Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV LIFE STYLES FORUMS > Hobbies, Passions & Pastimes > CB & Ham Radio
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.

Old 02-12-2020, 07:39 AM   #1

Newmar Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Ham + GMRS antenna setup

I am new to ham radio. I have the technician license and plan on staying at that level for a while. My main interest is using the ham while on the trails in my jeep.

Gmrs is so heavily used, and has other benefits in the fact that all of my family can legally use the gmrs, since I have that license as well.

I have the mxt400 50watt gmrs radio in my jeep, and want to be able to use it in the rv while driving for convoy conversations.

Since my RV has the girard roof rails, I have to be concerned with overall height. Ideally I would mount it like I have placed my surecall or panorama cellular antennas.

The gmrs uses 450-470Mhz range of the 70cm, so I assume that a dedicated gmrs antenna would be better.

For Ham, I would be using my HT, so I would want a 2m/70cm dual band.

There are so many antennas, I am hoping that a fellow RV /ham user has already found the antenna that would work for me.

I could make a 19" work, but that would place it on the endangered list for trees.

Obviously I am going to sacrifice distance. I dont plan on doing contests.

Thanks for your input.
Click image for larger version

Name:	20181213_135211.jpeg
Views:	229
Size:	21.9 KB
ID:	274940Click image for larger version

Name:	20181213_135148.jpeg
Views:	216
Size:	35.3 KB
ID:	274941
redbaron73 is online now   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!