Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > RV Systems & Appliances
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-13-2014, 04:03 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 32
Hookups at home

When you are putting in hookups at home do you put in 30amp or 50amp?
How much do you use them? If you have extra company do they stay in the RV?
__________________
Bryan & Jane - - Fulltimer 25 years
2000 Travel Supreme 5th wheel
2006 International 4400
Brose38 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 02-13-2014, 04:08 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
94-Newmar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2,043
50amp since it's not much more expensive than 30 if you are starting with nothing. I use my hookup anytime the coach isn't out on the road - it stays plugged in. And Yes, extra company loves staying in it... and sometimes it's great place to stash away those "in-laws" who come over to stay awhile.. you know, the ones you love being around so much? ;-)
__________________
94-Newmar Kountry Star 40-KSDP
Spartan/Cummins 8.3C-300HP/Allison 3060 WTEC-II/25yr RV Tech RVIA Certified/Onan-Cummins Certified
94-Newmar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2014, 04:11 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
450Donn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Dallas,OR
Posts: 4,584
I just used a 15 amp and never had any problems in 30 years. Unless you plan to run an AC 15 amps will keep the batteries charged and run the refer to cool down before a trip.
__________________
Don and Lorri
Resident Dummy.
450Donn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2014, 04:15 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
gruelens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,445
If you are located in an area that requires heat or a/c a 50 amp hook up is preferred. However, you can get by with a 30 amp if temperatures are not extreme at either end of the thermometer. Fifty amp hookup is considerably more money and therefore they should be really good friends, that are visiting, to warrant the additional costs. We are fulltime and prefer/insist on sleeping in our own bed when visiting sticks and bricks friends. Note..... any friends that have a 40'+ driveway move to the top of the list.
__________________
George R. - Fulltiming since January '03
2007 Newmar Mountain Aire 3991
2012 Chevy Malibu LT1
gruelens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2014, 04:23 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
njs42's Avatar
 
National RV Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Federal Way, Wa.
Posts: 2,901
50 amp, if you ever need it you have it.
__________________
I do all my own stunts
03 Dolphin LX 6355, Workhorse W22, 8.1 vortec, 04 CR-V, Blue Ox, Brake Pro----Norm, Barb and
Doc(He's a PhD)
njs42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2014, 04:32 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Homosassa and Fort Pierce, FL
Posts: 52
We have two homes. At the one we keep the rv most we have 50 amp hookup. At the other we just use 15 amp to keep the batts charged and the fridge on ac. And no, I wouldn't let guests stay in our rv. We've always had room enough for everyone to stay inside, but if we didn't, we'd stay in the rv before we'd let guests.
__________________
2003 Country Coach Magna Haven #6190 Cat C-12
airduds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2014, 04:44 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
dabrooks's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,197
50 amp is the way to go. Running the wire and mounting the box are the same amount of work as a 30 amp service. The extra expense for the heavier wire and box are worth it.
dabrooks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2014, 05:08 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 32
Thanks for all the great replies. The reason I wanted to know we are a full timer, and
our son is buying a new house and I wondering which outlet and box to give him for a nice house warming gift. LOL
__________________
Bryan & Jane - - Fulltimer 25 years
2000 Travel Supreme 5th wheel
2006 International 4400
Brose38 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2014, 05:16 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
2Labs's Avatar
 
National RV Owners Club
Nor'easters Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: CT
Posts: 778
I've bought cable to add a 30amp box to our house. It's a fairly long run from our breaker box to where I'll be installing the outlet - about 80' - so I opted for an oversize cable to run @30amps. The cost for adding a 50amp outlet was noticeably more and while our coach is a 50amp coach, we can easily run a single a/c on 30amp if we need to while it's parked at home.
__________________
2005 National Sea Breeze 1311
2015 VW Tiguan SE 4Motion (trailered)
Follow us online https://OurRVJourney.com
2Labs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2014, 05:27 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
AFChap's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: ...hopefully on the road!
Posts: 5,154
I agree that 50a covers all bases right up front, and gives you more options. AND, an RV 30a stands a very large chance of being mis-wired as a 240v/30a rather than 120v. Our coach is plugged into 50a when parked under the home cover. We have stayed in it there, and have parked visitor rigs in front of and let them use the 50a while swapping our coach to the 20a outlet beside it.
__________________
Paul (KE5LXU) ...was fulltimin', now parttimin'
2003 Winnebago Ultimate Advantage 40e
towing 2017 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited
Blog at www.pjrider.com
AFChap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2014, 05:27 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
vsheetz's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: SoCal
Posts: 15,223
My coach is 30a, as was my previous coach. So installed 30a and 15a several years ago. That said, when I do plug in I usually just use the 15a because it's enough for charging, lights, tools, etc. - no A/C of course. However, I seldom plug in, rather let the solar on the roof do its job. The solar controller is a better charger and saves a few bucks in electricity from the POCO.

Now if I were wanting to run A/C and support guest RV's, I would install 50a and 15a, and likely put a 30a jack as well.
__________________
Vince and Susan
2011 Tiffin Phaeton 40QTH (Cummins ISC/Freightliner)
Flat towing a modified 2005 Jeep (Rubicon Wrangler)
Previously a 2002 Fleetwood Pace Arrow 37A and a 1995 Safari Trek 2830.
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2014, 05:31 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
wildtoad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 4,769
I have a 30 amp system and a 30 amp circuit at home. I fried a 20 amp circuit before I got smart. I will use the mh as a guest room when required. It has a better bed in it than in the guest room.
__________________
Tom Wilds

2016 Newmar Bay Star Sport 3004
2015 Jeep Wrangler 2DR 4WD Sahara, Automatic, Hard Top
wildtoad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2014, 05:51 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 4,232
I would DEFINITELY get the 50A. A lot harder to upgrade that later on.
jesilvas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2014, 06:15 PM   #14
Moderator Emeritus
 
Country Coach Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Glen Allen, VA
Posts: 7,902
Blog Entries: 1
I would also recommend 50amp if it would not be cost prohibitive. I know when we visit my SIL's house often, they have a 30amp outlet for us and I often wish I had offered to pay the difference for them to have installed a 50 amp. With a residential fridge, 3 AC's/heat pumps 50 amp is nice.

I have 50amp at home for the coach.
__________________
2007 Country Coach Allure Siskiyou Summit, sold/traded Nov. 2018.
2019 Grand Designs 384GK-R 5th wheel. Glen Allen, VA
smlranger is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Latest project done, home built "Genturi" FIRE UP Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 36 08-13-2014 10:25 AM
RV Coach Home Community Living Options RTinVa iRV2.com General Discussion 29 07-15-2014 04:35 PM
Dishnet Customers with no Home Dish? rambler5860 Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 7 01-22-2014 10:41 AM
Motor Home Gremlins-a little humor irvwood Newmar Owner's Forum 7 10-10-2013 04:23 PM
Best Selling Motorhome Manufacturer Unveils New 2014 Class A Motor Home DriVer RV Industry Press 2 08-21-2013 08:13 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.