Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > RV Systems & Appliances
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 11-16-2013, 03:28 PM   #1

Inverter question 93 Safari Continental

I am new in the motor home world and have some mechanical knowledge but weak in the electrical world. I had and older Heart 1800-12 inverter that was not It had a shut down warning light and I found another heart inverter on Ebay Older new stock unit that seemed like a good buy at $599. Looked new. Hooked it up and plugged the 2 110 volt plugs and watched the shut down light and presto it stayed on. It did put out 110 volts. 2 problems have showed up. 1) I find it shut down after a day or 2 so I reset it once again. 2) My new batteries are failing to charge. I didn't notice anything until I pushed the monitor button. Said batteries are weak. doesn't the inverter charge the batteries? Also all 4 of my batteries appear new. It starts strong. But my step is slowing down. Another question is which batteries are being monitored? I have 2 that can be accessed from the outside. Are these the cabin batteries? I have 2 under the bed inside. Right now I'm charging the 2 on outside with a charger to see if the monitor changes. Please give me a run down on this system. Next to my heart inverter is a unit that buzzes when plugged in. What is charging the batteries? I don't see how this inverter charges anything. Hooks up to 12 volts and sends 110 to plugs. Sorry to be so inferior in my knowledge. I only have about 3 days to send this unit back. I would rather not spend $1000 plus on a another one. I