RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-05-2020, 07:21 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: Jax,FL
Posts: 25
Angry A/C Dometic Duo Therm replacement

I get on the top and inspected: looks like both of my AC are complete rusted and blowing air only ( prob. never been replace ).

BR unit is 11k (57912.622)
Main unit is 13.5k (557915.522C1)
Both are analog control.

Since the unit been so old, I have to swap out both with new unit, correct ?
Any model will do since I have to replace both top and controller board ass. ?

And why the darnthing only fail when it 99F outside ?

EV-
__________________

__________________
Spice=2000 FR Georgetown M-325S
envy23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-05-2020, 08:39 AM   #2
Senior Member/RVM #90
 
MSHappyCampers's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Columbus, MS
Posts: 42,084
I replaced both our A/C units with the Dometic Penguin II high-capacity heat pumps and the CCC2 thermostat. I chose to get the 5-year extended warranty on both since the reviews seem to indicate that most failures occur right after the factory warranty (3 years) is out, and I considered the cost of the warranty reasonable.

Good luck, happy trails, and God bless!
__________________

__________________
Joe & Annette
Sometimes I sits and thinks, sometimes I just sits.....
2002 Monaco Windsor 40PBT, 2013 Honda CRV AWD
MSHappyCampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2020, 10:10 AM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: Jax,FL
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by MSHappyCampers View Post
I replaced both our A/C units with the Dometic Penguin II high-capacity heat pumps and the CCC2 thermostat. I chose to get the 5-year extended warranty on both since the reviews seem to indicate that most failures occur right after the factory warranty (3 years) is out, and I considered the cost of the warranty reasonable.

Good luck, happy trails, and God bless!
Thanks MS HappyCampers
__________________
Spice=2000 FR Georgetown M-325S
envy23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2020, 10:21 AM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: Jax,FL
Posts: 25
How can I tell whether mine is duct - or - non-duct

I order a B59516.xx1c0 which is a standard Brisk II 15k.

I will report after it arrive for DIY.
__________________
Spice=2000 FR Georgetown M-325S
envy23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2020, 10:02 AM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: Jax,FL
Posts: 25
Smile 15k Brisk II showed up... bare bone just as expected :D

I still need to get some simple green to clean, but to get this baby up (80#) the ladder will need little work: will try nearby stores for forklift but the worse case, I will slide the box on to another extension ladder .

I will also need a 4x4 plywood to protect the roof while I am playing up there.

I will also need to plug in to make sure it operational before mount.

__________________
Spice=2000 FR Georgetown M-325S
envy23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2020, 10:07 AM   #6
Community Administrator
 
Spk64's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 12,533
When I replaced A/C unit last year. 2 of us placed on roof of my Jeep hardtop with unit still in box.
Then up on Jeep and placed it on roof of RV.
Old unit went back in box and down same way.
__________________
Steve
2002 Newmar Mountain Aire 4095

Wash your Hands, Wear a Mask, Social Distance
Spk64 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2020, 09:51 AM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: Jax,FL
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spk64 View Post
When I replaced A/C unit last year. 2 of us placed on roof of my Jeep hardtop with unit still in box.
Then up on Jeep and placed it on roof of RV.
Old unit went back in box and down same way.
No Jeep but a help from my neighbor, we slide the Brisk II Air in place ... the old one still looking good for 20 years old unit.

Now, plug in and click, nothing ... reset all breakers, turn on : nothing.

Time to troubleshoot or call Dometic ?

EV-
__________________
Spice=2000 FR Georgetown M-325S
envy23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2020, 01:27 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Carlos, Texas
Posts: 1,460
I just installed a Dometic Brisk Air 2 on the roof of my little TT and I just set it up there myself. Specs say 77 pounds but there's no way it's that much.
charliez is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2020, 07:35 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Down South's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 156
Quote:
Originally Posted by envy23 View Post
No Jeep but a help from my neighbor, we slide the Brisk II Air in place ... the old one still looking good for 20 years old unit.

