RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > RV Systems & Appliances
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-22-2020, 08:27 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 46
No 110 in the RV on shore power.

On shore power. 50A service.
No 110 inside.

The panel for the inverter - won't stay lit - like it usually does.

Switched off shore power, started generator - same thing.

The RV has a new inverter - that has been working fine for about 8-10 weeks - on shore power.

Thoughts?
__________________
2001 Harney Riata, 34' DP (New to us, Jul 2020)
It has already been an adventure
opa6x57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-22-2020, 08:51 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 3,813
Do you know if you have power at the AC panel with the breakers? I would take a meter and see if 120 is making it through the panel.
I doubt GFCI tripped would cause you to lose the whole house.
Do you have any outlets that don't go through the inverter? It is wise to consider the last replacement/maintenance.
Good luck
__________________
1996 Tioga Class C
400 amp/hrs solar, Trimetric

2007 Monaco Diplomat 40 PDQ
okcnewbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2020, 09:00 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 25,413
Go to the inverter/charger and chect the breaker or breakers in it.

They trip on lots of folks.
twinboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2020, 09:05 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 1,506
Do other 120 VAC appliances that are not supplied by the inverter (roof A/C for example work on shore power? Generator?


That will tell you very quickly if 120 VAC is reaching your main breaker panel.


If not, and same symptoms (no 120 VAC to the main 120 VAC breaker panel on both shore and generator, the "common thread" is wiring between ATS "out" and the 120 VAC main breaker panel.


With everything off/disconnected, open ATS and breaker panel and check connections.
__________________
Brett Wolfe
Ex: 2003 Alpine 38FDDS. Ex: 1997 Safari Sahara. Ex: 1993 Foretravel U240
wolfe10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2020, 10:52 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by okcnewbie View Post
Do you know if you have power at the AC panel with the breakers? I would take a meter and see if 120 is making it through the panel.
I doubt GFCI tripped would cause you to lose the whole house.
Do you have any outlets that don't go through the inverter? It is wise to consider the last replacement/maintenance.
Good luck
The galley fluorescent fixture - which is 110V - doesn't work, either. I cannot imagine it would be on GFCI.
__________________
2001 Harney Riata, 34' DP (New to us, Jul 2020)
It has already been an adventure
opa6x57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2020, 11:22 AM   #6
Senior Member/RVM #90
 
MSHappyCampers's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Columbus, MS
Posts: 44,410
If the breakers on the inverter are not tripped then I would suspect you have a bad inverter!
__________________
Joe & Annette
Sometimes I sits and thinks, sometimes I just sits.....
2002 Monaco Windsor 40PBT, 2013 Honda CRV AWD
MSHappyCampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2020, 11:23 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Piros1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Dittmer, MO 63023
Posts: 671
I’m thinking along the same lines as Twinboat, this has happened to me when my cord reel contacts went bad. My contacts were bad on my cord reel and they would break contact then when you bump the cord they would reconnect this created a surge of power and tripped the circuit breakers on the inverter. I eliminated my cord reel. Not saying the reel is your issue but making a point of my experience hoping it helps.

You did not mention if you tripped and rest your breakers. If not I would do that as well if the inverse breakers aren’t tripped.

Another thought if all of the above did not resolve your issue is possibly you may have problems with your transfer switch since your power from both shore and generator runs through the transfer switch.

Good luck hopefully it is a simple fix. Please respond and let us know.
__________________
2005 CC Affinity 770, 2006 Jeep TJ
2015 Newmar Essex 4553
Piros1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2020, 01:17 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 46
The service rep that installed the inverter is due out tomorrow morning. I'll let you guys know what I find out.
__________________
2001 Harney Riata, 34' DP (New to us, Jul 2020)
It has already been an adventure
opa6x57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2020, 07:08 AM   #9
Member
 
RV-LEDs's Avatar
Official iRV2 Sponsor
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Kerrville, Texas
Posts: 94
I had the same issue a couple of years ago and it was my Transfer Switch. I had to go in and reroute the wires and ran on generator until they could send me a new one. That is the first thing I’d check. Good Luck.
__________________
Bright Idea Ventures
"LED Lighting, Topcoat F11 and RV Accessories"
Gary - 325-665-4993
RV-LEDs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2020, 07:16 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 25,413
No inverter panel may mean dead or disconnected, batteries or blown large fuse.
twinboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2020, 09:47 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by twinboat View Post
No inverter panel may mean dead or disconnected, batteries or blown large fuse.
If I press the "power share" button - it lights up, but won't stay lit.
__________________
2001 Harney Riata, 34' DP (New to us, Jul 2020)
It has already been an adventure
opa6x57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2020, 03:44 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 46
Technician's troubleshooting indicates the new inverter is 'bad'.

He measures AC voltage going in - and no volts coming out.

It's under warranty - but, we are planning to MOVE and we plan to use the RV as transportation and temporary lodging on both ends.

Timing will be critical. Critical.

Does anyone have any contacts at Xantrex that we might contact to expedite this?
__________________
2001 Harney Riata, 34' DP (New to us, Jul 2020)
It has already been an adventure
opa6x57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2020, 07:03 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 1,196
Blog Entries: 1
If you are desperate, you can always remove the AC in and the AC out and wire them together. It will bypass the inverter, but give you shore or generator power to the panel.
__________________
2006 Damon Daybreak 3276 35'. 3 200 Amp Lithium batteries and 2000 watt Pure wave inverter/charger.
2013 Elantra on a Master Tow dolly.
HarryStone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2020, 07:21 PM   #14
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: el paso texas
Posts: 25
Hi I would check the wirers coming in to the fuse box, there should be three or four wires usually all in a row. take the front cover from the fuse box and check the wires with the power off for tightness, you can usually tighten them with a flat tip screwdriver. These wires power the unit on shore power or gen set. charlie in texas
charlesking is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
power, shore power



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
American Coach: 110 Shore Power to coach? chiefM Fleetwood Owner's Forum 8 01-20-2018 08:48 AM
Plugging into shore power trips shore power breaker BFF Travel Supreme Owner's Forum 8 07-28-2017 11:53 PM
No 110 volts on shore plug in kohraptor Sprinter Chassis Forum 6 11-24-2016 10:48 PM
110 volt shore power storage trower Newmar Owner's Forum 5 12-14-2010 05:09 PM
MH shore power: 110 or 220??? tnsharon07 Class A Motorhome Discussions 15 12-28-2008 01:42 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.