Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > RV Systems & Appliances
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-21-2021, 11:42 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
corn18's Avatar


 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Posts: 363
Why is my LiFePO4 going into protect mode when I turn on the DC breaker?

I installed a SOK 206 Ah LiFePO4 (LFP) a while back and it worked great. I had used cheapo cutoff switches and circuit breakers, so I swapped those out for the good stuff. Specifically, I replaced the generic battery cutoff switch and 100A circuit breaker coming from the battery with a Blue Sea 3 pole 250A circuit breaker that I also use as a switch.

The issue since the upgrade is that my LFP goes into protect mode when I flip on the breaker (nothing is on but the propane detector). The power comes on for a moment, and then cuts off and the battery is in protect mode. The only way to get it out of protect mode is to unhook the negative terminal from the battery and hook it back up. That's a pain. Interestingly, once I do that, everything works fine. I can flip the master breaker as many times as I want and the power cycles fine without the BMS going into protect mode.

If I leave the system off for a while and turn it back on with the breaker, the same thing happens again.

If I leave the system off for a while but disconnect the converter before I turn the system on (via its circuit breaker), the BMS does not go into protect mode. All works fine. I can turn it off and on without issue. The converter is a Progressive Dynamics 9160ALV made specifically for LFP duty. If I turn the converter on after I turn the main 250A breaker on, all works fine. Hmmmmm....

I cannot figure out what is causing the BMS to go into protect mode if the converter is connected.

Any ideas?

Here's my wiring diagram:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DC wiring 290RL diagram.jpg
Views:	14
Size:	213.7 KB
ID:	343765  
__________________
2015 Chevy 2500HD 6.0 4x4 CC SB
2021 Salem Hemisphere 290RL
Andersen Ultimate
800W Solar > 412 aH LiFePO4 > Victron MultiPlus II
corn18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-21-2021, 12:02 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: MI
Posts: 1,038
Still got the cheapo switch you took out laying around? Put it back in the circuit and see if it works OK again.
Argosy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2021, 12:02 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Bobby F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: MN
Posts: 1,799
Are you plugged into shore power when this happens?
__________________
------------------------------------

1993 Rockwood 28' Class C - Ford E-350 7.5L
Bobby F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2021, 12:03 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
corn18's Avatar


 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Posts: 363
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bobby F View Post
Are you plugged into shore power when this happens?
Negative.
__________________
2015 Chevy 2500HD 6.0 4x4 CC SB
2021 Salem Hemisphere 290RL
Andersen Ultimate
800W Solar > 412 aH LiFePO4 > Victron MultiPlus II
corn18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2021, 12:04 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
corn18's Avatar


 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Posts: 363
Quote:
Originally Posted by Argosy View Post
Still got the cheapo switch you took out laying around? Put it back in the circuit and see if it works OK again.
I may have to do that.
__________________
2015 Chevy 2500HD 6.0 4x4 CC SB
2021 Salem Hemisphere 290RL
Andersen Ultimate
800W Solar > 412 aH LiFePO4 > Victron MultiPlus II
corn18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2021, 12:39 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Bobby F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: MN
Posts: 1,799
Quote:
Originally Posted by corn18 View Post
Negative.
(Sorry, this probably isn't going to help you much, but it's for my own confusion):



Then what's powering the converter? (You said you turn it off and on, so I assume it has power.)
__________________
------------------------------------

1993 Rockwood 28' Class C - Ford E-350 7.5L
Bobby F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2021, 12:46 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
corn18's Avatar


 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Posts: 363
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bobby F View Post
(Sorry, this probably isn't going to help you much, but it's for my own confusion):



Then what's powering the converter? (You said you turn it off and on, so I assume it has power.)
I think the converter bit may be a red herring. I think the inverter caps inrush current is triggering the BMS. Apparently they suck a lot of power on initial power up. And I have 3000W of inverter hooked to a 100A max BMS.

Weird that it worked with the cheap CB and cutoff switch.

I think once I add the second LFP (on the way) and hook up the solar (in work), the inverter caps won't be an issue. I hope.
__________________
2015 Chevy 2500HD 6.0 4x4 CC SB
2021 Salem Hemisphere 290RL
Andersen Ultimate
800W Solar > 412 aH LiFePO4 > Victron MultiPlus II
corn18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2021, 12:57 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Jon_C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Southeast Texas
Posts: 590
Quote:
Originally Posted by corn18 View Post
I think the converter bit may be a red herring. I think the inverter caps inrush current is triggering the BMS. Apparently they suck a lot of power on initial power up. And I have 3000W of inverter hooked to a 100A max BMS.

