Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > RV Systems & Appliances
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-05-2021, 01:31 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Location: Douglasville, GA
Posts: 6
50 amp extension cords

Does or has anyone used a 50 amp extension cord that is 100 long? Im putting in a 50 amp circuit in my barn for my 2021 Palazzo 33.5 and will need about that length to reach the cord from the coach or could I have one 50 and one 30 cord or would there be any real difference with either setup? Thanks.
tconstien is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 03-05-2021, 02:48 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 26,835
If your only need power for storage, that will work.

If your planning on living in it and having everything on, it may cause some voltage drop. Put your surge guard on the far end of the 100 foot cord. That way, it will shut you down, it drawing to much.

If its in the barn, the voltage drop is not sensed by it.
twinboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2021, 02:51 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
2cyber71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 557
I bought a 30ft one at Camping World.
Works great when I need it
__________________
2020 Winnebago Horizon 42Q
Maxum Chassis, 450 ISL
99 Storm 30H, 04 Southwind 32 VS, 07 Ellipse 40FD
2cyber71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2021, 03:20 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Old Scout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 6,580
When parked at the barn--50 amp extension[s] are OK....while camping--they are too big, too heavy, and too expensive...that is, until you are 5ft short of the pedestal....In the barn -- recommend you add/move the 50 amp plug-in or make up a 50 amp extension with 6-3/G cable and add a female plug....less $$$$ than a cord.
__________________
Old Scout
2003 Alpine 40' MDTS
New Braunfels, Texas
Old Scout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2021, 04:23 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Location: Douglasville, GA
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by twinboat View Post
If your only need power for storage, that will work.

If your planning on living in it and having everything on, it may cause some voltage drop. Put your surge guard on the far end of the 100 foot cord. That way, it will shut you down, it drawing to much.

If its in the barn, the voltage drop is not sensed by it.


The coach is not in the barn I can only get it about a little more than 100 from the barn. I have a hardwired surge guard so should be good there. Thx!
tconstien is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2021, 04:25 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Location: Douglasville, GA
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Old Scout View Post
When parked at the barn--50 amp extension[s] are OK....while camping--they are too big, too heavy, and too expensive...that is, until you are 5ft short of the pedestal....In the barn -- recommend you add/move the 50 amp plug-in or make up a 50 amp extension with 6-3/G cable and add a female plug....less $$$$ than a cord.


Yes I wouldnt take the 100 with me. Thx for the idea.
tconstien is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2021, 05:52 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 26,835
Quote:
Originally Posted by tconstien View Post
The coach is not in the barn I can only get it about a little more than 100 from the barn. I have a hardwired surge guard so should be good there. Thx!
I meant having the surge guard in the barn at the outlet. They only read behind themselves.
Onboard one is fine.
twinboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2021, 06:08 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
jacwjames's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 8,302
I have a 30ft cord with the marine type end that I use with my coach. I also carry a 40' 50 amp cord and use it as needed.



I just built a garage and for a temporary solution to get power into it prior to building the garage I buried conduit from my RV pedestal the garage. Then after the concrete was poured I pulled a 50' extension cord through it and used it while I waited for the garage to be delivered and erected. I then used it while I got ready to run power into the garage from the pedestal, which I'm doing now. I did not see any significant voltage drop from my pedestal which was wired using 6 awg direct bury cable ~100 ft.

I actually bought a 50 amp cord normally used on a reel, it had the male plug on it but one end was just cut. I bought an end that I installed after I pulled it through the conduit. It worked great and this cord is much more flexible then my other cords so I may end up putting a marine type connector on it and using it as my primary. My old cord is original which means it's ~20 years old and has seen it's better days.
__________________
Jim J
2002 Monaco Windsor 38 PKD Cummins ISC 350 8.3L
2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee w/5.7 Hemi
jacwjames is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2021, 09:24 AM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Location: Douglasville, GA
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by jacwjames View Post
I have a 30ft cord with the marine type end that I use with my coach. I also carry a 40' 50 amp cord and use it as needed.



I just built a garage and for a temporary solution to get power into it prior to building the garage I buried conduit from my RV pedestal the garage. Then after the concrete was poured I pulled a 50' extension cord through it and used it while I waited for the garage to be delivered and erected. I then used it while I got ready to run power into the garage from the pedestal, which I'm doing now. I did not see any significant voltage drop from my pedestal which was wired using 6 awg direct bury cable ~100 ft.

