RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > RV Systems & Appliances
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-21-2020, 04:23 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Posts: 5
A/C and outlets work on shore power but generator only powers A/C and not outlets

A/C and outlets work on shore power but when switched/ plugged in to the generator it only powers A/C and not outlets. 2000 Gulf stream with Generac prime impact 5500. Its not fuses (as far as I can tell and not GFCI's)everything is fine plugged in to shore but ONLY A/C works thru gen power...Im confused and so are my master electrician and my Journeyman electrician friends ....? transfer switch???
jaay101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-21-2020, 04:27 PM   #2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 26
Is your trailer 50 amp? If so, one leg might be for outlets and the other for your a/c. If plugged into a 30 amp generator itís probably only powering one leg.
SacRV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2020, 04:32 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Traveling
Posts: 286
Check the circuit breakers on your generator, you should have two. It's possible one covers your outlets and it has tripped while the other one is still okay.
__________________
-Dave
2003 Country Coach Allure First Avenue 36; 2012 Honda CR-V
DJ55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2020, 04:38 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: payson, az
Posts: 712
5500 generator implies 50 amp service. this had two hot leads that supply power. the a/c could be on one leg and the receptacles on the other. if there was a failure on the leg that supplies the receptacles you would have the systems you describe.

first thing to do is trip and reset the circuit breakers on the generator and see if this resets the failing supply circuit. many times it is nothing more than this.

do you have an automatic transfer switch. if yes check that the power connections are all clean and tight. if no you must be plugging the shore power cord into a receptacle that is fed by the generator. it's possible you have a loose cable within this receptacle.

use of a voltmeter will allow you to track the power and see where it disappears.
bigchick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2020, 04:53 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 24,738
Its a portable generator, how are you plugging it in ?

If you have a 50 amp service and you want to use all of its power, you need to use the 30 amp twist lock outlet with an adaptor to a 50 amp outlet.Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture%2B_2020-11-21-17-49-44.jpeg
Views:	3
Size:	54.5 KB
ID:	308822
twinboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2020, 05:55 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 3,231
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ55 View Post
Check the circuit breakers on your generator, you should have two. It's possible one covers your outlets and it has tripped while the other one is still okay.
this.
rk911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2020, 06:57 PM   #7
YC1
Senior Member
 
YC1's Avatar


 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 8,198
Start at the transfer switch or the AC panel. You should see two 110 circuits coming into the breaker panel.

Transfer switches get abused and changing loads with AC's running is really hard on contacts.
__________________
Myron & Deborah
08 HR Endeavor 40 SKQ
2016 Ford F150 Limited V6 with Ready Brake
Aluminator tow bar, Demco base plate
YC1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2020, 08:57 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Piros1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Dittmer, MO 63023
Posts: 660
Jaay101 you didn’t comment on how you are connected to the generator but as best I can figure you should have a 30 amp twist lock 220 volt receptacle that in theory us capable of 2-30 amp circuits but are fused at 25 amps per circuit. Not sure what you are running in your RV but tat should run most of your equipment. You didn’t mention if you are kicking the generator circuit breakers? My thinking is your equipment works under shore power so obviously you have either a problem with your generator’s output or the cord connected to your generator adapting to your RV cord is not properly wired? You did not mention if you checked the voltage output of the generator at both circuits? I think it is going to take more info to help.
__________________
2005 CC Affinity 770, 2006 Jeep TJ
2015 Newmar Essex 4553
Piros1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2020, 05:28 AM   #9
YC1
Senior Member
 
YC1's Avatar


 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 8,198
Quote:
Originally Posted by YC1 View Post
Start at the transfer switch or the AC panel. You should see two 110 circuits coming into the breaker panel.

Transfer switches get abused and changing loads with AC's running is really hard on contacts.

Silly me. Didn't come to my brain that it was an external generator. After reading the threads the lights came on.


The measurement at the breaker panel is still viable.
__________________
Myron & Deborah
08 HR Endeavor 40 SKQ
2016 Ford F150 Limited V6 with Ready Brake
Aluminator tow bar, Demco base plate
YC1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2020, 11:04 AM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Posts: 5
Pics and more info on outlet issue

hey all, THANKS! So heres a bit more info. Its a 30amp set up but with a 50amp gen. (built in). Gen. breakers are NOT kicking out when engaged. Does have auto transfer switch ( I believe). And btw the cord for shore power is 3 prong and hard wired. Question...As someone mentioned ; is it poss. that one of the curcit breakers on the gen. is bad and not only not kicking but also not sending?
jaay101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2020, 11:17 AM   #11
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Posts: 5
2nd part of last reply..pics not working yet

Only wondering because I did have on trip once when turning that dial (see pic) from front a/c to rear a/c. And I also had to switch out the 15amp fuse holder on it when I bought it. NOTE. When I bought this rig ( 5monthes ago, the gen only had 32 hrs or use since 2000 so I pulled it out cleaned all the contacts and removed all the mice nests. I starts and runs like a dream now...but anyways thanks for all the ideas. I will be looking and trying to figure it more soon but heres some more info and a few pics of the system
jaay101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2020, 11:21 AM   #12
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Posts: 5
trying to send pics

pics of system
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	thumbnail_PXL_20201121_212738598.jpg
Views:	3
Size:	362.3 KB
ID:	308924   Click image for larger version

Name:	thumbnail_PXL_20201122_161343774.jpg
Views:	3
Size:	353.5 KB
ID:	308925  

Click image for larger version

Name:	thumbnail_PXL_20201121_212716832.jpg
Views:	3
Size:	239.9 KB
ID:	308926   Click image for larger version

Name:	thumbnail_PXL_20201121_212750478.jpg
Views:	3
Size:	293.7 KB
ID:	308927  

jaay101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2020, 11:24 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 24,738
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaay101 View Post
Only wondering because I did have on trip once when turning that dial (see pic) from front a/c to rear a/c. And I also had to switch out the 15amp fuse holder on it when I bought it. NOTE. When I bought this rig ( 5monthes ago, the gen only had 32 hrs or use since 2000 so I pulled it out cleaned all the contacts and removed all the mice nests. I starts and runs like a dream now...but anyways thanks for all the ideas. I will be looking and trying to figure it more soon but heres some more info and a few pics of the system
So its not a Generac Prime impact ?
twinboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2020, 11:28 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 24,738
The 30 amp generator breaker runs the RV and one AC, which ever you select.

The 20 amp breaker runs the second AC only.

Open the ATS and probe, carefully, for 120 volts A/C from the generator.
twinboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
generator, power, shore power



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power issues, no shore power, no generator power. Only some when engine running Goebs Fleetwood Owner's Forum 13 03-25-2020 08:06 AM
Bathroom outlets only work with shore power or gen Barmats Entegra Owner's Forum 2 08-11-2016 09:12 PM
RV outlets work on generator, but not shore power vegasdingo Class A Motorhome Discussions 12 02-20-2014 02:16 PM
Is there a wire near backup camera live only when engine powers up CountryFit Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 10 08-18-2013 07:21 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.