Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > RV Systems & Appliances
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-13-2018, 02:47 PM   #1
Member
 
FloridaNative49's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 76
Xantrex 1000 upgrade to Xantrex 1800?

Can I upgrade my (dead) 1000 for a new 1800 with the existing wiring/batteries???
Would be a simple switch out as the boxes are essentially the same.
Also does anyone have any comments on the newer HF models?
thanx!
FloridaNative49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-13-2018, 06:30 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Skip426's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Powell River, B.C.
Posts: 24,329
Check the installation manuals , you'll find ; wiring gauge and fuses ; requirements are different .

Now , just between us , if you never use more than 1,000 watts , current wiring and fuses will suffice. If you push the new inverter to it's limit; well that's another story.
__________________
99DSDP 3884, Freightliner, XC, CAT 3126B, 300 HP /ALLISON 3060
2000 Caravan toad, Remco & Blue Ox.
Skip426 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2018, 07:11 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Mutt's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 402
Short answer is yes. Depending on the wiring to your existing Inverter and Breaker size. I installed one of the 3000 watt units in my MH for a replacement of a 1500. But, I also installed a separate breaker box since the breaker on the 3000 is 30 amps, and the 1500 was 20 amps. The reason I wanted the larger capacity Inverter is I am hoping it will run cooler since it will not be working as hard. And I am using my 4 Golf Cart batteries to power the system. Also installed house type frig which seems to draw less power than the previous Norcold. New Inverter and frig has been in use since May of 2017. Seems to work good. Good luck with your choice.
__________________
2002 Monaco Diplomat Triple Slide PST
2011 Buick Enclave(AWD);
1970 Home built 11.5 ft Slide-in Cabover
Mutt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2018, 06:29 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: payson, az
Posts: 870
if it is just an inverter, such as the freedom series, it should be simple. just make sure the cables between the inverter and the batteries are sized properly. typically these are direct runs dedicated to connecting the inverter to the batteries so upgrading them (if required) won't affected anything else. the output side of the inverter will still be a standard 15 amp ac circuit and the installed wiring should be sized to support it.

if it is a combination converter / inverter the same concerns exist plus you need to look at the a/c cable coming into the converter section. it is probably sized for 15 amps (check the circuit breaker in the power panel). if so it should work as installed but double check the new inverter specs.
bigchick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2018, 07:16 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
gatorcq's Avatar
 
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Foothills, Yuma, Az
Posts: 1,154
Remember to set your charge rate based on the battery capacity as in your old unit. But i would not worry about changing anything.
__________________
Dale&Susan, 08 Alfa Gold, DaGirlsRv Blog
2015 F-150XLT_2000W Solar_600 AmpHr Lithium
Magnum_MSH 3012 & PT100
gatorcq is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
upgrade, xantrex



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Xantrex XM 1800 Inverter Troubleshoot jshilko RV Systems & Appliances 9 01-17-2019 12:06 PM
Xantrex 1800 inverter problem PCarillon MH-General Discussions & Problems 13 06-19-2017 08:35 PM
Xantrex Pro 1800 issue Miramar2014 Thor Industries Owner's Forum 11 05-09-2016 02:27 AM
Xantrex XM 1800 inverter error EO5 Vinster30 Thor Industries Owner's Forum 0 07-26-2015 03:37 PM
Xantrex Pro Series 1800 - Clicking Sound johnnc RV Systems & Appliances 2 08-30-2011 05:03 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.