Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > RV Systems & Appliances
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-24-2014, 05:17 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
BarbRN's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Greer, SC
Posts: 307
Electrical Service at the house

We are having an electrical service put in to use at the house for the motorhome. It's a 30 amp service we need. Is there anything special that needs to be done to protect the motorhome?
__________________
Barb Collins
Greer, SC
2014 Winnebago Aspect
BarbRN is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 08-24-2014, 06:34 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Virago-Rider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 681
Mostly, make sure the electrician knows it is not 220 volt.

I have a PDF file about wiring an rv plug. But I don't know how to attach it to this message. If you send me a PM with your email I can email it to you.


1998 Thor Windsport 33SL on 1997 F53 chassis.

Sent from my iPad2 using iRV2 - RV Forum
__________________
1998 Thor Windsport 33SL
2007 Chevy Uplander toad (tow master dolly)
1985 Yamaha Virago XV700
Virago-Rider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2014, 06:38 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Virago-Rider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 681
Perhaps this will work. I did a screen shot of each page.

Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByiRV2 - RV Forum1408927090.280406.jpg
Views:	115
Size:	362.3 KB
ID:	71873
Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByiRV2 - RV Forum1408927104.069350.jpg
Views:	167
Size:	513.5 KB
ID:	71874





1998 Thor Windsport 33SL on 1997 F53 chassis.

Sent from my iPad2 using iRV2 - RV Forum
__________________
1998 Thor Windsport 33SL
2007 Chevy Uplander toad (tow master dolly)
1985 Yamaha Virago XV700
Virago-Rider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2014, 06:39 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
HHIDan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ottawa Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,260
As stated above it's 30Amps at 120 VAC.
Note that a 50A plug is 50A at 240VAC or 100Amps at 120...
A 30 A is fine except if you intend to run 2 AC's.
__________________
DanielB
Looking for small Class C, sold Newmar MADP
HHIDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2014, 06:40 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Virago-Rider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 681
50 amp is actually 2 120v feeds.


1998 Thor Windsport 33SL on 1997 F53 chassis.

Sent from my iPad2 using iRV2 - RV Forum
__________________
1998 Thor Windsport 33SL
2007 Chevy Uplander toad (tow master dolly)
1985 Yamaha Virago XV700
Virago-Rider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2014, 06:40 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Mcdonough, Ga.
Posts: 5,808
Virago is right.The 30 amp RV plug looks like a standard 220 volt plug. It is only 120 volt. I have repaired a dozen coaches that were hooked to a 30 amp plug that was incorrectly wired to 220 volts.
__________________
1998 Pace Arrow 35 ft. F53 Ford V10 2014 Honda CRV toad
32 years mechanic at Delta Air Lines 15 year motorhome service manager. 3 popups....2 travel trailers....5 motorhomes....loved them all.
ga traveler is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2014, 06:58 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
BarbRN's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Greer, SC
Posts: 307
Quote:
Originally Posted by ga traveler View Post
Virago is right.The 30 amp RV plug looks like a standard 220 volt plug. It is only 120 volt. I have repaired a dozen coaches that were hooked to a 30 amp plug that was incorrectly wired to 220 volts.

Ok we knew this. Anything else?? You all are great, thanks!
__________________
Barb Collins
Greer, SC
2014 Winnebago Aspect
BarbRN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2014, 07:07 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
no3putt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Pueblo, CO
Posts: 624
I printed out the instructions I found on line and handed to electrician, then measured the output at the plug myself just to make sure.
__________________
2009 Berkshire 390 QS and toad
Retired and traveling
no3putt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2014, 07:52 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Virago-Rider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 681
Just follow the instructions I posted. You will be set up the same as an rv park.




1998 Thor Windsport 33SL on 1997 F53 chassis.

Sent from my iPad2 using iRV2 - RV Forum
__________________
1998 Thor Windsport 33SL
2007 Chevy Uplander toad (tow master dolly)
1985 Yamaha Virago XV700
Virago-Rider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2014, 08:31 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 4,639
Do not trust anyone...

Before you plug in check it yourself with a voltmeter to be certian it is wired correctly.
__________________
Tony & Lori
1989 Country Coach Savannah SE
TQ60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2014, 08:31 PM   #11
RV Mutant #14
 
Wayne M's Avatar


 
Winnebago Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Freightliner Owners Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 16,423
You may want to look at the services on This Web Site
__________________
Wayne MSGT USMC (Ret) & Earlene (CinCHouse) RVM14
Lexi - Goldendoodle
2015 Winnebago Tour 42QD
It is what it is, and then it is what you make of it.
Wayne M is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2014, 08:32 PM   #12
NRF
Senior Member
 
NRF's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Friendswood, Texas
Posts: 193
And keep in mind electric codes: keep neutral and ground bonded to main panel only. Neutrals and grounds are not to be bonded to any subpanel and must be insulated from the subpanel.
NRF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2014, 10:40 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
JJH3rd's Avatar
 
National RV Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Covington, GA
Posts: 743
Send a message via Skype™ to JJH3rd
Don't forget the surge suppressor

A surge suppressor is cheap insurance for your MH/TT:

SSP-30

Put it between the new circuit you are installing and your RV.

I've even gone so far as installing one outlet surge suppressors at the power outlets into which the TV(s) and microwave are plugged.

Just say'n.
__________________
J.J. Hayden (KN4SH)
Covington, GA
2005 National Dolphin 5342
JJH3rd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2014, 08:35 AM   #14
Moderator Emeritus
 
JMonroe's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Winnebago Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
RV Trip Wizard
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Poinciana FL
Posts: 7,739
As long as you're at it anyway, perhaps consider putting in a 50 amp receptacle instead (for the inevitable upgrade in your future), save a re-do later. You can use a simple $25 50 to 30 amp connector (which you should carry with you anyway) as long as you own this motorhome.
__________________
Jay & Peggy Monroe with Dolly
Can't take it with you - don't plan on leaving any behind
2016 Newmar London Aire 4553, Spartan chassis
2020 Jeep Wrangler toad
JMonroe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electrical, service



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
House electrical issue 94 intruder 345b chevy p30 preemiedad3 Damon 3 08-09-2014 10:49 PM
Thor service center experience RV8 Palazzo Motorhomes 16 07-16-2014 01:55 PM
How do I run the coach on the house batteries? Goofaroo RV Systems & Appliances 26 05-04-2014 12:10 PM
What type of electrical connector to connect 30 amp rv to house 15 amp? mikhett Class C Motorhome Discussions 5 05-03-2014 09:18 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.