Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > RV Systems & Appliances
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-12-2013, 02:35 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
IMDSailor's Avatar
 
Thor Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 871
Adding a remote tank sensor monitor.

Hi gang, I'm trying to add a second tank monitor in my wet bay, since that where all the action takes place. I have a KIB monitor in the coach and purchased a smaller unit for the wet bay. I thought I had everything hooked up correctly, but now I'm getting false readings from all the tanks at both sensors.
I thought it would be as simple as just taping into the existing wiring. It seems I'm missing something. I did the trouble shooting I found online from KIB but there was no change, everything reads full, which I know for fact is incorrect.
Any ideas?
Thanks,
Stewart
__________________
Stewart & Kim. 2011 Serrano 31V, MaxForce 7 w/ Allison 6 Sp. Fiat 500 Sport Diesel Pusher.
Surge Guard 3450, TST 510, Sliverleaf VMSpc, RVND 7710. Blue Ox Tow. 2010 Arctic Cat 700 TRV.
Someday your life may flash before your eyes. Make sure it's worth watching.
IMDSailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-12-2013, 02:38 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
BobGed's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Merritt, BC
Posts: 3,455
Are you sure you have a good ground connection?
__________________
Bob, Sherron & Kinsey (2013-2022)
2017 Tiffin Phaeton 40QBH
2014 Jeep Cherokee Limited
BobGed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2013, 03:59 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
IMDSailor's Avatar
 
Thor Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 871
Quote:
Originally Posted by BobGed View Post
Are you sure you have a good ground connection?
I attached the ground twice. Once to the tank common ground and had the problem I described above. I then disconnected from the common ground and ran directly to the chassis, same problem.
I tested the monitor before going ahead with the install by disconnecting the monitor inside the coach and hooking into its wiring harness. It worked.
I'm wondering if it doesn't have something to do with supplying power to both switches.
One other thing I don't understand is what is filtered power. The power supply calls for 1 Amp of Filtered power. Does that mean I have to get 12V power directly from the power dist. center and not from a random 12V wire?
__________________
Stewart & Kim. 2011 Serrano 31V, MaxForce 7 w/ Allison 6 Sp. Fiat 500 Sport Diesel Pusher.
Surge Guard 3450, TST 510, Sliverleaf VMSpc, RVND 7710. Blue Ox Tow. 2010 Arctic Cat 700 TRV.
Someday your life may flash before your eyes. Make sure it's worth watching.
IMDSailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2013, 02:13 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
IMDSailor's Avatar
 
Thor Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 871
Called KIB this morning, turns out I need a one way diode on each of the tank sensor wires. Without the diodes, the power from both monitors affects the readings. The diodes will isolate the power from each monitor from each other.
Thats the good news, the better news is that it's only 4 bucks a diode. The bad news is that UPS, the company who's tag line should be BOCHICA, charges $25.00 to ship them, they weigh mere ounces. Be interesting to see what they falsely charge for "Dutys", seems they never heard of NAFTA. But I digress.
__________________
Stewart & Kim. 2011 Serrano 31V, MaxForce 7 w/ Allison 6 Sp. Fiat 500 Sport Diesel Pusher.
Surge Guard 3450, TST 510, Sliverleaf VMSpc, RVND 7710. Blue Ox Tow. 2010 Arctic Cat 700 TRV.
Someday your life may flash before your eyes. Make sure it's worth watching.
IMDSailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2013, 05:32 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
IMDSailor's Avatar
 
Thor Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 871
The diodes they sent are working like a charm. It will be nice to not have to keep going into the rig to check the levels.
Happy Glamper.
__________________
Stewart & Kim. 2011 Serrano 31V, MaxForce 7 w/ Allison 6 Sp. Fiat 500 Sport Diesel Pusher.
Surge Guard 3450, TST 510, Sliverleaf VMSpc, RVND 7710. Blue Ox Tow. 2010 Arctic Cat 700 TRV.
Someday your life may flash before your eyes. Make sure it's worth watching.
IMDSailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.