Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > RV Systems & Appliances
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-22-2013, 06:22 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 120
Genset 20a and 30a breakers '04 Southwind

Hello all,

I have been a forum lurker for a while now and decided to join after I have seen all the valuable information sharing. With that said, I have a question that certainly somebody can answer.

I have a 2004 Fleetwood Southwind 32V. The recurring problem is when I am using the genset for power (virtually all the time).

It is too load sensitive in my mind, we trip the 20a breaker all too often. I replaced the breaker two weeks ago thinking it might be weak but since then have popped it three times. The last occasion was just using the microwave and the rear air. The rear air was already on and after a few seconds of using the microwave the breaker opened. The incident before that was trying to heat the water electrically with the front air on.

So, determined to nail this thing down, I needed to investigate. I started to look at what the 30a breaker was tied to since I have never had an issue with it. I have read somewhere (maybe here) the 30a is for the front air and the rest of the house circuits and the 20a is for the rear air.

I turned the 30a breaker off, went inside the coach and could not find anything that did not have power to it. That leads me to believe everything is wired to the 20a breaker and hence the problem.

Am I missing something? Where is the transfer switch located, behind the house panel? Are there any real schematics of how the breakers should be wired? I see the two feeds in the four by four box leaving the genset, I would have to assume one is for the 20a and one for the 30a. My next step is to pull the house wiring panel to see where they go from there. From what I can tell, there has not been any work on the electrical systems or genset since it left the factory. The genset had <100 hours on it when I bought it last year.

Thoughts?

Thanks in advance.
Agility57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-22-2013, 06:37 AM   #2
Community Administrator
 
CLIFFTALL's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 50,786
Blog Entries: 1
If you call FW and have your FW ID # , they will email you your wiring diagram and or walk you through it. It's also a good idea to put your MH year , make and model in your signature for future posts.
__________________


Cliff,Tallulah and Buddy ( 1999-2012 )
CLIFFTALL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2013, 07:49 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 120
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clifftall View Post
If you call FW and have your FW ID # , they will email you your wiring diagram and or walk you through it. It's also a good idea to put your MH year , make and model in your signature for future posts.

Thanks for your response.

I did call them Friday and they were no help really, at least from the person I spoke with. She discussed the simple electrical drawing supplied by Onan's manual, not specifically a wiring schematic as I need.

2004 Fleetwood Southwind 32V
Ford V10
Agility57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2013, 07:52 AM   #4
Community Administrator
 
CLIFFTALL's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 50,786
Blog Entries: 1
If you don't first get someone to answer your question , try , try again . Maybe someone else can . I've asked to speak to someone more technical when the person I was speaking to didn't have a clue.
__________________


Cliff,Tallulah and Buddy ( 1999-2012 )
CLIFFTALL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2013, 08:48 AM   #5
Member
 
FTInMyDreams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 57
The 20 amp should run the front A/C (front A/C is a bigger load so is isolated) it should feed up to a time delay relay behind the panel in the coach that closes on gen and takes it off of the main panel. The 30 amp should feed into the main panel and run rear A/C and rest of coach. Have you made sure all connections are tight a loose wire can cause a higher amp pull that could cause the breaker to fail.
FTInMyDreams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2013, 09:26 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 120
Quote:
Originally Posted by FTInMyDreams View Post
The 20 amp should run the front A/C (front A/C is a bigger load so is isolated) it should feed up to a time delay relay behind the panel in the coach that closes on gen and takes it off of the main panel. The 30 amp should feed into the main panel and run rear A/C and rest of coach. Have you made sure all connections are tight a loose wire can cause a higher amp pull that could cause the breaker to fail.
Okay with your answer now I am getting somewhere.

Is that all the 20a is supposed to run, the front-larger air? The 20a breaker at the genset is the only breaker that has been tripping with the water heater, microwave, hair dryer etc. If the case you stated is true, which I am not doubting BTW, the 30a should be handling all the other loads outside of the front air. What is the main purpose for the time delay relay? I have not pulled the panel yet, that was my next step. I did check the connections at the individual breakers but not behind.

Jeff
Agility57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2013, 09:43 AM   #7
Member
 
FTInMyDreams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 57
The relay is the transfer for that circuit, it gives gen time to get up to speed before transfer. There is also a 30 amp transfer in back of main panel for that circuit.
FTInMyDreams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2013, 09:55 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 120
That makes sense.

All in all though, I still do not know why there seems to be no load on the 30a breaker.
Agility57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2013, 10:10 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
96 Wideglide's Avatar
 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 9,411
Your not alone. I think my gen is wired the same way .
I've tripped the 20A breaker a few times with AC and microwave on.
__________________
Ben & Sharon
2008 43' Holiday Rambler Scepter PDQ
96 Wideglide is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2013, 11:21 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 120
Yes, exactly.

And to be able to go out to the genset, turn off the 30a breaker and find nothing off in the coach concerns me...............
Agility57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2013, 11:29 AM   #11
Member
 
FTInMyDreams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 57
Sorry but can only tell how your motorhome is most likely set up with the information available. As far as trouble shooting would need to know more, when you say the 30 amp has no load does that mean you turned off the 20 amp from genset and MH had no power which could indicate transfer switch to main panel could not closing, you state you think too much is being feed by the 20 amp but you donít think any work has been done on the electrical does that mean you checked that wiring at genset was correct with larger (10/2, main panel) on 30 amp and smaller (12/2, relay) on 20 amp, do you have any issues on shore power or just genset, etc. If you can detail what you have done somebody might be able to point you in the right direction.
FTInMyDreams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2013, 11:37 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
96 Wideglide's Avatar
 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 9,411
Quote:
Originally Posted by Agility57 View Post
Yes, exactly.

And to be able to go out to the genset, turn off the 30a breaker and find nothing off in the coach concerns me...............
I'll have to try that. Did you manualy trip the 30A with the gen running, or fire it up with the 30 off?
__________________
Ben & Sharon
2008 43' Holiday Rambler Scepter PDQ
96 Wideglide is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2013, 11:57 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 120
Quote:
Originally Posted by 96 Wideglide View Post
I'll have to try that. Did you manualy trip the 30A with the gen running, or fire it up with the 30 off?
Manually trip, or turn off with the genset running.
Agility57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2013, 12:04 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 120
Quote:
Originally Posted by FTInMyDreams View Post
Sorry but can only tell how your motorhome is most likely set up with the information available. As far as trouble shooting would need to know more, when you say the 30 amp has no load does that mean you turned off the 20 amp from genset and MH had no power which could indicate transfer switch to main panel could not closing, you state you think too much is being feed by the 20 amp but you donít think any work has been done on the electrical does that mean you checked that wiring at genset was correct with larger (10/2, main panel) on 30 amp and smaller (12/2, relay) on 20 amp, do you have any issues on shore power or just genset, etc. If you can detail what you have done somebody might be able to point you in the right direction.
When the 20a pops, I have no power anywhere in the coach. Both a/c units are off as well as all outlets, microwave etc. My assumption is then, there is no load on the 30a. My next step is to put my amp probe on the 10/2 wire is the 4x4 junction box in the genset compartment.
As I stated, I do not think any work has been done to the MH, no add-ons or genset removal is obvious.
I have not had the opportunity to verify shore power and will most like not use shore power in my MH usage (show parking lots)
Agility57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
southwind



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
30A to 50A Shoreline Upgrade? txquigly Class A Motorhome Discussions 12 06-23-2013 03:35 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.