Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > RV Systems & Appliances
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 04-27-2015, 10:06 PM   #1

Monaco Owners Club
Water Heater won't work on electricity

I'm new to motorhomes and motorhome forums. We just purchased a 2008 Monaco Diplomat 40PDQ. I've sorted out a couple of electrical things and now come to the water heater. On the main control panel there are two switches: one says 12 vdc and when it is turned on the water heater works fine on propane (although the back light on the switch doesn't come on). So we're okay there.
The second switch says 120 vac and nothing happens when it is turned on. Again no backlight but I don't think that has much to do with the specific problem. So I took cover off the cupboard in the bedroom closet to get at the back of the water heater (10 gal Atwood). I pulled the water heater plug out of the receptacle and checked the receptacle to 120 vac and it isn't there.