Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 07-29-2022, 09:56 AM   #1

Buying out of state, who collects sales taxes

I am a Florida resident. I have a FL drivers license and have a house in FL where I live most of the year. I also own an RV lot in Michigan. I pay property taxes on that lot. That lot is part of a large RV community and Michigan treats the lots and owners of those lots as a condo association. The RV community is open 6 months a year. Out of season all RV’s must be removed.

I plan on purchasing a 5th wheel to place on that lot. I will store the 5th wheel during the off season at a local storage facility. I do not have a truck to tow the 5th wheel so I will hire a transport service to tow the 5th wheel from the storage facility to my lot at the beginning of the season and then again back to storage at the end of the season. I will likely live in the 5th wheel for 3-4 months each year.

I have no idea what state I will buy the 5th wheel. Ideally the closer to my Michigan lot the better to save on transportation costs. So my questions are:
Who do I pay sales tax on the purchase of the 5th wheel, Michigan, Florida or the state I purchased it in?
And what state do I register it in? Ideally FL would probably be cheaper.
Both sold
2021 Vanleigh Beacon 41LKB 5th wheel
timjet is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!