Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc.
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 08-09-2020, 08:02 PM   #1

Traveler SK-1000 want to add Dish to 2011 Class A

Hello, Newbie Here.
We purchased a 2011 Itasca motorhome 3 years ago. Previous owner upgraded satellite to a SK-1000 with Dish antenna with a 3 LNB (maybe Eastern Arc?). They had a Hopper with Sling and a wired Joey but kept them at time of sale. Now, we want to get Dish as we are going full time. We will be mostly west, but will also spend a fair amount of time east.

What should I get?
I would like to get a Hopper 3, and Joey, I think, but when I originally called Dish, they said I would have to use a Wally, single tuner, but I think maybe that isn't right.

The outputs from the satellite controller cabinet to the TVs is RGB, so I was thinking, rather than try to get everything re-wired to HDMI, install a HDMI to RGB converter. Main and bedroom each have HDMI local to the cabinet next to each TV. Bedroom has sat coax as well, so I figure the HDMI is for the Joey. The main tv has no sat coax local to the TV, so I figure that HDMI is for a BlueRay.

We will no longer have a brick and stick house, so I guess we are at Dish's mercy for RV service plans.

Here some info on my "equipment".
Traveler SK-1000 with this LNB

Can anyone tell me which model LNB this is? If it isn't the correct one, how easy/difficult is it to get the correct one? (I can turn a wrench)
AV Switch AVS100HD-01
Samsung DVD/5.1 Surround Receiver combo Model HT-C550XAA