Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > RV Systems & Appliances
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 05-14-2013, 06:18 PM   #1

converters and/or inverters and/or solar?

Hi - new member, future full-timer, doing mad research trying to get my ducks in a row. I've read some great guides out there but I am still confused about the relationship between:

converters
inverters
solar panels

Probably because I'm a noob, but have read a lengthy power guide (3 times) and the implication I got was that if you get an inverter with a 3 step charger you wouldn't use a converter. The guide continued saying solar panels worked with converters. I'm hoping that's not the case and he was just assuming a non-complete noob reading it?

I want to use an inverter and solar panels (only generators as needed), can I do that?

Side question, the article also said you can't run AC with an inverter so does a fantastic fan work sufficiently for boondocking, or what do people do?

Thanks in advance!
kyrv is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!