Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-15-2021, 10:22 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Valley Center, CA
Posts: 8
Electrical question

As a "new" class A coach owner, is it possible to run a small class A with the 50 amp power cord connected to a 30 amp service for any length of time? If not what would be the main problems??

Thanks for your help with this.
GuyV is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-15-2021, 10:26 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2021
Posts: 177
Quote:
Originally Posted by GuyV View Post
As a "new" class A coach owner, is it possible to run a small class A with the 50 amp power cord connected to a 30 amp service for any length of time? If not what would be the main problems??

Thanks for your help with this.
you would need an adapter to go from 50>30 amp and there should not be any problems.
the adapter will drop the one leg and provide the juice.
inthepines is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2021, 10:30 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2021
Posts: 529
Main issues may be the AC unit(s).
__________________
2020 Chevy Silverado 1500
Forest River Wildwood XLite 263BHXL
carybosse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2021, 10:36 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Duster73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2021
Posts: 126
I dont see a reason this would hurt it. I keep an adapter in my motorhome for this exact purpose. I dont ever do extended stays, but it should be fine.

As long as you dont go over 30amps at one time throughout the rid and overload your camper your good. The shore power breaker will NOT go off unless 50+A is applied, which in this case is bad(normally 30). Thats the only concern I can think of. I use my camper the same exact way I normally would and its perfect.
__________________
"A Man's Gotta Do What a man's Gotta Do"
2000 Fleetwood Southwind Storm 30H- Workhorse
Duster73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2021, 10:43 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
puttin's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2,195
The black wire of the 30a side connects to both red & black of the 50 side....so both legs have power. But, as mentioned- you'll be limited in what you'll be able to use.
__________________
2008 Winnebago Sightseer 35-J
puttin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2021, 11:16 AM   #6
Senior Member


 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Hoodsport Wa
Posts: 1,702
Our 50a coach rests at home on 30a all the time. Never an issue using a 50a to 30a dogbone adaptor. Generally we just run the absorption fridge, battery charge converter, perhaps one 800w heater in the winter and a couple LED lights. I wouldn't attempt to run both AC units simultaneously though. A good EMS with power monitor will indicate your power consumption limitations.
__________________
2000 Alpine 36 FDS #74058
04 Jeep Wrangler TJ
"On the road to find out..."
Alpine36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2021, 11:38 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Sbrownstein's Avatar
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,667
I run my Georgetown 335DS all the time on 30 amps. I do have a 50 amp system but in reality that is for units that have 2 ACs. Mine has only one. Always use electric HW, electric fireplace, residential reefer and AC on 30 amps. Never even popped the 30 amp pedestal once. You should be fine.
__________________
Scott Brownstein
Palm Island, Florida
2015 Georgetown 335DS
Sbrownstein is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2021, 12:40 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 160
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sbrownstein View Post
I run my Georgetown 335DS all the time on 30 amps. I do have a 50 amp system but in reality that is for units that have 2 ACs. Mine has only one. Always use electric HW, electric fireplace, residential reefer and AC on 30 amps. Never even popped the 30 amp pedestal once. You should be fine.

Depending on the wattage of those appliances you could be very close to popping a CB. Possibly overloading the outlet when you first plug in. The RV should be fine with a 50A system, but the shore power side at 30 A continuous (say you had a 1500W water heater, a 1500W electric fireplace and a AC that drew 10A or 1200 watts).... you would be way over a 30A outlet rating.
Psneeld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2021, 01:23 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Sbrownstein's Avatar
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,667
Quote:
Originally Posted by Psneeld View Post
Depending on the wattage of those appliances you could be very close to popping a CB. Possibly overloading the outlet when you first plug in. The RV should be fine with a 50A system, but the shore power side at 30 A continuous (say you had a 1500W water heater, a 1500W electric fireplace and a AC that drew 10A or 1200 watts).... you would be way over a 30A outlet rating.
Perhaps...but only Richard Nixon would turn up the AC and start a fire in the fireplace in the White House.
__________________
Scott Brownstein
Palm Island, Florida
2015 Georgetown 335DS
Sbrownstein is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2021, 01:29 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
puttin's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2,195
Wow, what brought that on?
__________________
2008 Winnebago Sightseer 35-J
puttin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2021, 01:38 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Tha_Rooster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Georgia
Posts: 6,996
Quote:
Originally Posted by GuyV View Post
As a "new" class A coach owner, is it possible to run a small class A with the 50 amp power cord connected to a 30 amp service for any length of time? If not what would be the main problems??



Thanks for your help with this.


The truth is yes but only if you watch you wattage. If you can get by with only running 1 air you should have no problems. Running 2 airs you would probably have around 6-8 amps left.
__________________
2007 Fleetwood Revolution LE 40V
Tha_Rooster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2021, 01:58 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Sbrownstein's Avatar
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,667
Quote:
Originally Posted by puttin View Post
Wow, what brought that on?
Running the fireplace and AC on 30 amps!!!!
__________________
Scott Brownstein
Palm Island, Florida
2015 Georgetown 335DS
Sbrownstein is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2021, 02:02 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 28,402
Quote:
Originally Posted by inthepines View Post
you would need an adapter to go from 50>30 amp and there should not be any problems.
the adapter will drop the one leg and provide the juice.
The adaptor powers up both legs, so your RV is sharing 30 amps instead of the 100 amps a 50 amp 120/240 service can supply.
twinboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2021, 02:03 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 28,402
Quote:
Originally Posted by Duster73 View Post
I dont see a reason this would hurt it. I keep an adapter in my motorhome for this exact purpose. I dont ever do extended stays, but it should be fine.

As long as you dont go over 30amps at one time throughout the rid and overload your camper your good. The shore power breaker will NOT go off unless 50+A is applied, which in this case is bad(normally 30). Thats the only concern I can think of. I use my camper the same exact way I normally would and its perfect.
The shore breaker is 30 amps. It will trip first.
twinboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electric, electrical



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No electrical power at one lug (3) Left Front Electrical Center RobRoy Monaco Owner's Forum 18 03-31-2017 11:59 AM
Weird electrical/noise question Carnles Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 3 10-15-2007 01:55 PM
Electrical Question gator67 Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 4 09-19-2007 01:02 PM
2004 Brave electrical system question skipsor Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 3 01-28-2007 08:22 AM
Electrical question Matt1616 MH-General Discussions & Problems 7 03-02-2006 05:36 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.