Weird that it worked with the cheap CB and cutoff switch.

I think once I add the second LFP (on the way) and hook up the solar (in work), the inverter caps won't be an issue. I hope.
^^^^ I had same intermittent issue with a victron multiplus 3000 causng 2 Battleborns to go to protect - inrush current to caps, had to add a 3rd battery to make it work. Maybe the cheapo switch is not allowing enough current to get thru whereas the Blue sea is
Jon_C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2021, 01:00 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
corn18's Avatar


 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Posts: 363
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon_C View Post
^^^^ I had same intermittent issue with a victron multiplus 3000 causng 2 Battleborns to go to protect - inrush current to caps, had to add a 3rd battery to make it work. Maybe the cheapo switch is not allowing enough current to get thru whereas the Blue sea is
I think that might be it.
__________________
2015 Chevy 2500HD 6.0 4x4 CC SB
2021 Salem Hemisphere 290RL
Andersen Ultimate
800W Solar > 412 aH LiFePO4 > Victron MultiPlus II
corn18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2021, 01:58 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Bobby F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: MN
Posts: 1,799
I do know that I was told to charge the inverter capacitors through a resistor on initial startup for this same reason.


(Here it is: )
__________________
------------------------------------

1993 Rockwood 28' Class C - Ford E-350 7.5L
Bobby F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2021, 04:29 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
corn18's Avatar


 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Posts: 363
@Bobby F, you called it.

I added a precharge circuit for the inverters. It's a 6 ohm 50W resistor wired to a momentary horn button between the + battery terminal and the + bus that feeds the inverters. Hooked it up. Pressed the horn button for 1 sec and flipped on the main breaker. Worked like a champ.

I'm sure there is a more elegant solution, but I need to go camping on Thurs. Looks silly having that 14ga wire running around all that 4/0 cable, doesn't it? I'll see what else is out there, but this works.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_4925.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	394.0 KB
ID:	343802  
__________________
2015 Chevy 2500HD 6.0 4x4 CC SB
2021 Salem Hemisphere 290RL
Andersen Ultimate
800W Solar > 412 aH LiFePO4 > Victron MultiPlus II
corn18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2021, 07:05 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Bobby F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: MN
Posts: 1,799
Good. It wasn't that big a deal on my AGM's, but it sounds damaging with a BMS.


(P.S. Silly? Rather elegant and simple.)
__________________
------------------------------------

1993 Rockwood 28' Class C - Ford E-350 7.5L
Bobby F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2021, 10:36 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 553
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon_C View Post
^^^^ I had same intermittent issue with a victron multiplus 3000 causng 2 Battleborns to go to protect - inrush current to caps, had to add a 3rd battery to make it work. Maybe the cheapo switch is not allowing enough current to get thru whereas the Blue sea is
What wire size did you use when you had that issue?

I have a 3Kw Multiplus and two Battleborne 100Ah batteries. I was planning to use 4/0 wire, but the Battleborne rep recommended using smaller wire to minimize the inrush current. I wired it up with 1/0 and it works.

Im giving some thought to adding a battery and upsizing to 4/0 wire. Maybe the system will charge faster - I get about 75 amps using a Honda 2000.
__________________
2018 F350 Limited, 2021 Arctic Fox 27-5L
300 Ah Battleborn LiFePo4 batteries
3kw Victron Multiplus hybrid Inverter
JHinman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2021, 02:16 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Jon_C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Southeast Texas
Posts: 590
Quote:
Originally Posted by JHinman View Post
What wire size did you use when you had that issue?

I have a 3Kw Multiplus and two Battleborne 100Ah batteries. I was planning to use 4/0 wire, but the Battleborne rep recommended using smaller wire to minimize the inrush current. I wired it up with 1/0 and it works.

Im giving some thought to adding a battery and upsizing to 4/0 wire. Maybe the system will charge faster - I get about 75 amps using a Honda 2000.
4/0 wire
Jon_C is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
breaker, lifepo4



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Recent issue going into travel mode brandss Class A Motorhome Discussions 2 06-10-2021 10:07 AM
Help - Engine in Protect Mode jnwhite Caterpillar Engine Forum 18 04-18-2021 09:46 PM
Going into limp mode only when towing firedreamer Allison Transmission Forum 6 05-02-2019 11:33 AM
Dish Tailgater Pro going into Standby Mode knocking out rear TV ocarternc Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 4 11-19-2018 07:06 PM
To Surge Protect....or not to Surge Protect....... SteveCal iRV2.com General Discussion 87 07-10-2012 11:49 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.