Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-27-2020, 01:16 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 210
Blog Entries: 1
Another approach

Ok, anyone ever heard of installing a switch for your generator to bypass the power going to house and make it's power go to a cord so you can plugin something else? I want to install another AC unit but RV is a 30 amp unit. So my thought is if I'm plugged into shore power and ac is running off of that, then I can crank up generator and use the other AC, make sense?
Quickuc is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-27-2020, 01:39 PM   #2
Registered User
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 7,114
I'm not exactly sure what you're asking.

I added an outlet and plug in my generator circuit so I could use this to power my rear A/C unit on a dedicated shore power 20 amp circuit. Ther are diagrams and photos on my blog site:

Rear A/C unit can be run on separate 20 amp shore power circuit – 1999 Southwind 35S


..
Waiter21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2020, 02:08 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Foley, AL
Posts: 237
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quickuc View Post
Ok, anyone ever heard of installing a switch for your generator to bypass the power going to house and make it's power go to a cord so you can plugin something else? I want to install another AC unit but RV is a 30 amp unit. So my thought is if I'm plugged into shore power and ac is running off of that, then I can crank up generator and use the other AC, make sense?
There’s an interesting site/newsletter called rvtravel that reviewed a device called soft start that allows running 2 13500 air conditioners on a 30 amp service. You may want to check it out.
Glennabbott1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2020, 02:42 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 559
Our Suncruiser had 2 A/Cs, 30 amp service, and a 6.5kW generator (1 20amp breaker for the rear A/c, 1 30 amp breaker for the house and front A/C).



Bot A/Cs could be run on the generator, and there was a switch to select which A/C would run on shore power.


I did a big rewire of the electrical: I broke out the rear A/C to a plug cord and outlet. Plugged into the outlet, the A/C would run as it was designed. Unplugged, I could plug it into an extension cord and run it off a 15-20 amp outlet in a camp pedestal, alongside the 30 amp cord for the front A/C and house.


I also added a 50 amp outlet tied to each of the generator breakers. That allowed me to plug our home into the generator and judiciously run whatever we wanted during a power failure. I had the whole house run through a manual transfer switch.



The only exception was the 240 V hot tub, since the generator only had 1 120 volt winding.
__________________
2014 Itasca Sunstar 31KE
1988 Itasca Suncruiser 31RQ
1968 Travco 21'
SLOweather is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2020, 07:30 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 210
Blog Entries: 1
Sounds like you got what I'm trying to say. We just want another AC unit in the back bedroom. And can't do it with our 30 amp RV. we thought about having it upgraded to 50 amp, but it sounds pricey.
Quickuc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2020, 07:32 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 210
Blog Entries: 1
How do I get to your blog?
Quickuc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Workhorse’s New Breed Approach Delivers Choice and Value for Class A Motorhomes DriVer RV Industry Press 2 12-17-2009 01:14 PM
Try a different approach.... acampingwewillgo MH-General Discussions & Problems 9 08-24-2007 06:36 AM
GPS Approach Winemaker2 Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 2 12-10-2006 01:27 PM
A New WRV approach Ted III Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 18 10-27-2005 07:44 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.