Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > RV Systems & Appliances
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 12-05-2019, 04:27 PM   #1

Charging AGM house battery with '81 Chevy alternator

This may have been asked and answered before but I can't find a scenario close to what I need. I'm new to the RV world.

I have an '81 Chevy (Mobile Traveler). I just bought it. I tested the existing house battery and it's dead as a door nail. I'm going to buy a 12v Renogy AGM 100 Ah battery as a replacement. (Is this a good battery?)

My question is this. It appears that when the engine is running, the house battery is receiving voltage from the alternator. Is this okay for an AGM? Is there something in line that would protect the AGM and how do I identify it? Would I need to do an amp test on the new battery to see what the amps are? And if so, what level am I looking for? And lastly, If I do need some sort of protection device, what would you recommend?

I know that's a lot of questions but they all pertain to the main question. Answer all if possible, please.

Thanks!
SiriusGD is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!