Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > RV Systems & Appliances
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-22-2006, 09:05 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: east tenn
Posts: 14
can i run my gen and be hooked up to shore power?
rbs62 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-22-2006, 09:05 AM   #2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: east tenn
Posts: 14
can i run my gen and be hooked up to shore power?
rbs62 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2006, 10:20 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
chasfm11's Avatar
 
Texas Boomers Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: DFW Area, TX
Posts: 2,037
I believe that the answer depends on whether you have a transfer switch. If you do, it should switch to whichever power source has priority and I would guess that is the genset.

I don't have a transfer switch and I have to plug my shore power cord into an outlet to feed the genset output into the electric panel. I don't mind doing it when I undo the shore power cord from the post and stow it. I can run my genset while plugged into shore power but it will not have any load on it and I personally don't believe that's good.
__________________
2000 Georgie Boy Landau 36' DP
2018 Equinox toad
KF5-NJY
chasfm11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2006, 04:54 PM   #4
Community Moderator
 
"007"'s Avatar


 
Nor'easters Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 30,743
rbs62, if you have a box about 8" square it should be marked as such, transfer switch your 30 or 50amp cable would enter it and a line from GEN also. Your load center line to ckt braker box would enter on other side. You should be able to operate your GEN and the transfer will decide which line to connect up. I have a 110 line all the time hooked up from house and if its a hot day I turn on GEN to operate my AC's to keep cool.
__________________
98KSCA, 99MACA, 03 KSCA-3740- 8.1 Chev-- ALLISON Trans
VISIT the NEWMAR QUICK TIPS & EASYMODS 1 & 2
QUICK TIPS # 3
RV SYSTEMS & APPLIANCES & RECALLS --- TECH INFORMATION
"007" is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2006, 04:38 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Tom N's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Pond Piggies Club
Appalachian Campers
Mid Atlantic Campers
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Sarver, PA/Crystal River, FL/Shelocta, PA
Posts: 4,671
I exercise my generator when I'm plugged in. I start the generator and after a minute or two delay the transfer switch automatically switches the coach to the generator. If both sources of power are available the generator becomes the default source.
__________________
Sarver, PA/Crystal River, FL/Shelocta, PA FMCA 335149 W3TLN
2005 Suncruiser 38R W24, no chassis mods needed 2013 Honda Accord EX-L 2008 Honda Odyssey EX-L

Tom N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2006, 01:03 AM   #6
Community Moderator
 
RV Wizard's Avatar


 
Country Coach Owners Club
Appalachian Campers
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Chattanooga, Tn.
Posts: 12,061
There are actually two differantly designed transfer switches. 90% of them being used are for teh generator to be the default supplier of power. The other 10% has the shore power set up to be the default for the coach builders design reasons. I agree that everyone should exercise their generators at least monthly and put a good load on it while doing so. I am causious though not to have the shore power supply active while doing so. If (and the chance is very small) the transfer switch were to fail in that one of the sets of points were to be stuck (welded together) severe damage could be done. Hopefully a circuit breaker would trip out and stop a potential problem but I just don't think I want to push my luck. Therefore I kill the power on one before energizing the other.
__________________
Mike, RVIA & RVSA Certified Master RV Technician
Amy, Dr. Assistant - Roxie & Mei Ling, four legs each
2000 Gulf Stream Scenic Cruiser 450 hp & 1330# torque
06 Saturn Vue, 06 Chevy Z71 4x4 & 2014 Corvette Z51 M7
RV Wizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2006, 07:44 AM   #7
Community Moderator
 
"007"'s Avatar


 
Nor'easters Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 30,743
Mike, if you have a surge protector between both line and Gen to load center would that make a difference of just turning on Gen hooked up to line service
__________________
98KSCA, 99MACA, 03 KSCA-3740- 8.1 Chev-- ALLISON Trans
VISIT the NEWMAR QUICK TIPS & EASYMODS 1 & 2
QUICK TIPS # 3
RV SYSTEMS & APPLIANCES & RECALLS --- TECH INFORMATION
"007" is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2006, 01:46 PM   #8
Community Moderator
 
RV Wizard's Avatar


 
Country Coach Owners Club
Appalachian Campers
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Chattanooga, Tn.
Posts: 12,061
I think the Surge Guard brand would check the source for proper wiring and range and if not correct not allow the power thru. If other circuit surge protectors can check and keep a bad power souce out of the coach and from back feeding the generattor the chance are greatly decreased that a problem would occur.
__________________
Mike, RVIA & RVSA Certified Master RV Technician
Amy, Dr. Assistant - Roxie & Mei Ling, four legs each
2000 Gulf Stream Scenic Cruiser 450 hp & 1330# torque
06 Saturn Vue, 06 Chevy Z71 4x4 & 2014 Corvette Z51 M7
RV Wizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2006, 07:03 AM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: east tenn
Posts: 14
thanks i think the unit trasferr when i turn the gen on.
rbs62 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Shore Power sjcaldal11 Newmar Owner's Forum 4 02-10-2008 06:35 AM
No AC power from Generator or Shore power Dale777 Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 15 12-20-2007 02:46 AM
Shore power 24/7? Harley2 Travel Trailer Discussion 6 04-04-2006 04:48 AM
Shore power JudyandJim Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 11 03-14-2006 03:19 PM
A/C w/shore power, but NO A/C w/generator ON peppermintpj1 RV Systems & Appliances 2 03-02-2006 10:35 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.