Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc.
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-24-2022, 07:16 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
arboldt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Portage, MI
Posts: 291
Starlink installation

Just got our Starlink dish and router. Since I ordered it I've been thinking how to install it: 2004 Newmar Mountain Aire gas. When we bought the RV 6 years ago I took out the old CRT TVs, replaced them with LCDs. So now I have cabinet space for the router.
I'm thinking of putting the router in the cabinet behind the bedroom TV. Under that cabinet are shallow cabinets opening to the bedroom, and behind them, a space approx 10" x 29" x 49" high, used for storing 2 folding dining chairs.
I can get wires from the TV area to the chair storage area relatively easily (I think). Then I'd need to drill a hole between the chair storage area and the electrical connection bay immediately under it. From there it'll be easy to run the antenna cable outside the MH..
1) does anyone know how far it is from the inside top of the bay to inside the floor of the Mountain Aire?
2) the cable is hard wired into the antenna dish, and has. 90 degree hard bend ending in a micro USB male plug for the router. For those that have already installed Starlink, What size hole will I need to drill?
3) Finally, for those that have installed Starlink in a MH, does anyone have a better suggestion for installation?
Thanks to all.
__________________
37' 2004 Newmar Mountain Aire gas, 2007 CR-V toad
Full Time since August 2016
arboldt is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-24-2022, 08:15 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Washington
Posts: 1,829
Quote:
Originally Posted by arboldt View Post
2) the cable is hard wired into the antenna dish, and has. 90 degree hard bend ending in a micro USB male plug for the router. For those that have already installed Starlink, What size hole will I need to drill?
3) Finally, for those that have installed Starlink in a MH, does anyone have a better suggestion for installation?
Thanks to all.
I can not help with most of your questions.

For #2, if you have the new square dish the cable is not hardwired to the dish. It is plugged in with the same style of connecter as the router has, just with a different angle. I believe if you use that end to go through your hole it can be smaller than using the router side.

Also it is not a micro USB, it is proprietary plug similar to an HDMI.

Right now I have mine run though the door on my toy hauler garage. I am thinning about running mine tough a roof vent I have in that area that that is not being used. I have a 15' pole I mount to my ladder the the dish is attached to so it is above the RV.
__________________
Boondockers
2014 Volvo 630 Tandem 2016 Chevy 3500 DRW, crew cab
2016 Fuzion 325T, 675ah AGM, MSH 3012 inverter, 1400w Solar
Nwcid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2022, 08:39 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 824
My Starlink router runs very warm all the time and needs really good ventilation.
__________________
Camping and boondocking since 1968
T-Mobile Home Internet
Starlink
Camper25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2022, 07:42 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 438
Running the Starlink cable form the dishy to the modem on any RV is going to be somewhat problematic due the the type of connectors they use.
As Starlink becomes more prevalent, I suspect the aftermarket will develop a variety of devices to make the cable run into the inside of the home/RV/boat a little cleaner.
I will mount my DISHY on a tripod & run the cable either through a slide seal or a window, depending on location.
lemodrop9344 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2022, 08:51 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
docj's Avatar
Official iRV2 Sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 8,207
Quote:
Originally Posted by lemodrop9344 View Post
I will mount my DISHY on a tripod & run the cable either through a slide seal or a window, depending on location.
I have 110V power available in the basement of my MH. My plan would be to plug the router into that outlet and leave it in the basement. The WiFi should penetrate the floor to the main cabin without any problems.
__________________
Joel (AKA docj)--
RV Technology Specialist
docj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2022, 09:13 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
arboldt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Portage, MI
Posts: 291
Quote:
Originally Posted by docj View Post
I have 110V power available in the basement of my MH. My plan would be to plug the router into that outlet and leave it in the basement. The WiFi should penetrate the floor to the main cabin without any problems.

This works great! This is exactly the better solution I was hoping for.
Thanks!
__________________
37' 2004 Newmar Mountain Aire gas, 2007 CR-V toad
Full Time since August 2016
arboldt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2022, 09:29 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2021
Posts: 412
I keep mine in the basement as well. I put a shelf on backside of the cord reel bay back wall (if that makes sense). The unit stays there. I ran an extension cord to a bay with an outlet for power (during set up I just plug it in). For the cord to the dish, I ran it through a pre-existing hole in the cord reel bay wall and keep it coiled up next to the cord reel. When itís deployed, it fits in the same grommet as the 50amp cord.
Mighty_J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2022, 06:53 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
USMCRET's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 3,219
Quote:
Originally Posted by docj View Post
I have 110V power available in the basement of my MH. My plan would be to plug the router into that outlet and leave it in the basement. The WiFi should penetrate the floor to the main cabin without any problems.
The elegance of the obvious, yet overlooked.
__________________
2021 DSDP 4326 Freightliner
2023 Winnebago ERA 70A
2005 KSDP 3910 Spartan
USMCRET is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2022, 08:18 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 4,631
I donít have a basement in my trailer, but there is a storage area up front where the battery cables feed into. I pull the Starlink cable in thru there and the router just tucks in the compartment and I have an extension cord that goes to a nearby outlet.

Lots of people cut the ends off the proprietary cable and use standard Ethernet cables with external jacks. Eventually I may do this for a cleaner installation, but for now this works fine for me. I can stand the dishy on the Starlink stand , or, Iíve made a pole mount that attaches to my power jack.

Starlink works like a champ with open skies. In my home location, kid the north east sky is open itís perfect reception. Right now there are lots of trees at my current site and I get lots of drop outs. Fortunately we have good LTE reception here.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	520FC556-F292-4860-88C9-EEA69A99846B.jpg
Views:	17
Size:	277.0 KB
ID:	372083   Click image for larger version

Name:	D00F5B65-4F3C-4782-A919-9BDE9933BA77.jpg
Views:	14
Size:	573.1 KB
ID:	372084  

Click image for larger version

Name:	98912997-86B2-409A-AB76-6D5664989317.jpg
Views:	14
Size:	260.3 KB
ID:	372085   Click image for larger version

Name:	E5AFBF84-AB56-4828-8AA6-3811C1DE5670.jpg
Views:	15
Size:	76.6 KB
ID:	372086  

jondrew55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
install, installation



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Starlink RV installation and use gsgriffin Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 1154 05-26-2023 04:17 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.