Now, plug in and click, nothing ... reset all breakers, turn on : nothing.

Time to troubleshoot or call Dometic ?

EV-
Are you sure that you have power to the AC and the thermostat is wired correctly?
__________________
2017 Thor ACE 27.2
Down South is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2020, 08:56 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: Jax,FL
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Down South View Post
Are you sure that you have power to the AC and the thermostat is wired correctly?
There is only 6 pin connector, what there is to wire ???

We have an analog control relay board ( it 20 years old ) and will need to replace the board for some reason, the Az heat perhaps ? I can hear a click but not enough to turn the fan, forget about the condenser.

Will wait for the board to show up and swap.

EV-
__________________
Spice=2000 FR Georgetown M-325S
envy23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2020, 06:13 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Carlos, Texas
Posts: 1,460
There is only 6 pin connector, what there is to wire ???


That connects the rooftop half to the inside half. You still need to connect the 120 volt ac to it. Usually a NM type wire. The unit came with a connector in a little plastic bag, as well as about a 3x4 unistalled cover plate and two self tapping screws. The connector will secure the wire and the cover will go over the little box where the connection is. There is a black and white wire on the drivers side of the inside cover that you connect it to.


Be careful not to damage the little copper tube that is on/near the evaporator (inside) coils. That's the sensor that makes the compressor cycle on and off.
charliez is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2020, 07:09 AM   #12
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: Jax,FL
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by charliez View Post
There is only 6 pin connector, what there is to wire ???


That connects the rooftop half to the inside half. You still need to connect the 120 volt ac to it. Usually a NM type wire. The unit came with a connector in a little plastic bag, as well as about a 3x4 unistalled cover plate and two self tapping screws. The connector will secure the wire and the cover will go over the little box where the connection is. There is a black and white wire on the drivers side of the inside cover that you connect it to.


Be careful not to damage the little copper tube that is on/near the evaporator (inside) coils. That's the sensor that makes the compressor cycle on and off.
I just want to make sure this will help other readers to be comfortable of replace the AC combo.
1. The top unit AC i bought B59516.xx1c0 it just "top unit" only, there is no inside haft. You suppose to reuse the existing.
2. The new unit footprint are much smaller , but better cooling (15k): there is no service need except to plug in the 6-pin connector.( from dometic tech.)

3. Mine coach is much older unit and come with old relay board that since been replace twice, the only current one that will save my original analog thermostat is Dometic 3106996022 Relay Board (even this are hard to get). For some reason, my existing board was working with the old unit ( fan only) now does not work at all and will need to be replace.

4. For more advanture handyman/woman, Dometic suggest they can replace the whole relay board/thermotat with digital relay board/themo (I did not do this- )
__________________
Spice=2000 FR Georgetown M-325S
envy23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2020, 05:28 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Carlos, Texas
Posts: 1,460
Your older inside part may not be compatible with the new top side part.
charliez is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2020, 07:43 AM   #14
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: Jax,FL
Posts: 25
A/C Dometic Dual Therm replacement

Quote:
Originally Posted by charliez View Post
Your older inside part may not be compatible with the new top side part.


Thanks Charlie: you may be 100% correct for a 20+ year old box.



I am waiting for the analog relay board: with some wiring change, will see how thing go.



EV-
__________________

__________________
Spice=2000 FR Georgetown M-325S
envy23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ace, replace, replacement



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dual Therm controler gwroach RV Systems & Appliances 9 07-14-2017 05:11 AM
Dometic AC dual therm buxtonworks Class A Motorhome Discussions 3 01-03-2016 05:06 PM
5 Button Dual Therm Comfort Control CarolS Newmar Owner's Forum 11 10-17-2014 12:03 PM
Duo therm dual electric gas heating & aircon kwkpr MH-General Discussions & Problems 4 12-13-2009 06:13 PM
Duo-Therm Micro-Therm Air Filter System BeenThere DoneThat RV Systems & Appliances 1 04-25-2005 02:49 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×