Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > RV Systems & Appliances
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-05-2015, 07:43 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 21
Question External 50 Amp Receptacle question

I am going to have an electrician install a 50 amp external power plug next to my garage so I can plug in an RV. My question is what info do I need to give the electrican about the install? Is it one leg of 120 V AC 50 AMPS? Is it two legs of 120V 50 AMPS? I know NOTHING about electricity. Is there a special name for the type of plug that an RV uses? Any information would be GREATLY appreciated by this newbie.
Da-Log is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 08-05-2015, 07:54 PM   #2
Administrator in Memoriam
 
Route 66's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Retired Fire Service RVer's
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Newark, DE
Posts: 25,899
Show your electrician the 50 amp section on this website. It explains everything.

RV Electric
__________________
Adios, Dirk - '84 Real Lite Truck Camper, '86 Wilderness Cimarron TT, previously 4 years as a fulltimer in a '07 DSDP

Route 66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2015, 07:45 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Wizard's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Home on the hill in Georgia
Posts: 2,705
Quote:
Originally Posted by Route 66 View Post
Show your electrician the 50 amp section on this website. It explains everything.

RV Electric
X2 on above, Mine is 240volt with neutral and ground and RV receptacle
__________________
Jerry & Patsy Potter, Taz & Jake Jr.
2000 Winnebago Journey
2006 Ford Explorer 4X4
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Wizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2015, 08:02 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 24,023
Just tell the electrician you wish to install a 50 amp RV outlet and he will do it right.. They do not often mess up 50 amps

The circuit is 120/240 volts just like a range, 4 wire arranged like this

L-1 -120v- Neutral -120v- L2

L-1 -240v- L2

Both legs are 50 amp

I always suggest if you hire an electrican to install put in 50 ams
Two reasons

First and foremost: The odds of him screwing it up approach zero
(The odds of him screwing up a 30 amp install are far, far, higher)

Second (least important) you may some day upgrade your RV (in your case this does NOT apply,,,,already upgraded).

Polietly suggest to him he go oversize one size on the wire though.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2015, 08:04 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 4,387
How much should this cost? Thinking of doing the same thing.
jondrew55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2015, 02:05 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 24,023
Cost varies big time depending on where you are so no way to predict.

If you have sufficent power to the garage you are looking at one hour (minimum billing) labor

if you have to run it underground from the house, this involves digging ditches, cutting conduit and things like that.. Much more

The ditch digging you may be able to do yourself in advance cutting it to max 2 hours labor to run the wires and hook 'em up.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2015, 02:16 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 4,387
Quote:
Originally Posted by Route 66 View Post
Show your electrician the 50 amp section on this website. It explains everything.

RV Electric
This link is a great resource. Unfortunately it doesn't cover the part I have a problem with; I have 200 amp service to the house and my breaker boxes are full, so there's no place to put that 50-amp double pole breaker.
jondrew55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2015, 03:03 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Steve Ownby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cosby, Tn
Posts: 6,587
Quote:
Originally Posted by jondrew View Post
This link is a great resource. Unfortunately it doesn't cover the part I have a problem with; I have 200 amp service to the house and my breaker boxes are full, so there's no place to put that 50-amp double pole breaker.

It may be possible to come out of the meter base with a supply for a sub panel big enough for a 50 amp box.


Steve Ownby
Full time since '07
__________________
Steve Ownby
Full time since 2007
2003 Monaco Signature
Steve Ownby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2015, 03:16 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Pa Miller's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Vintage RV Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: East Texas
Posts: 716
I did my own ... Plenty of info online , but if you don't do electrical hire someone i would think cost could run from 200.00 - 400.00 .... my cost for materiel with new plugin rv box 50 amp breaker and wire was under a 100.00 ... good luck
__________________
1995 Monaco Dynasty
32' B5.9 Banks, 6 speed Alison 3060
2008 HHR Panel toad
Safe-T-Plus
Pa Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2015, 03:31 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
FlyingDiver's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Somewhere....
Posts: 4,054
Quote:
Originally Posted by jondrew View Post
This link is a great resource. Unfortunately it doesn't cover the part I have a problem with; I have 200 amp service to the house and my breaker boxes are full, so there's no place to put that 50-amp double pole breaker.
But that problem isn't specific to adding an RV outlet. You can't add any new loads without addressing the issue. Your choices are to add a new sub-panel, or replace your existing panel with a larger one. It's generally easier to add a sub-panel, and move a couple of the existing loads to the new panel to make room in the main panel for the feed. But your local codes might require a new panel. The other thing to consider is if your 200amp service is sufficient for all those loads that filled up the panel. You might need to upgrade it as well.
__________________
2008 King Aire 4562, Spartan K3(GT) w/ Cummins ISX 600
2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland 5.7L V8 Hemi w/ Blue Ox Aventa LX Tow Bar and baseplate, SMI Air Force One brake
FlyingDiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2015, 03:40 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Winepress's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,581
I had a unused dryer circuit that I removed from the panel to free up space, however, I just put a 30 amp service in, didn't see any need for 50 amp service as I just use 1 air and the refrigerator.
__________________
2018 Dutch Star 4369
Everything was working fine, until it wasn't.
Winepress is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2015, 07:19 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
ernieh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,549
Quote:
Originally Posted by jondrew View Post
This link is a great resource. Unfortunately it doesn't cover the part I have a problem with; I have 200 amp service to the house and my breaker boxes are full, so there's no place to put that 50-amp double pole breaker.
Unless all breakers are already "twins", you may be able to find space. If not, it shouldn't be difficult to add a sub panel near the main.
__________________
ernieh
2019 Phaeton 37BH
ernieh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2015, 12:16 AM   #13
Registered User
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 905
You may have to up size your service and circuit beaker panel, the last one I did was about $2400, and that was a good price. A good electrician will do a load calculation on your house with the added 50 amp RV plug and advise you if you need a bigger panel or not.
milasman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2015, 05:04 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
damdannyboy's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Nor'easters Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 416
Quote:
Originally Posted by Da-Log View Post
I am going to have an electrician install a 50 amp external power plug next to my garage so I can plug in an RV. My question is what info do I need to give the electrican about the install? Is it one leg of 120 V AC 50 AMPS? Is it two legs of 120V 50 AMPS? I know NOTHING about electricity. Is there a special name for the type of plug that an RV uses? Any information would be GREATLY appreciated by this newbie.
First,do you need 50 amps? I'm plugged in on 20 amps and it works out fine for my needs.

damdannyboy
__________________
.....Damdannyboy........
2019 Northwood Arctic Fox 27 5L
damdannyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
50 or 30 amp surge protector ?? mrkcs Fleetwood Owner's Forum 3 08-03-2015 12:40 PM
30 amp configuration on 50 amp circuit panel TexasTwoStep RV Systems & Appliances 9 12-24-2014 09:03 AM
50 amp to 30 amp mgunner RV Systems & Appliances 3 12-01-2014 05:08 PM
50 Amp & Wallpaper Question Bella222 iRV2.com General Discussion 11 09-18-2014 03:05 PM
20 amp service question............ Fred420 Class A Motorhome Discussions 13 09-19-2013 07:49 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.