Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > RV Systems & Appliances
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-12-2012, 07:55 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5
Question Furnace Problems

My furnace fan works fine, but the furnace flame will not ignite to create heat. Is there anything a "non-handy" person can check or is this a case for the repairman?

Thank you.

Ralph
Ralph1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 02-12-2012, 07:59 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 33
If you have digital thermostats, turn the furnace off, wait 10 seconds or so, and turn the furnace back on. For others to help, info on brand, age etc would be helpful
Red James is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 08:17 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Mike Canter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Freeport, ME
Posts: 4,707
Ralph, has the propane been shutoff to the MH recently or have you recently run the tank out? It could be just air in the lines and that is what Red James is doing by turning it off and waiting then trying it again is reseting the safety circuit that engages if it doesn't light within a set period of time. It may take two or three resets to bleed the air out of the lines. Does the other gas appliances work OK in the MH such as the hot water heater and stove? If resetting it doesn't work then unless you have messed with one before I would take it to an RV repair place and get it fixed.
__________________
Mike Canter
"Gunner" USN Retired, Airdale
2004 Monaco Signature 44' Conquest. Detroit 60
Mike Canter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 09:22 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Magic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Anywhere---Everywhere
Posts: 142
Sometimes you can use compressed air to blow out the bottom of the flue where crud builds up .......................... but that only worked once for me.
__________________
On The Road since 11/19/05 And Lovin It
2018 Ventana LE 3426 pushed by 2018 Equinox.
Magic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 11:31 AM   #5
Member
 
skibum61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 94
The advice about cycling several times is good. If you have air in the line or your fan switch is not making it might help. If your furnace is getting propane to it, then the "Air Flow Switch" is not working or the circuit board is bad. I did fix mine once by turning off the furnace at the thermostat and then unpluging all of the wires from the control board then pluging them back in. A bad connection at one of plugs was fixed by just reconnecting. Be careful and good luck.
skibum61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 11:45 AM   #6
Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: indiana
Posts: 88
Ralph,
First thing to do is make sure you have gas.... i turn on the stove and let it run for a minute or two after installing a full tank... If that is not it.. you might want to reset your propane gas detector... I have had that keep my furnace from lighting... and stove for that mater...
good luck..
keep us informed
jeff
__________________
99 Beaver Monterey 36' 300hp Cat
99 VW Bug TDI diesel 5spd toad
06 VW Jetta TDI pk2 DSG
TDiGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 12:11 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 24,023
Suspect list:

Air in lines (Covered)
Dirty or clogged gas jet (Clean per owner's manual)
NOT ENOUGH AIR FLOW (Fan may appear to work fine but is it moving enough air to close the sail switch? If not then check battery charge and electrical connecting, check for blockage of air ducts and such)

Sail Switch (working/not working)

Ignighter points... On my parent's oil fired furnace the gap on the ingightor points was somethign like 4x the specification in the owner's manual, correcting fixed it, On my furnace it was 2x.

Control board

Gas valve

Oh, and the #1 cause of "Furnace won't lght" Propane tank empty and/or Valve closed.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 08:17 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Cat320's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
American Coach Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 6,277
Quote:
Originally Posted by wa8yxm View Post
Suspect list:

Air in lines (Covered)
Dirty or clogged gas jet (Clean per owner's manual)
NOT ENOUGH AIR FLOW (Fan may appear to work fine but is it moving enough air to close the sail switch? If not then check battery charge and electrical connecting, check for blockage of air ducts and such)

Sail Switch (working/not working)

Ignighter points... On my parent's oil fired furnace the gap on the ingightor points was somethign like 4x the specification in the owner's manual, correcting fixed it, On my furnace it was 2x.

Control board

Gas valve

Oh, and the #1 cause of "Furnace won't lght" Propane tank empty and/or Valve closed.
...and another....we had a wire come loose during travel when in a 5th wheel.
__________________
2014 American Eagle 45T
DD 13, 500 HP
Pulling a Honda CRV
Cat320 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 08:30 PM   #9
KIX
Senior Member
 
KIX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Augustine, FL
Posts: 3,595
Check your batteries voltage under load of the fan. Low voltage can cause it not to ignite.
__________________
KIX
'02 Ultimate Advantage 40J Spartan MM - Cummins ISC
2013 Jeep Rubicon JK Unlimited
KIX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 09:04 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
RUNDLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 487
Ralph,

I too experience that issue. Sometime it just will not cycle on if the thermostat is set on auto. I have to manually turn it off for a few minutes and then turn it back on, then she normally ignites.

I don't like this and I plan to have it looked at when I get a few bucks.
__________________
2005 Newell p2000i
Detroit /allison
2010 Avalanche
RUNDLC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 06:52 AM   #11
Member
 
Vintage RV Owners Club
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 32
On a trip several years ago, mine would lite, but cut off immediately. Found a loose wire on the battery post that was limiting voltage to the furnace.
farmallbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 07:46 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: half way beteen Dayton And Mount Belview on 1409
Posts: 34
Make sure there are no mud dabber nests in the furnace part of the unit.This will disrupt the flow of gas as well the exhaust that can put soot and Carbon monoxide in the coach. Listen for a popping noise ,to make sure that the agitator is working.
Old Traveler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 11:16 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Palisade CO
Posts: 3,588
The manual says to remove and replace the connectors on the PC board as a first step. If the hi limit disk switch fails open the fan can run but the furnace won't ignite.
__________________
Clay WA5NMR - Ex Snowbird - 1 year, Ex Full timer for 11 years - 2004 Winnebago Sightseer 35N Workhorse chassis. Honda Accord toad.
Clay L is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
furnace



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Furnace Problems???? DOUG & DONNA TROTT RV Systems & Appliances 4 01-29-2012 06:01 PM
Furnace problem may not be in the furnace! turkeychuckt MH-General Discussions & Problems 3 02-03-2010 03:26 PM
No furnace, thermostat, air or heat pumps lnwilson Newmar Owner's Forum 4 01-03-2010 11:55 AM
furnace ignites for only six seconds Ragman RV Systems & Appliances 14 11-28-2009 06:14 AM
Furnace Blows Fuse Dougmyers MH-General Discussions & Problems 10 01-12-2006 10:48 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.