RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > RV Systems & Appliances
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-26-2020, 04:33 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Posts: 2
Wiring after installing a residential refrigerator

Replaced our Dometic refrigerator with a residential one. All is well with that. Since then we noticed one LED light above the sink and the range hood motor and light do not work. The fuses are all okay, but the appliance 15 amp fuse doesn't seem to have power. When removing wires from the Dometic circuit board, I tied together 2 whites and then tied together two white/blue stripped wires. Could this be the problem? Any ideas from the pros here? I'm out of my league with this RV wiring. Thank You for any ideas.

2018 RockWood 30' travel trailer.
ArmyMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-27-2020, 11:07 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 150
I am sure that you have done this already, but change the fuse for that particular circuit. You likely blew it disconnecting original fridge.


Second, go back and verify that your junction (twist caps) are indeed engaging copper of both wires they are put on. I can't tell you how many times I folded over smaller wires by mistake, particularly working on tstat wiring on air conditioners.


Third, if still no power, then connect a small 12v battery (jump box, drill, etc) to each wire pair after removing fuse. If items in question work, then you have a broken wire leading to fridge.


Fourth, if fuse is good, and there absolutely is no problem with wiring, then look closely at fuse block. Make sure fuse is engaged on terminals on both sides. Also look at fuse board for burn marks, etc. look on back side too.


If your fuse block has blown fuse indicators, use those to your advantage to troubleshoot with. Turn *everything* on. Remove fuses. If the indicator for blown fuse on that circuit lights, you likely have a break in the wiring. Start turning devices off. When indicator goes out, your problem will be located between last working device and next device (or junction).
Krbjmpr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2020, 11:54 AM   #3
Senior Member/RVM #90
 
MSHappyCampers's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Columbus, MS
Posts: 44,479
Hi ! Welcome to IRV2! We're sure glad you joined us!

Were the wires that you tied together on the same terminal ?

Good luck, happy trails, and God bless!
__________________
Joe & Annette
Sometimes I sits and thinks, sometimes I just sits.....
2002 Monaco Windsor 40PBT, 2013 Honda CRV AWD
MSHappyCampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2020, 12:13 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Posts: 2
Thank You!!!!!

Krbjmpr it was #2, and I see MSHappyCampers figured it out too. Can't express my thanks enough. When I disconnected the Dometic refrigerator, I put a wire nut on each single wire because in my mind I was isolating the wiring from the old refrigerator. I didn't know they were to be connected to make a circuit to run the hood vent, light and sink light. Everything is now working correctly just in time for our big trip in a couple weeks. Thanks, thanks and thanks again.
My orginal post said I tied together the 2 whites and tied together the 2 white/blue wires. My error with that sentence.
ArmyMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
install, refrigerator, residential refrigerator, wiring



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing Residential Refrigerator in 2005 Beaver Santiam gvelett Monaco Owner's Forum 5 05-15-2017 07:52 AM
Installing Residential Refrigerator Rbtrvmo RV Systems & Appliances 2 03-22-2017 11:25 PM
Installing a Residential Refrigerator alluran Class A Motorhome Discussions 17 06-14-2016 08:43 AM
Installing a residential refrigerator alluran Class A Motorhome Discussions 1 04-26-2016 11:17 AM
Installing a residential refrigerator in a 2002 Monaco Windsor lcstanfield Class A Motorhome Discussions 1 10-05-2014 04:59 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.