement to where we have a power source. The white router sits on the basement floor putting out a Wi-Fi signal. We also bought the ethernet adapter and ran a Cat-6 cable to our PepLink. (much better)

As far as storing it, we looked around the house for something, I took the bottom out of the original box to see if it would fit into something. I found a black with the yellow lid tubs (Home Depot/Costco) with the attached double fold lid it was perfect, just moved the formed pieces from the original box, no cutting, easy peasy.

I'm not positive but I think this is the box we used: https://www.homedepot.com/p/HDX-17-G...6151/304822509
You should look into dishypowa and a 12v to 48v adapter. You just cut the starlink cable, wire it to cat6 connection and plug in to dishypowa. It'll let you get rid of that 120v starlink box and run the starlink off ethernet only. This removes the double nat so you don't have 1 router connecting to a 2nd. Saving you 120v power. Also consider putting the peplink on 12V too if not already.
__________________
"Shorty" 2008 Prevost XL2 40ft, Detroit S60, 20K genset,dual 5k Victron Quattros, 20Kw LiPO,1800w solar and just getting started
Captain8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cable



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Starlink RV is now Starlink Roam bokobird Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 10 04-11-2023 02:49 PM
Question - Starlink - Cable & Slide Out pdcruiser Class A Motorhome Discussions 29 03-09-2023 07:25 AM
RV Routing vs. Standard Routing SillyAnn RV LIFE Trip Wizard - Trip Planner Topics 16 04-15-2022 10:02 AM
Television cable and satellite cable routing wagonmaster2 Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 15 05-10-2006 08:33 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.