Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > RV Systems & Appliances
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-19-2021, 05:52 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 2
Duo therm Dometic / Penguin II change

Hi everyone, Iím new first post.
I have to change out 2 13500 ACs problem is the new penguin II only has one plug and my old duo therm domedic has two phone jacks and a bunch of wires which makes it not compatible. I have the five button Thermostat that works just fine. They even sold me a new thermostat that I really donít need. So here I sit with a heavy duty trashcan bag covering the hole where my AC is supposed to be caulked down.
I believe there should have been a Control board that went from the Penguin II to the old wiring. Unfortunately I pick them up Friday and nobody there knew anything today or yesterday. Itís a 2004 double tree 5th wheel ducted system. So anyone that can possibly give me info I would surely appreciate it. Thanks in advance.
Caddbuddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-20-2021, 09:18 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Twomed's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: On the road
Posts: 1,860
IF...you want to retain the 5 button you will need a new control board for each a/c...150-$200 each. Not a great solution.

The new thermostat is not only progamamble but you can see the numbers (larger) and if you get a remote temp sensor you can get much better cooling based on placement of the sensor.

Finding a "tech" to save the 5 button is difficult as most are plug and play jockeys. A friend is going through that experience right now. IF you decide to save the 5 button at least be sure you keep the boards that are in the new Penguins because one of these days the the adapter boards which are already difficult to source will be discontinued for sure.
__________________
Happy Trails,
06 Dynasty Countess III ISL//3060
07 Hummer H3
Twomed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2021, 11:01 AM   #3
Senior Member/RVM #90
 
MSHappyCampers's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Columbus, MS
Posts: 48,190
Hi ! Welcome to IRV2! We're sure glad you joined us!

I did the same swap-out a couple of years ago. I just matched the wires up color for color. You definitely want to stay with the new CCC2 thermostat if that's what you got. The flat phone cable is for communications between the thermostat and the rooftop units. I'm not positive, but I think the jacks for the phone cables are paralleled, so it won't make any difference which jack you use.

Good luck, happy trails, and God bless!
__________________
Joe & Annette
Sometimes I sits and thinks, sometimes I just sits.....
2002 Monaco Windsor 40PBT, 2013 Honda CRV AWD
MSHappyCampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2021, 09:22 AM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 2
How do you wire the new unit to the existing wiring? The penguin II has one plug. There is two phone cords and numerous wires coming out of the roof you got any ideas even if I upgrade to the new thermostat the wiring won’t plug and play as so to speak. I don’t wanna mess anything up. Thanks
Caddbuddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2021, 09:54 AM   #5
Senior Member/RVM #90
 
MSHappyCampers's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Columbus, MS
Posts: 48,190
The wires coming out of the new unit should have the same colors as the wires from your old unit.
__________________
Joe & Annette
Sometimes I sits and thinks, sometimes I just sits.....
2002 Monaco Windsor 40PBT, 2013 Honda CRV AWD
MSHappyCampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dometic



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dometic Duo-Therm or Penguin Service Manual Kahoona RV Systems & Appliances 0 09-12-2019 10:02 AM
Duo Therm Penguin not Cooling DJJ RV Systems & Appliances 13 02-29-2016 04:54 PM
Duo-therm penguin a/c model 610015-001 problems mrbusa Vintage RV's 4 06-27-2015 06:10 AM
Duo-Therm Penguin Heat pump saduncan1 RV Systems & Appliances 1 09-03-2012 01:27 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.