Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > RV Systems & Appliances
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-05-2010, 11:04 PM   #1
Member
 
SwampTrash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: SW Louisiana
Posts: 42
50amp to 30amp to 50amp

Question: RV is 50amp, I have two 30amp rv extension cords from previous rv. If I need the length, can I plug one of the 30amp extension cords to my 50amp power cord, then use an 30 to50 adapter to plug in to the 50amp power outlet?
__________________
Vickie & Ronnie
2014 Newmar Canyon Star 3911
SwampTrash is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-06-2010, 04:29 AM   #2
Community Moderator
 
RV Wizard's Avatar


 
Country Coach Owners Club
Appalachian Campers
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Chattanooga, Tn.
Posts: 12,061
You can but you will not be protecting the 30 amp power cord properly due to a 50 amp over current protection device. You will be allowed to pull 50 amps (25 amps on each leg) of the coach. This is 1/2 of your normal 50 amp service the coach is desired for. I do not recommend you do this unless you have to and keep wattage usage down to less than 5000 watts.
__________________
Mike, RVIA & RVSA Certified Master RV Technician
Amy, Dr. Assistant - Roxie & Mei Ling, four legs each
2000 Gulf Stream Scenic Cruiser 450 hp & 1330# torque
06 Saturn Vue, 06 Chevy Z71 4x4 & 2014 Corvette Z51 M7
RV Wizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2010, 08:11 PM   #3
Member
 
SwampTrash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: SW Louisiana
Posts: 42
Okay, thanks Mike. I've used the 30amp extension cord and plugged into a 30amp plug, but thought, in case the situation ever occurred where there wasn't a working 30amp plug would this work. Now I know, not to do that. Situations tend to pop in my mind and I'd rather ask than do something and be sorry.
Vickie
__________________
Vickie & Ronnie
2014 Newmar Canyon Star 3911
SwampTrash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2010, 06:32 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 24,023
Quote:
Originally Posted by SwampTrash View Post
Question: RV is 50amp, I have two 30amp rv extension cords from previous rv. If I need the length, can I plug one of the 30amp extension cords to my 50amp power cord, then use an 30 to50 adapter to plug in to the 50amp power outlet?
I do not recommend it, here is why.

A 30 amp cord can carry 50 amps,, for long enough to catch fire

(The cord should never be smaller than the breaker feedign it)

I have, however, done it.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2010, 08:23 AM   #5
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 24,539
Just to be clear, you would not be getting full 50A service through that set-up, regardless of the 50A outlet. Once the 30A-->50A dogbone adapter is in place, you have only one hot lead servicing the two legs of your RV's shore power system. However, it is being fed by a single 50A circuit, which is why the others caution against it. However, if your coach has an energy management system, it will be limiting you to a max of 30A power draw anyway in this situation, so you can never actually exceed the rated capacity of the 30A extension. I've done exactly what you describe on a couple of occasions, knowing that my Intellitec EMS protects me against an accidental overload.
__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition and several other RVs
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
30amp to 50amp? poorfarmer RV Systems & Appliances 6 10-14-2009 06:52 PM
50amp to 30amp Jimmy Jam Pop Up, Tent Trailer and Teardrop Topics 4 05-25-2009 02:33 PM
30amp or 50amp?? Greybeard Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 12 07-15-2008 08:57 AM
30amp to 50amp adapter Logthumper Gear and Product Discussions 5 02-21-2008 03:05 PM
Is 50amp better than 30amp? Tom from Tucson RV Systems & Appliances 13 10-21-2006 02:58 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.