I actually bought a 50 amp cord normally used on a reel, it had the male plug on it but one end was just cut. I bought an end that I installed after I pulled it through the conduit. It worked great and this cord is much more flexible then my other cords so I may end up putting a marine type connector on it and using it as my primary. My old cord is original which means it's ~20 years old and has seen it's better days.


Nice. I will have plugs installed in our new place where the mh will be parked inside. Right now I am not looking to go to a lot of expense for the current situation. Im thinking I should be fine using an additional 50 and 30 extension cord to get to the plug on the outside of the barn closest to where the mh can be parked.
tconstien is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2021, 09:56 AM   #10
Senior Member/RVM #90
 
MSHappyCampers's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Columbus, MS
Posts: 45,867
I would run underground Romex cable to the barn! You don't have to bury it but it needs to be weatherproof.
__________________
Joe & Annette
Sometimes I sits and thinks, sometimes I just sits.....
2002 Monaco Windsor 40PBT, 2013 Honda CRV AWD
MSHappyCampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2021, 03:58 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Swoope, VA
Posts: 282
Quote:
Originally Posted by MSHappyCampers View Post
I would run underground Romex cable to the barn! You don't have to bury it but it needs to be weatherproof.
There's no such thing as underground Romex. Romex is a brand name commonly used to designate all brands of non-metallic sheathed cable. Non-Metallic sheathed cable can not be installed underground; not even inside of conduit. The inside of underground conduit is considered a wet location and non-metallic sheathed cable is not designed for installation in a wet location.
To direct bury a cable you would use UF (Underground Feeder) cable. An even better solution is PVC conduit with individual THHN conductors pulled thru it.
OP, Do you know how heavy and expensive a 100' 50 amp cord is? It would likely be cheaper to dig a ditch, install conduit and THHN, and plant a pedestal beside the RV. That's what I would do. Throw a water line in the ditch while you're at it and you've got yourself an RV pad.
__________________
2005 Chevy CC Dually D/A, 2009 2500 Suburban, 2004 Rinker Captiva 232 boat
KD4UPL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2021, 10:31 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Isaac-1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: SW Louisiana
Posts: 5,831
The big question here is do you need 50 amps while the coach is in storage, or would a 30 amp hookup do? 30 amp cords are much lighter and cheaper than 50 amp cords.
__________________
2002 Safari Trek 2830 on P32 Chassis with 8.1L w/ 400 watts solar
2017 Jeep Cherokee Overland TOAD with Even Brake,
Demco Commander tow bar and Blue Ox base plate
Isaac-1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2021, 05:30 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 782
50 amp extension cords

Southwire 19190008 6/3 & 8/1 SEOW 50 Amp, 125/250-Volt Outdoor Extension Cord CA-Style CS63 Twist-Lock, Custom Blended Jacket, Extra Hard Usage Cord, 100-Feet, 100-Foot, Black
by Toolup
Learn more: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0002899ZC

You will need to replace the ends.

Paul
__________________
Paul Whittle
2005 Monaco Signature 45'
525 HP/1850 Ft Lb ISX-15/6-Speed Allison 4000
pwhittle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2021, 08:49 AM   #14
Community Moderator
 
Spdracr39's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Central, Arkansas
Posts: 8,378
50 amp extension cords

Underground UF is the way to go. Soow cable is not supposed to be run in conduit and is susceptible to water intrusion if the conduit gets flooded. The UF can be used with or without conduit.
__________________
2004 Beaver Monterey Laguna IV
Cummins ISC 350HP Allison 3000 6 speed
2020 Chevy Equinox Premier 2.0t 9 speed AWD
https://enjoying-life.net
Spdracr39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cheap 50 amp extension cords Ron Postma Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 4 11-04-2018 12:13 AM
50 amp Extension Cord made by Leisure Cords - Reviews?? For The Dogs iRV2.com General Discussion 7 07-14-2017 05:43 PM
Quality of 50 AMP Extension Cords StuartS RV Systems & Appliances 6 11-23-2016 08:15 PM
Extension cords Briansi52 iRV2.com General Discussion 14 03-04-2015 07:33 AM
Extension cords Cubey RV Systems & Appliances 25 06-04-2013 07:50 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.