Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-10-2020, 05:21 PM   #15
Senior Member


 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Freeport
Posts: 491
We built our new house 3 years ago and at that time had no intension of buying newer bigger MH so just put in a 30 amp. . Fast forward and now have a DP which needs 50 amp. So we need to use pig tail and can't run everything at home. Ru the 50 amp even if not needed now.
gmc70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-10-2020, 05:57 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Near Anderson, Indiana
Posts: 282
Quote:
Originally Posted by NXR View Post
The easy way but not free: https://www.homedepot.com/p/GE-RV-Pa...32SS/203393689

If I was just installing one, I'd do a 50 and use an adapter, which you may already have. That, in fact, is what I did although I needed 50. I figure if we buy a smaller RV it's an adapter.

That will require two side by side breaker slots and heavier wire, though.

Ray
When we had a 30 amp travel trailer, I installed a 30 amp RV box on the side of the garage (separate from the house). Then we decided to park the camper in a slightly different spot. So, I installed a second 30 amp RV box. Then we ended up with a 50 amp fifth wheel, and ended up removing the 2nd 30 amp box and installing one like pictured above from Home Depot, except ours came from Menards. I did have an electrician install it, as they used (I think) 6 gauge wire. But the nice thing is, we now have 50, 30, 20, and a second 30 amp box. Yes, it cost a pretty penny, but the joy of being able to use the camper at home all Summer and all Winter is worth every penny spent.









Here's a photo of the first 30 amp box and on the electric panel board, on the end, you can see the second 30 amp box before it was swapped out for the 50/30/20.





So, if I can give you any advise, let it be this... install, at least, a 50 amp box and use a step down dog bone for 30 amp and spare the expense of having to install again later when you switch over to a 50 amp RV. You'll be kicking yourself then, if you do only the 30 amp now.

Another reason why I went with this specific 50/30/20 amp box is because it had the breakers right in the box with the plug-ins. I looked at several 50 amp only boxes, and none had a breaker or a cut-off switch with the box.

You do know, when plugging in your camper, you should always flip the breaker first, then plug the camper in. When unplugging, you flip the breaker off first, then unplug. This keeps your plug on your camper from arching and getting pitted, and eventually wearing loose and become a fire hazard.

The 50/30/20 box above is wired into the panel on a dedicated line. Inside the panel, it's wired to a 70 amp breaker. The box itself has a 50, 30, and a 20 amp breaker. To reach the 70 amp breaker would require unscrewing the panel door every time I plugged in or unpluged the camper.

That is something you really should consider also. If you get the 30 amp box and it has no cut off switch or breaker in the box itself, you'll need to run to the main breaker panel where that box is wired to in order to flip the breaker on and off every time you plug in and unplug the camper. THIS IS SOMETHING YOU REALLY NEED TO CONSIDER. Where is the breaker? in the RV box, or on your garage or house electric breaker panel?
__________________
2019 Montana High Country 375FL Fifth Wheel
2014 Chevy Silverado 3500 6.6L HD Dually, Long Bed, Crew Cab
DutchmenSpor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"NORCOLD & DOMETIC RECALLS" & Service Manuals Norcold & Dometic "007" RV Systems & Appliances 89 07-18-2019 04:41 PM
Generator Maintenance & MANUALS Onan & Generac & PARTS "007" RV Systems & Appliances 34 07-06-2019 02:09 AM
February "Celebrity Classic" Meal Signups Madame Boomer Texas Boomers 29 02-06-2018 06:55 PM
2011 RV chassis Mods & parts & Tech info new & old chassis "007" Ford Motorhome Chassis Forum 4 09-27-2011 07:26 AM
50 amp to 30 amp to 20 amp?? fansill MH-General Discussions & Problems 5 05-15-2011 01:36 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.