Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > RV Systems & Appliances
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-23-2014, 03:12 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
TexasTwoStep's Avatar
 
Excel Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Beaumont, TX
Posts: 957
30 amp configuration on 50 amp circuit panel

Someone help me figure this out. I've got a 50 amp rig and have a 30 amp service. I use an adapter to reduce down from 50 to 30 amps. A 50 amp plug has 2 hot wires and 30 amp has 1, right? Are both legs of the 50 amp panel made hot (with 30 amps each) as opposed to all the 30 amp features being on the same leg?
__________________
GARY
2022 Duramax LTZ 3500 4x4 drw//2021 Van Leigh Beacon 34RLB//Magnum MS 2012 inverter/charger/4- T105's/Trimetric/Tristar//B&W 3000//TST tire monitor
TexasTwoStep is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 12-23-2014, 03:23 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Old Scout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 6,938
Essential 30 amps shared on two legs--a 50 amp plug has 4 prongs [2-120VAC hot legs, a ground and a neutral]. A 30 amp RV plug has 3 prongs [1 hot leg, a ground and a neutral]. When you use a 30 to 50 amp "dogbone", the dogbone splits the one 30 amp hot leg coming in and divides it onto the two 50 amp hot legs going out. Using the 30/50 amp dogbone, you only get 30 amps to share on your two 50 amp legs in the coach.
__________________
Old Scout
2015 IH45 Foretravel
2003 Alpine 40' MDTS [Sold]
New Braunfels, Texas
Old Scout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2014, 03:25 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Rocky Larson's Avatar
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 849
I think it is better said that both legs are hot with 30 amps total, not 30 amps each. That is what the adapter is rated for, not 60 amps.
You can't increase the 30 amp service with an adapter.
So no, all of the 30 amp features are not on the one leg.
__________________
Jan and Rocky
Volunteers USFWS. 9,300 hrs each, 29 refuges. 04 Allegro 30DA, WH 8.1, Banks, 2012 Jeep Liberty , Brake Buddy Adv Select, 300watts Solar, "Philippians 4:11-13 KJV"
Rocky Larson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2014, 03:46 PM   #4
Community Administrator
 
Lt Dan's Avatar


 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: DFW, Texas
Posts: 14,940
Actually, you need to make sure the "dogbone" you purchase has a crossover to power both legs. Some of the commercially available adapters only power one side of the two legs of the 50 amp panel. I purchased one that only had power to one side. It's easy to check using an ohmmeter. You should have almost zero resistance between the hot lead on the 30 amp plug and BOTH hot legs on the 50 amp socket.

I wound up making my own adapter with a 50 amp female socket, a piece of 10 gauge wire and a 30 amp male plug. In the 50 amp female socket, you just install a jumper between the two "hot" legs. The other posts are correct in that you only get 30 amps total to share between the two circuits, where with 50 amp service you have 50 amps to each side for 100 amps total.
__________________
2017 Phaeton 40IH XSH Maroon Coral - Power Glide Chassis with IFS
Previously '15 Tiffin Allegro RED 38QRA and '06 Itasca Sunrise 35A
'16 Jeep JKU Wrangler Sahara or '08 Honda Goldwing
Lt Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2014, 06:04 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 24,023
When you plug a 50 amp rig into a 30 amp outlet using an adapter the two hot pins are simply jumpered together... They SHARE the 30 amps.

Likewise when you plug a 30 amp rig into 50 amps, one lead is not connected.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2014, 06:09 PM   #6
YC1
Senior Member
 
YC1's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: FL
Posts: 10,465
Is this 30 amp outlet already checked out to make sure it is not actually a 220 volt outlet? Others have answered your question but warning lights are going off in my head.
__________________
Myron & Deborah
08 HR Endeavor 40 SKQ
400 Isl, 400 HP/// Now 450 HP
2016 Ford F150 Limited V6 with Ready Brake
YC1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2014, 05:23 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
TexasTwoStep's Avatar
 
Excel Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Beaumont, TX
Posts: 957
Quote:
Originally Posted by YC1 View Post
Is this 30 amp outlet already checked out to make sure it is not actually a 220 volt outlet? Others have answered your question but warning lights are going off in my head.
Actually a friend asked me this and I got confused. He is wanting to plug his 50 amp plug via the 30 adapter into the outgoing side of his MS2000w inverter when off shore power and asked me if I thought it would work similar to being on 30 watt shore power.

Thanks for the responses.
__________________
GARY
2022 Duramax LTZ 3500 4x4 drw//2021 Van Leigh Beacon 34RLB//Magnum MS 2012 inverter/charger/4- T105's/Trimetric/Tristar//B&W 3000//TST tire monitor
TexasTwoStep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2014, 06:23 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Wizard's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Home on the hill in Georgia
Posts: 2,719
Quote:
Originally Posted by YC1 View Post
Is this 30 amp outlet already checked out to make sure it is not actually a 220 volt outlet? Others have answered your question but warning lights are going off in my head.
30 amp RV is always 1-hot, 1-Neutral and 1-ground and always 120 volt. No way to get 220volt with 1 hot wire.
__________________
Jerry & Patsy Potter, Taz & Jake Jr.
2000 Winnebago Journey
2006 Ford Explorer 4X4
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Wizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2014, 08:00 AM   #9
YC1
Senior Member
 
YC1's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: FL
Posts: 10,465
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wizard View Post
30 amp RV is always 1-hot, 1-Neutral and 1-ground and always 120 volt. No way to get 220volt with 1 hot wire.

THAT is my point. If the op has a unknown "30 amp" outlet that has not been checked to see that it is an RV outlet he may be in for some serious problems. Too many people have found that out the hard way.
__________________
Myron & Deborah
08 HR Endeavor 40 SKQ
400 Isl, 400 HP/// Now 450 HP
2016 Ford F150 Limited V6 with Ready Brake
YC1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2014, 08:03 AM   #10
YC1
Senior Member
 
YC1's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: FL
Posts: 10,465
Gary, plugging your own shoreline into your inverter is possible but remember you are now powering your charger and would need to open the breaker that feeds that line. Seems a bit strange to want to do this but I can see a case where you might want outlets that are not run by the inverter to be powered.


Hope this is clearer than mud.
__________________
Myron & Deborah
08 HR Endeavor 40 SKQ
400 Isl, 400 HP/// Now 450 HP
2016 Ford F150 Limited V6 with Ready Brake
YC1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
panel



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
30 amp service really 20 amp dvmweb iRV2.com General Discussion 18 09-05-2014 11:29 AM
50 amp vs 30 amp algie1100 Class A Motorhome Discussions 13 07-01-2014 06:32 AM
Inside appliance outlet question kamu Travel Trailer Discussion 21 05-12-2014 10:31 PM
Bounder: Fuse panel location? rgreen45 Fleetwood Owner's Forum 5 10-28-2013 05:37 AM
Heart Freedom 458 inverter excessive idle amp draw jm80129 RV Systems & Appliances 9 06-10-2013 03:45 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.