Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > RV Systems & Appliances
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-10-2009, 02:10 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 63
inverter/charger or just inverter

I am planning to install a xantrex prosine 2000 watt inverter/ charger.
But would it be better to install just the inverter and then install a seperate battery charger. I currently use a converter/ charger. Thanks for your input.
bdawson11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-10-2009, 02:31 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
GaryKD's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Wellington, Florida
Posts: 13,599
Hi bdawson11,
I feel it is more about how your coach is wired and personal preference. If your coach is currently wired for the inverter/charger appliance, for me I'd install another inverter/charger.

For you to install a separate charger:
1. is an additional appliance
2. takes additional space
3. may take additional wiring and fuse protection

I'm not sure if there are any advantages to having two appliances. My coach has a separate inverter and charger. This is the way it came from the factory.
__________________
Gary
2005 Newmar KSDP 3910 + GMC ENVOY XUV 37K lbs Moving Down The Road
The Avatar Is Many Times Around The USA
Nobody Knows Your Coach Like Somebody Who Owns One Just Like Yours
GaryKD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2009, 03:32 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
hdossett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: N. Central AZ
Posts: 548
Quote:
Originally Posted by bdawson11 View Post
I am planning to install a xantrex prosine 2000 watt inverter/ charger.
But would it be better to install just the inverter and then install a seperate battery charger. I currently use a converter/ charger. Thanks for your input.
b,

I installed a Xantrex Freedom 458 with charger and later added a remote control/monitor, and removed my converter/charger.

You have to install everything anyway. The charger is built in. No need for the converter/charger.

Harold
__________________
'01 National RV Tropi-Cal, Ford V10, '01 Suzuki GV 4X4 Blue Ox Tow Bar,300 Watts Solar, 2500 Watt '458' Inverter, NO TVs, Most light fixtures upgraded to LEDs

hdossett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2009, 07:28 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 63
need for converter?

If I install a new Inverter/charger wont I still need a converter to convert 120 to 12v for what ever runs on 12v which im not sure of.
BTW I have a 2003 HR neptune pusher.
bdawson11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2009, 07:46 PM   #5
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 24,365
No, an integrated inverter/charger like the Prosine fulfills both functions. The charger function is the "converter" too.

But if you already have a good quality 3-stage converter/charger in the coach, you can save a lot of bucks by just installing a standalone inverter. It takes up a bit more space, but not a bunch.

In either case, your major chore will be rewiring the coach 120v circuits so that some or all can be supplied from the inverter as well as the main load center (which handles shore and generator power). This is slightly easier to do with a unit like the Prosine because it also contains a built-in power transfer switch to shift the power source to the inverter when appropriate. If you use a standalone inverter, you have to provide your own transfer switch. You cab buy one or make your own with double pole double throw switches.
__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition and several other RVs
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2009, 08:07 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 24,023
Would it be better to use a seperate inverter and converter or just use the Prosine.

Two thoughts

1: Should your prosine malfunction: Till the replacement arrives you won't have a converter (You can pick up a portable charger to use in the interm if you wish) thus seperates have the advantage of if one half fails the other half, still works.. However

2: I have searched, and searched and the two best (for different reasons) converters I"ve found are the Xantrex Prosine 2.0 (I assume the entire prosine line is as good but I've not compared the rest of 'em) and the Progressive Dynamics units with the charge Wizard.

In short. you got the best, forget the rest Go with the Prosine as the converter

(IN fairness to other companies.. There are several "Best" The two mentioned are the ones I have)

If you wish, (Belt and suspenders theory) you might pick up a small converter, say a 30 amp or so. Just in case the prosine fails. But frankly.. I'd not bother
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2009, 06:08 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 63
Thanks

My research has lead me to the Prosine 2.0 which I will go with. I'll save my converter as a backup. These forums are a great resource for novices such as myself.
Thanks for the input that all of you take time to do.
bdawson11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2009, 10:25 PM   #8
Member
 
shastaron's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 50
Could you let us know how the conversion goes. I am looking at going the same route and would be interested in how it goes. Are you doing the work or having someone install. Pictures of the final install would be great.

Thanks,
__________________
Shastaron
2004 Winnebago Sightseer 30B Ford V10
Towing PT Cruiser or Ranger 520VX
shastaron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2009, 08:47 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 24,023
I had camping world do the initial install and then I fixed what they messed up (Can you believe they can not count to TWO there, oh well)

In my case.. The put the Prosine in the basement next compartment over from the batteries (Same place I'd have put it) ran heavy (not heavy enough) cable to the batteries and 10ga to the power distribution (120 volt) panel

They moved the GFCI loop, the Microwave and the Televisions etc to a new "Sub panel" they hid in a cabinet .. Ran 10GA to that too. put a 30 amp breaker in the main box to feed the prosine. and simply unplugged the Progressive Dynamics coverter I over paid them... They moved a few things in the mains box and put both my Air Conditioners on the same leg (That is what I had to fix) I re-balanced loads later.

I also added a 2nd AGM battery bank later. This bank of batteries has larger cable and via switches I can connect the prosine to one, the other, or both banks as needed.

One advantage of keeping your original converter.... I have been in a park with marginal power. Now my original converter is more or less forgiving of marginal power (most are in fact now days) but the Microwave, and other electronics are not

I closed the proper switch, tripped the 30 amp breaker that feeds the prosine manually and .... set it up as a "power Line Conditioner" I can only draw (Sustained) around 600 watts that way (Given the limits of my converter) but.....

It worked
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2009, 07:14 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 63
Thanks Again

At this time I plan on doing the work myself, after looking at a few more diagrams to build some confidence. Heading to Branson, MO in July so I need to get gong on this project Have found a local supplier with good prices on the Prosine 2.0. I'll keep you posted.
bdawson11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2009, 09:48 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 24,023
When searching for Prosine prices do not overlook the refurb store at Xantrex.

If you happen near Michigan I might be able to assist, plus if you park next to me you can look at my install for ideas.. I have a prosine 2.0
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RS 2000 new inverter/ solenoid Ed & Diane Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 6 03-25-2009 09:56 PM
inverter suggestions? JRock1014 Damon 4 03-10-2009 11:51 AM
Added 3-way plug to inverter. AKBrick Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 3 08-25-2007 11:00 AM
Inverter install Hurricaner Damon 11 08-15-2007 07:39 PM
Winnie Inverter Location? Blaine Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 2 04-06-2005 01:10 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.