Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > RV Systems & Appliances
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 03-29-2012, 05:28 PM   #1

AC Compressor not coming on

Hi. I have searched all over this and other forums and have not yet come across the same problem I am having and I hope someone can clue me in to what to check next.
I am quite handy and prefer to do all of my own repairs if I can but I am new to RVs, so I need to learn a lot.
What I have- '98 Fleetwood Storm 34', 454, P30, 2 Coleman roof mount ducted ACs (not sure of model) with the Intellitec EEC. This rig sat for 3 years before we purchased it.
My problem-My front AC works perfectly fine (after I lubed the fan shaft). The rear used to work fine- when turned on the EEC control panel would alternate green and red SHED lights for 2 mins then compressor would kick in and only display green light. Now, no matter what position the control is in (low cool, high cool, auto cool) only the green light comes on and the compressor never kicks in.
What I have done-I have replaced both the start and run capacitors, verified the thermal overload switch is closed and wiggled the slider on the thermostat. The unit shows no sign of leaked refrigerant. There is no hum, extra noise, heat or cold- the compressor never does anything.