Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > Going Green
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 03-29-2021, 07:22 PM   #1

How long to install a basic solar system?

Hello!

I am new to the RV scene, and I have been calling around to see how much (and how long) would it take to install six 200W roof panels, 6 battleborn batteries and the Victron gear that goes along with that size of install with a single inverter (12v/3000/75A) - I have been getting bids from $2,000 to $4,000 for install depending on how much I do beforehand (Like screwing the panels to the roof and getting the wires down to the passthrough port)..

I just talked to a guy in Bend Oregon. He insists it is a 55 to 65 hour job, at $160 an hour, or $9,000!? I asked him about his fees and this was the reply "With as many of these installs under our belt, I can assure you this isn't a 2 day install. Well, technically it could be, if I had 4 people working on it full day with no interruptions. But the billable time would remain the same. The lowest the labor rate on a system like that, would be 45ish hours"

Am I out of touch on how difficult this install will be? 4 guys taking 10 hours? I cannot imaging what 3 of the guys will be doing when 1 guy is in the passthrough port leaving no room for anyone else.