RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > RV Systems & Appliances
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-21-2016, 11:12 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
RVThere's Avatar
 
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Florida Keys
Posts: 2,584
Coleman-Mach Basement AC - Where to recharge?

So by using some of the info on this great forum and my own examination, I was able to get the side sheet metal panel off of my basement air unit without disconnecting from the air plenum elbow or pulling the unit out.

Now I have full access to the two compressors but can't find any port to recharge the AC. Can anyone help give me some direction?

Unit is a Coleman-Mach 6538-871

View of the tops of compressors:



View of unit from outside:
__________________
Tom and Katharine
'07 Winnebago Tour 40TD, 400hp Cummins
'17 Winnebago View 24V, '02 R-Vision B+
RVing for 20 years & 200,000+ miles
RVThere is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-21-2016, 04:31 PM   #2
Community Moderator
 
Lt Dan's Avatar


 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: DFW, Texas
Posts: 8,245
Great job getting this far, but as far as I know there is no charging port in the refrigerant lines. They are a sealed system, just like the roof units. You can use an add on port that will pierce the tubing, but that may be just asking for leaks. A service tech could probably cut the line an solder in a port, but that's pretty complicated.
__________________
2017 Phaeton 40IH XSH Maroon Coral - Power Glide Chassis with IFS
Previously '15 Tiffin Allegro RED 38QRA and '06 Itasca Sunrise 35A
'16 Jeep JKU Wrangler Sahara or '08 Honda Goldwing
Lt Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2016, 05:25 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Fred and Bonnie's Avatar
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Pacific Northwest or SoCal
Posts: 3,021
Send a message via ICQ to Fred and Bonnie
Agree with Lt Dan, I believe your best bet would be to contact a residential HVAC company, they have the experience.

Fred
__________________
Fred and Bonnie
2005 Dolphin LX 6375
Abby, Ruffles & Scarlett, "The Cats"
Fred and Bonnie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2016, 06:41 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
RVThere's Avatar
 
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Florida Keys
Posts: 2,584
Update - FIXED!

Fred and Lt Dan - Thanks for your input, totally agree.

Once I got the panel off, I could confirm that Compressor #2 was not running. When the circuit board would call for #2 to start, it seemed like the whole system slowed down but would recover without Compressor #2 starting. I first checked the start capacitor and it was fine. Same with the run capacitor.

There is also a red LED on the circuit board that indicates when the board is calling for Compressor #2 to run. It illuminates a few minutes after the AC turns on if the temp is set low enough. Red LED was on.

I studied the schematic on the electrical access panel and did a little more research. Compressor #2 runs through the Intellitec system which shuts down the 12 volts to the power relay if its managing only 30 amps of coach input power.

So I checked the relays for #1 and #2 compressors. #1 was getting high voltage fine but no power was being passed through the relay to #2 compressor.

Next I checked the 12 volt signal going to the relay via the Intellitec and it was dead. Using my PowerProbe (if you don't have one of these tools, BUY ONE!), I applied 12 volts to the relay and BINGO, Compressor 2 started!

Since we'll be plugged into 50 amps or running the genset, I pulled out the wire (white with black stripe) going to the Intellitec and plugged the orange wire from the relay directly to the circuit board. I'll mess with the Intellitec when I have time.

Ran the AC for a few hours and the air was much colder coming out of the roof vents.

We'll be doing a NJ to CA to NM to TX to MS to FL Keys trip in two weeks. I was very concerned that we'd be sweltering in the coach while driving through the desert. For now, we're cool!
__________________
Tom and Katharine
'07 Winnebago Tour 40TD, 400hp Cummins
'17 Winnebago View 24V, '02 R-Vision B+
RVing for 20 years & 200,000+ miles
RVThere is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Coleman mach basement ac/heat not working ourjourney MH-General Discussions & Problems 2 02-07-2016 04:28 PM
Coleman Mach basement air conditioner tbomn Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 11 12-16-2015 10:24 AM
coleman Mach Basement heat pump parts jmponde RV Systems & Appliances 1 07-29-2012 12:35 PM
Coleman Mach Basement Heat Pump kdfisher MH-General Discussions & Problems 4 04-29-2011 05:50 PM
Rusty Heat Strip In Coleman Mach 3--Any Solutions? Andy Anderson RV Systems & Appliances 2 07-07-2005 08:48 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.