Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc.
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 11-18-2020, 05:42 PM   #1

Smile YAGI to router

Hello!

I am new to my full time RV lifestyle (2 months now), but am not new to technology, computers, wi-fi, etc.

So, my question is how to specifically get the boosted wi-fi signal from the YAGI that is connected to the coax cable on the outside of the trailer, to then connect to my router inside the trailer, which is then connected via wi-fi to my hotspot. The router does not have a coax connector on it, only ethernet. Its a regular home router (Netgear) that was connected to a broadband cable modem in my house.

Now that I am living in my RV, and selling my house, I need to get the YAGI signal to my hotspot inside the trailer (to get past the Faraday Cage effect). I assumed all I had to do was hook up an adapter to the male coax labeled "Antenna" inside the trailer that would then convert the signal to cat5. However, after extensively searching Amazon, there doesn't appear to be such an adapter (unless I totally missed it). IOW, I want to connect to the existing coax port inside the trailer and plug that into the ethernet port on the router. In the house, the cable modem took care of that signal conversion: coax cable in, ethernet cable out to router.