Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > RV Systems & Appliances
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-21-2022, 10:26 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: San Antonio TX
Posts: 322
12v fuse sizes Intellitec

I got bored today so I attempted to label the fuses for the 12v circuits. The Intellitec cover on the fuse panel isn't even close to what matches the actual circuits. The cover has most of the fuses at 20 amps but the actual circuit board that holds the fuses has 15 and 20 as the max for the different circuits. Right now most of the fuses are 20 on the board. Should I go by the cover or change the fuses out to match what the actual circuit board says is the max?


Note: Haven't been having any issues with any fuses blowing.



Jim58
__________________
2005 Fleetwood Bounder 32W (Workhorse)
Retired Air Force
jim58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-21-2022, 10:32 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Eastern outskirts of Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,661
Are you the first owner of the coach? If so, I would be asking the manufacturer why the fuses are over-rated for the markings on the board.

If not, and you don’t know the coach’s history, I would replace everything to be sized as indicated. I wouldn’t want my coach to burn down because “everything is ok”.
If you start blowing 15 amp fuses, time to investigate the problem circuits to determine cause and suitability of that circuit wiring to handle the additional 5 amp load.
__________________
‘91 Ultrastar Champion‘02 Georgie Boy Landau 8.1l Workhorse
‘03 Jeep Wrangler TJ 2018 Jeep Wrangler JK toad
MrMark52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2022, 11:21 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: San Antonio TX
Posts: 322
I'm the second owner. The fuse panel cover and circuit board holding fuses has Intellitec on it. So Fleetwood electrical crew probably just slapped the cover on and used 20A fuses and didn't care to label or fuse the circuits correctly. I will replace the fuses with what is indicated on the circuit board.


Thanks


Jim58
__________________
2005 Fleetwood Bounder 32W (Workhorse)
Retired Air Force
jim58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2022, 12:25 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Eastern outskirts of Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,661
Quote:
Originally Posted by jim58 View Post
I'm the second owner. The fuse panel cover and circuit board holding fuses has Intellitec on it. So Fleetwood electrical crew probably just slapped the cover on and used 20A fuses and didn't care to label or fuse the circuits correctly. I will replace the fuses with what is indicated on the circuit board.


Thanks


Jim58
I doubt that Fleetwood touched the fuses and IntelliTec (as do virtually all manufacturers) usually ship panels that have fuses complete with the properly sized fuse for the circuit it is designed to protect.

If Fleetwood used oversized fuses then I would expect that they would have documented the change in the coach manual as well as labeling on the panel.

Your the 2nd owner - my bet is on the 1st owner not understanding what he was getting himself into or only had access to a pack of 20 amp fuses.

Neither was a smart decision to make without understanding the ramifications of such - electrical problems are not solved by changing to a larger fuse or breaker.

Kudo’s to you - Your doing the right thing!
__________________
‘91 Ultrastar Champion‘02 Georgie Boy Landau 8.1l Workhorse
‘03 Jeep Wrangler TJ 2018 Jeep Wrangler JK toad
MrMark52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
12v, fuse, intellitec



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fuse sizes jimq114 Travel Trailer Discussion 3 07-20-2021 05:47 PM
Adding 12V Fuses/Circuits to Intellitec Controller rwilliams311 Class A Motorhome Discussions 2 08-09-2015 08:04 AM
Intellitec diagram. What does this fuse go to? jones101 Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum 20 08-07-2015 05:54 PM
12V Power Supply for 12V Systems JJH3rd Class A Motorhome Discussions 22 08-15-2014 08:56 PM
Loss of 12v power to radio, 12v plugs, etc redeldo Monaco Owner's Forum 9 05-21-2008 04:34 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.