Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > RV Systems & Appliances
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 12-18-2014, 10:19 AM   #1

Using 30A and 50A service simultaneously: a terrible idea?

Hello all,

This is my first post, and I'm new to RVing. I've been doing my research on RV living as I plan on living in one for at least 6 months while I attend a school out of state.

I recently picked up a 1994 Damon Intruder in decent overall shape for a song and I'm slowly getting my ducks in a row for the big move. Since I'll be in Wichita, KS during the winter, one of my biggest concerns is keeping everything nice and toasty. From what I gather, the efficiency of these built-in propane furnaces leave a lot to be desired. To add to that, the propane tank is not removable, and I really don't want to have to go through the hassle of driving it to a gas station every time I need more. Therefore, I'm adding electric heating elements to the furnace, as well as an on-demand type electric water heater.

Currently, the motorhome only has 30A service which just won't cut it, so at the very least I need to modify it to 50A @ 220V. This isn't a big deal, but my power budget is just about taken up if the furnace and water heater are run simultaneously. Yes, I can turn off the furnace when I need to run the hot water, and that's probably what I'll end up doing, but then I had an idea...