Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > RV Systems & Appliances
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-11-2021, 11:56 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 623
Someone told me they had a compressor refrigerator powered by propane?

Has anyone heard of a compressor refrigerator.... running on propane instead of 12 volt or 120 shore power????

They insisted that it's not an amonia based refrigerator and said it was on a compressor that can be run completely off level......

It's something I wasn't aware of?? Is this a new thing???

OR, maybe they are mistaken.. and it's really just a 3 way propane refrigerator..... please explain....
MWeiner is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-12-2021, 12:07 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 242
I don't think so, if it has a compressor then it doesn't need propane, it would only need power (12volt or 120volt) to spin the compressor. and even those need to be somewhat level for the refrigerant oil to lube the compressor.
__________________
Bill And Jeanne Anglin, Wasilla, Alaska.
1999 Dutch Star 3884, Freightliner, Cat 300, Jeep Liberty Toad.
nutcker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2021, 12:31 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Xmcdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 1,625
Quote:
Originally Posted by nutcker View Post
I don't think so, if it has a compressor then it doesn't need propane, it would only need power (12volt or 120volt) to spin the compressor. and even those need to be somewhat level for the refrigerant oil to lube the compressor.
I tend to agree.
__________________
Jeff and Annette Smith
04 Glendale Titanium 24E29 Fifth
2011 GMC Diesel 2500 HD
Xmcdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2021, 04:27 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 4,322
I have one of those. It's an absorption fridge that runs off my generator.

I don't think there is anything like that. But I've been wrong before
jondrew55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2021, 06:26 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Martian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: Independent Republic of Horry
Posts: 293
All you need is a propane powered generator and you have a compressor fridge powered by propane.
__________________
2018 Ram 1500, 2020 Cougar 22RBS
Just the 2 of us and 2 Jacks on the roam.
Meet us at Olympus Mons. Gone Traveling.
Martian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2021, 07:51 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 623
I completely agree with all of you. I don't think this person knew what they were talking about. They have a 2019 Dynamax Isata 3..... and said it was a compressor refrigerator... but that it ran on propane and electric...

I've never heard of anything like that...,.it has to be an abortion refrigerator......
MWeiner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2021, 08:08 AM   #7
YC1
Senior Member
 
YC1's Avatar


 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 9,374
There are ways but not likely in an RV.

Propane can be burned to provide electricity via thermocouples and storage batteries to store any excess power.
__________________
Myron & Deborah
08 HR Endeavor 40 SKQ
400 Isl, 400 HP/// Now 450 HP
2016 Ford F150 Limited V6 with Ready Brake
YC1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2021, 09:12 AM   #8
Moderator Emeritus
 
TXiceman's Avatar


 
Vintage RV Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Oklahoma Boomers Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Full Time, TX Home Base
Posts: 20,183
Blog Entries: 21
Amish Cooling or J.C.Refrigeration have 12 volt or 120 volt powered compressor units to use in RVs now. They are NOT powered by propane.

Ken
__________________
Amateur Radio Operator (KE5DFR)|Full-Time! - 2012 6.7L Ford Crew Cab Dually -2013 HitchHiker Champagne 38RLRSB - Travel with one Standard Schnauzer and one small Timneh African Gray Parrot
TXiceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2021, 09:30 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 4,253
Quote:
Originally Posted by TXiceman View Post
Amish Cooling or J.C.Refrigeration have 12 volt or 120 volt powered compressor units to use in RVs now. They are NOT powered by propane.

Ken
Agreed. Even some TT's are using the newish style Fridge that have a compressor and will run off battery/inverter or shore power. It's not that unusual for a dealer or new owner to not really know their own equipment.
__________________
1996 Tioga Class C
2007 Monaco Diplomat 40 PDQ
TOAD 2012 Cadillac SRX 4
okcnewbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2021, 11:56 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 17,853
Have them give you the Brand/Model of this propane compressor fridge

It's a secret that should be made public

**OEM is a 7 cu ft 2 way (AC/LP) absorption fridge
(could have been swapped for a 'residential' fridge or converted to a 12VDC--120VAC compressor fridge)
It is NOT a compressor propane fridge
__________________
Is it time for YOUR Medication or Mine?
Dodge 3500 w/Tractor Motor & NUWA 5vr
US NAVY---USS Decatur DDG-31
Old-Biscuit is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2021, 08:29 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 623
They have the OEM refrigerator propane/electric

Quote:
Originally Posted by Old-Biscuit View Post
Have them give you the Brand/Model of this propane compressor fridge

It's a secret that should be made public

**OEM is a 7 cu ft 2 way (AC/LP) absorption fridge
(could have been swapped for a 'residential' fridge or converted to a 12VDC--120VAC compressor fridge)
It is NOT a compressor propane fridge
I think that this person is assuming that they have a compressor refrigerator..,WHY? I don't know....

It's the standard equipment that Dynamax Isata uses in their models on the Mercedes Benz Sprinter chassis .., double door refrigerator.. ..Dometic DMR 702RB ....

They claim that it's a compressor refrigerator running while on electricity... they don't know what they are talking about....

Plus, they insist that it will operate off level...by quite a lot.....I don't believe that either.....

I'm not sure, but, I also think that this refrigerator needs a substantial amount of power to run so the propane is necessary while boon docking....
MWeiner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2021, 08:38 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Podivin's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Jacksonville, Fl
Posts: 3,215
https://jc-refrigeration.com/product-information/
__________________
2013 Winnebago Sightseer 36V
Podivin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2021, 11:42 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2021
Location: Northern Nevda
Posts: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by Old-Biscuit View Post
Have them give you the Brand/Model of this propane compressor fridge

It's a secret that should be made public



I 100 percent agree, Pullleze git the make and model, I want one! Now!

All I would need then is a gimbal mounted bed and I wouldn't care about the port list that always seems to require 2 more planks than I have when we put out the slides. I'll pass on the propane thermacouple generating station however. Something tells me the BTU to VDC conversion would require a new propane tank, mounted on a 4 axle trailer! LOL


been looking up cheet on Norcold N821 too long
RealNiceTent is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
compressor, power, propane, refrigerator



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Said They Had Cable But They Had Cable Boxes RonLC iRV2.com General Discussion 27 08-01-2020 04:00 PM
They must of thought they had a pull through Unicorn Driver MH-General Discussions & Problems 2 10-15-2017 04:57 AM
I wish someone had told me... Miller205 iRV2.com General Discussion 55 12-25-2015 12:42 AM
Someone had a bad day. :( sinnettc iRV2.com General Discussion 8 08-15-2014 02:11 PM
HAD a water leak, so I am told Ed S Monaco Owner's Forum 6 04-23-2009 08:42 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.