Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > RV Systems & Appliances
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-24-2010, 08:30 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 157
Power Monitor showing 50A service when on 30A service

Originally posted in Winnebago Forum, but received no posts, repeating here.

My Intellitec Power monitor suddenly started indicating 50A service while I am on 30A service. Everything appears to be working, but obviously the load manager is not going to function if it believes I have 50A service. It was indicating as expected on this same service until a few hours ago. I have unplugged from the service, no change. I checked all breakers, reset MAIN and Water Heater as I read it has some impact on the EMS. No change. I connected with a 20A adapter to standard plug and it too indicates 50A service.

I have a hard wired 50A SurgeGuard in line with the incoming power, before the transfer switch.

On the road and not sure what is going on. Any suggestions?
__________________
David, Linda and the kids - Pebbles & Yogi
2011 Winnebago Journey 34Y, 2015 Ford Explorer
W. TN
Yoda2405 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-25-2010, 02:47 AM   #2
Moderator Emeritus
 
RV Wizard's Avatar


 
Country Coach Owners Club
Appalachian Campers
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Chattanooga, Tn.
Posts: 12,060
The way these controllers know you are plugged into 50 amp verses 30 or 20 is the fact that it will see 220 vac on the service. If in fact you do not have 220 vac coming into the coach verify that the EMS is properly grounded.
__________________
Mike, RVIA & RVSA Certified Master RV Technician
Amy, Dr. Assistant - Roxie & Mei Ling, four legs each
2000 Gulf Stream Scenic Cruiser 450 hp & 1330# torque
06 Saturn Vue, 06 Chevy Z71 4x4 & 2014 Corvette Z51 M7
RV Wizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2010, 07:26 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 157
Strange thing the day after all this happened, I came back to the coach and the display was working as expected and has continued for the last 24 hours or so without any changes to anything on coach or power side. I don't know whether to pursue the issue, is a stuck relay a possibility? I really do not know precisely how the monitor works but understand the principle of it. Read through the manual and found there are two components. Wonder if the relays could hang or if that would not do it. The other possibility I thought was could the surge guard somehow couple the two legs together or the transfer switch do that? Trying to determine if the EMS was reporting what it saw or if it was an erroneous report?
__________________
David, Linda and the kids - Pebbles & Yogi
2011 Winnebago Journey 34Y, 2015 Ford Explorer
W. TN
Yoda2405 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2010, 03:08 AM   #4
Moderator Emeritus
 
RV Wizard's Avatar


 
Country Coach Owners Club
Appalachian Campers
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Chattanooga, Tn.
Posts: 12,060
It is hard to say but I would still check all of your circuits for tight connections just as a preventative measure (they will loosen up from vibration).
__________________
Mike, RVIA & RVSA Certified Master RV Technician
Amy, Dr. Assistant - Roxie & Mei Ling, four legs each
2000 Gulf Stream Scenic Cruiser 450 hp & 1330# torque
06 Saturn Vue, 06 Chevy Z71 4x4 & 2014 Corvette Z51 M7
RV Wizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Progressive HW50C with 50A Autoformer Robin_M Monaco Owner's Forum 4 11-20-2007 08:00 PM
50a Voltage Boosters Robin_M MH-General Discussions & Problems 2 09-11-2007 06:01 AM
30 to 50A Service Conversion The Clock Meister Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 5 01-03-2007 11:31 AM
Service Glenn and Kathy RV'ing Humor & Crazy but True Stories 3 10-17-2005 06:37 PM
No Eletrical Power from Power Tech Generator Field Trip Newmar Owner's Forum 5 09-27-2005 05:23 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.